We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penthouse 10A”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Penthouse 10A”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have stayed for 6 nights in the penthouse 10a and let me say it was a fantastic place to be.
it contains half of the top floor so you get views to the ocean front and views to the Harbour at the back this was great to escape any cold winds the balconies are huge, the master bedroom is also huge, good king bed, massive bathroom, walk in robe, spa, tv,dvd, heater, electric blankets, nice carpet, there was a sitting room for reading, and two other bedrooms good size for guest's to stay over, main bathroom was good, kitchen everything you need and ultra modern, dinning table beautiful, lounge ok, gas heating , big screen tv and surround sound.
The staff were very friendly and nothing was a problem. car parking is secure a bit tight for room in some places over all a very comfortable place awesome heated pool also. we would defiantly recommend twin towers

Room Tip: The penthouse is the way to go and we got a great deal, we also stayed in the honeymoon suite for on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    80
    26
    8
    1
See reviews for
33
84
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have stayed for a few nights every year for last 5 years and always had great time and comfort with our guests from overseas. Great location just right front of the beautiful beach with nice restaurants, cafes and bars. The room we have stayed, 8th floor of twin towers beachside was great with beautiful view of the beach. Its our first choice to stay when we go to Mt. Maunganui!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katsu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed one night here in June (N.Z winter) and chose it for its location and the special midwinter price.We were on the first floor of the low building.This suited us for nipping in and out to our activities.
It is directly across the road from the beauitful main beach of Mount Maunganui, and the salt water hotpools.It is a short walk (5-10) minutes, along to the restaurants & bars.
The hotel is getting on in age (15-20 years i guess)and starting to see wear & tear.However it is clean and the room was spacious.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed three nights over the long Easter weekend in a one-bedroom suite. I had spent several days researching where to stay, and, even though it was quite a lot more expensive than others, judging on their web-site. it seemed to tick more boxes than other places. But from what they say on their web-site, to what we actually got, you've got to be very lucky with the room you get!!
- The web-site says, One bed-room suites offer queen of king size bed. We got a queen.
- Some suites have an en-suite. We didn't.
- Some suites have a spa bath. We didn't.
- Suites have a large, flat screen TV. We didn't! (and SKY reception was pretty poor)
- Suites have a DVD player. OK, but the remote didn't have batteries.
- Suites have a fully-equipped kitchen. Could have been much better - e.g. saucepans - only two small ones.
- Suites have a garden or mountain view. We got mostly the main road (although could see the mountain, but to call it a mountain view seems misleading).

I guess we were just unlucky that we didn't get any of the 'extras' on offer - yet we still had to pay the same as those that did get the extras.

Having had my moan, there were good points. The room was spotlessly clean. The location was very good and the laundry was free to use.

Room Tip: Fingers crossed that you get a room with the 'extras'
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FatRat121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

The room was nice and in a great location. We booked this hotel 2 months before traveling to New Zealand as when we did our research it looked like a nice place to relax by the pool for a couple days. On our first day there, we saw a sign in the elevator that said the pool was closed for maintenance. We were highly disappointed that we were not informed before our stay there that the pool would be closed, as that was the main thing that attracted us to stay here. We were also disappointed that nobody informed us upon check-in that the pool was closed, and we only found out due to the sign in the elevator. Upon check-out, we were offered discount passes to the hot pools across the road, but they were no good to us as we were on our way out of town... would have been nice to have them when we checked in! A nice place to stay, but they could definitely work on their Customer Service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment in the low rise section.
The apartment was large and very well appointed except for the two old style box television sets.It was well equipped with cooking utensils,crockery,cutlery.etc.
The bedroom and bathroom were also well proportioned and very clean. There was a small balcony accessed from both the lounge and the bedroom, though ours only had a limited view.
The hotel is superbly placed for the beach and right under Mt. Maunganui.
The hotel advertises two heated pools but the swimming one is full when two swimmers are in and the other is a large heated spa pool/jacuzzi.There is a well equipped gym and large underground parking.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a beach view.Elevation in the twin towers will get you a view of both the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wegetaround02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment.
Thought the staff could have been a bit more helpful when enquiring about things.
Asked if there were any deckchairs for around the pool and was told no. Thought that most pools would have a couple around to relax on. Also thought they could take this on board to consider but didn't. Liitle things in the bathroom were missing....eg shower caps, no teatowels or wash cloth in kitchen.. Had to ask for this & was told to come down to reception to get it.....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahgt659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
3.0 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,092 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
524 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Atrium Apartments
The Atrium Apartments
#5 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
195 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers

Property: Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Address: 1 Maunganui Road, PO Box 5032, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mount Maunganui
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mount Maunganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanside Resort and Twin Towers offers premium Mount Maunganui hotel and apartment accommodation. You can't beat our superb location - we're nestled directly under the famous Mauao at Mount Maunganui and right opposite the beautiful main beach. Whether you are travelling to Mount Maunganui for a family holiday, business or corporate trip, or just for a weekend getaway - Oceanside Resort and Twin Towers has something to suit you. Our accommodation includes: • Resort Executive Studio guestrooms • Resort One Bedroom Suites • Resort Two Bedroom Suites • Resort Honeymoon Suite • Twin Tower 2 Bedroom Apartments with a garden, harbour or ocean view • Twin Tower 3 bedroom Penthouse Apartment Exquisite Location: Oceanside Resort and Twin Towers is ideally located for you to make the most of everything Mount Maunganui has to offer. From your accommodation you have access to one of the country's most popular surf beaches, a plethora of walking tracks up and around the dormant volcano, and wide array of cafes, bars and restaurants. Perfect for Conferences: We have a well-equipped Conference Room and Board Room available for hire - combine it with our hotel accommodation and you'll have a corporate event to remember! Onsite facilities include two heated pools, gym, sauna, parking, internet and cafes & restaurants with charge back facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Hotel Twin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing