We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has it all.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Has it all.”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We regularly go to the mount and have stayed many places we now we only stay at oceanside. We have tried all types of rooms; honeymoon, 1 & 2 bedroom apartments. All spacious, clean, home like and in the best location. Only downfall we have ever had was a 2 bedroom apartment on the road side, the street lights shone in the bedroom and quite nosey.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sandaphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    81
    26
    8
    1
See reviews for
33
84
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The positives were that the room itself was quite large and spacious,well furnished,the bed was comfy and big and the shower had very good water pressure. Close to the beach, the hot pools, town and restaurants etc.

The negatives were that there is a loud humming noise just outside the room, sounds like a water pump or something, loud noises coming from outside in the hallway during the night, 7:30 am loud trucks right outside the room and lots of banging and crashing around lasting for about an hour. No views whatsoever. The lock on the doors should be upgraded, just don't seem very secure. Shared patio, was nice but would've been better if it was private. Not enough pillows.

Overall I'd say its not terrible, but very average and I wouldn't stay here again, most annoying was the noise in general, but particularly the trucks in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigpotaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whanganui, NZ
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Nestled under the majestic bulk of Mount Maunganui this resort has a great location. It is close to the mountain's many walking tracks which are a must, even if you only stay one night. The beaches either side of the peninsular are so close you can just go in your togs. There are cafes and restaurants almost next door, and it is a short, pleasant stroll down to the main shopping and cafe precinct.

The spacious one bedroom apartment I stayed in was much better equipped than many other places that provide the bare minimum of cheap stuff. As well as a great range of kitchen equipment there were a few good quality books and lots of furniture in both rooms. The bathroom was not large but adequate, with plenty of hot water.

In the bedroom, a great bed, huge wardrobe, plenty of extra bedding and a small flat screen TV (there was also a large TV in the main living area).

Decor was not really my style - fake marble, pale colours, faux antique but would suit some. I found the corridors to be stuffy and uninspiring, as well as confusing to navigate. The appeared to be no airconditioning in the rooms but you can open windows.

Service was fine - very friendly and efficient - but be aware that the reception hours are much less than a normal hotel. A system for night entry is attached to your key but check it works before leaving!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RT-Whanganui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
508 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Here's my view of the pro's and con's staying at the 'resort' (not the twin towers):
Pro's: It's in an excellent spot right next to the beach which is super, also next to the mount which is great to walk round, with beautiful views or you can hike up to the top. A good range of restaurants and cafes are within a 2 - 10 minute walk. The 'resort' are motel style rooms in a hotel style building - in the picture it's the 3 storey building at the front. There's prob about only 8 rooms which have a sea view. We had room with a tiny balcony which overlooked the mount and caravan park. The bed was quite soft but comfyish. The kitchenette was well equipped. There is free underground carparking - one generous space per room.
The con's: the picture is taken from a distance from the motel, so the swimming pool in the foreground doesn't belong to Oceanside resort but is open to the public (for a fee!). We found one swimming pool that is in the resort grounds but there were no loungers. Wifi - costly as other TA reviewers have commented on. No supermarkets with a range of goods (ie 4 square/countdown etc) within walking distance, so stock up before you arrive. Despite the negatives we would go back as the location is excellent for a seaside break.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jinny232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Have stayed here multiple times and loved it so much. On the off season (Winter) we normally grab a cheap deal and drive over the hill and stay here for a couple of nights. The mount is a great place in the winter, with not so many people around you basically have the beach to yourself while taking an evening stroll.
Rooms are comfortable and modern, for a great price you are staying in real style. Will definitely be back here.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful, we had a lovely one bedroom apartment, with a great view, it was comfortable, clean and very handy to everything. This was our second stay here and it was just as good as the first. We arrived at 9.00am and were able to go straight to our room. For some reason in the afternoon our key's would not open the door, we went for a coffee, and by the time we got back, the locksmith had been called and the key's replaced, very, very efficient service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, otherwise you may be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed at the Oceanside with my family in a 1 bedroom apartment with my mother in law in a separate studio suite. The staff were very helpful and nice, although it really can't be called a "resort", Its just a hotel - but a moderately nice one. The rooms are spacious.

My real winge is about their WiFi which they tout on their advertising material.

You have to pay for it, plus go through a semi difficult login PLUS if you forget to go to a separate web site to log out your purchased hour of access ticks away by itself.

Come on guys. Get with it. If someone is paying nearly $600/night you shouldn't charge them $10 for an hour of WiFi - let alone a difficult to use one.

Room Tip: Upstairs in the resort - between the twin towers - and facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
3.0 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,092 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
526 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Atrium Apartments
The Atrium Apartments
#5 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#1 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
196 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers

Property: Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Address: 1 Maunganui Road, PO Box 5032, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mount Maunganui
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mount Maunganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanside Resort and Twin Towers offers premium Mount Maunganui hotel and apartment accommodation. You can't beat our superb location - we're nestled directly under the famous Mauao at Mount Maunganui and right opposite the beautiful main beach. Whether you are travelling to Mount Maunganui for a family holiday, business or corporate trip, or just for a weekend getaway - Oceanside Resort and Twin Towers has something to suit you. Our accommodation includes: • Resort Executive Studio guestrooms • Resort One Bedroom Suites • Resort Two Bedroom Suites • Resort Honeymoon Suite • Twin Tower 2 Bedroom Apartments with a garden, harbour or ocean view • Twin Tower 3 bedroom Penthouse Apartment Exquisite Location: Oceanside Resort and Twin Towers is ideally located for you to make the most of everything Mount Maunganui has to offer. From your accommodation you have access to one of the country's most popular surf beaches, a plethora of walking tracks up and around the dormant volcano, and wide array of cafes, bars and restaurants. Perfect for Conferences: We have a well-equipped Conference Room and Board Room available for hire - combine it with our hotel accommodation and you'll have a corporate event to remember! Onsite facilities include two heated pools, gym, sauna, parking, internet and cafes & restaurants with charge back facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Hotel Twin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing