We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but worth it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it!”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed inthe 10th floor Tower 1 penthouse in January. The accommodation, location and stay was perfect. The views are sensational. The only fault was the allocated carpark which was very difficult to negototiate for our large car. However,everything else was wonderful and this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thedoultonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    79
    26
    8
    1
See reviews for
33
83
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Booked accommodation through holiday houses, so can't rate / review all hotel amenities...

We used the pool/ spa and found them to be well maintained & clean...

The apartment we stayed in had all that one would possibly need for a long weekend away...an ideal location, walking distance to pilot bay (starting area for half ironman) and definitely not too far for an evening stroll into town...

Highly recommend cafe named Sidetrack (3 Marine Parade) fantastic coffee, food & friendly service..!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwikaileigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Our 5 night stay with another couple in apartment 7B, a two bedroom unit on the 7th floor of Tower 1, was a highlight of our visit to NZ. The Twin Towers are located at the epicentre of the Mount holiday area, directly above a cluster of cafes and restaurants, and across the street from the main beach. We had a spectacular 180 degree view over the beach and ocean. The living area was spacious, with a generous kitchen area, a dining table that seats 8, and comfortable seating for 6 or more people. The unit was luxurious and very well equipped, with a washer and dryer, a dishwasher, two TVs, and various CD and DVD players. There were cooking utensils, plates, glasses and cutlery for 8 people. The two bedrooms are small, but each has a commanding view, and one opens onto the large patio, which has outdoor seating for 6. There are two bathrooms (one is an ensuite). This privately owned apartment is definitely not your average motel.
There was one negative – no Internet. WiFi is available in the resort lobby for an extra charge, but coverage did not reach our unit. For the $430/night we paid, (which includes underground parking for one car, but not daily housekeeping service) there should be a free, good quality, broadband Internet connection in every unit. That said, and we would definitely go back to this or a similar unit in the Twin Towers.

Room Tip: Get an oceanside unit on a high floor for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I used Oceanside Resort as a “home base” during the World Cup of Rugby in September and October of 2011. Room rates are probably seasonal but during the world cup it was approx $200 NZD per day.

The unit was a 1 bedroom condo (apt) with a balcony on the 3rd floor overlooking Mount Maunganui. It was open concept (review photos) with a great modern kitchen open to the living area which had a Flat screen TV and a music centre. The bedroom had two single beds which could be combined for a double and there were two pullout couches in the living area. We also had a washer /dryer combination in our unit however, there were other washers and dryers in the main building for use by everyone. The bathroom had a shower only (no tub).

There is pre-paid high speed internet (10 hours) for about $24 NZD however, we found some free WIFI as well.

There is no central heat in the unit but this is normal for most residential accommodation in New Zealand. There is plug-in electric heating which works well if required during the cooler months.

Entry to these units is made by electronic keys and you need to take them wherever you go. They are used to get into all areas of the complex including the gym, pool area, parking garage and for night entry to the main building.

There are elevators and stairs in all buildings and underground parking if required with entry off Maunganui Road.

The area is a main tourist area in New Zealand and this resort is located right in the centre next to the Mount and a half minute walk to Mount Maunganui Beach. There are walking and jogging trails & paths by the beach and around the Mount. You can run or walk up to the top of the Mount as well.

There are many small restaurants & cafes across the street from the beach and shopping & banks (including many bank machines) along Maunganui Road all within walking distance.

It is a 10 minute taxi ride to the Tauranga Airport and from there a 30 minute flight to Auckland. A drive to Auckland can take 4 hours, to Wellington approx. 7-8 hours and for those who don’t know, you drive on the left.

You will find surfers, kayakers and windsurfers at Mount Maunganui Beach and a boardwalk. This is a great place to stay and relax for families or singles.

I have included several photos to show the area and the resort.
I would definitely return to this resort and area.

CanadianHolidayGuy

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadianHolidayGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Property in the heart of the mount. Very modern. A bit pricey but you get what you pay for

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GM007_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed for a long weekend with friends. Apartment was way bigger than we thought with a full size kitchen and everything that you could need. Resort is located in the middle between the ocean beach and harbour and across the road from the hot pools. Walk out the door and you ther are many fine cafe's for coffee, breakfast or just people wtching after a walk around the Mt. Is easy to just park the car and walk - town is an easy stroll away and many fabulous eating places once there. Tauranga & Papamoa are close enough to enable you to spend some time there as well.
The bedroom had a super king size bed which was fantastic and the room we had even had a spa bath - bliss.
Is a great location and in summer is buzzing. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11Seamount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We stayed only one night in a ground floor room here, so it did not have any views but it had a good, fairly private terrace giving very easy access to the pool, and a two minute walk across the street to the beach and a very pleasant board-walk and Mount Maunganui itself. The room was spacious and very comfortable, with a little kitchenette. There are plenty of nice cafes very close by. It seemed a little pricey but overall we were quite happy it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobyis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
3.0 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,081 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
519 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Atrium Apartments
The Atrium Apartments
#5 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
191 reviews
5.5 mi away
850 Cameron Motel
850 Cameron Motel
#1 of 57 in Tauranga
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers

Property: Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Address: 1 Maunganui Road, PO Box 5032, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mount Maunganui
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mount Maunganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanside Resort and Twin Towers offers premium Mount Maunganui hotel and apartment accommodation. You can't beat our superb location - we're nestled directly under the famous Mauao at Mount Maunganui and right opposite the beautiful main beach. Whether you are travelling to Mount Maunganui for a family holiday, business or corporate trip, or just for a weekend getaway - Oceanside Resort and Twin Towers has something to suit you. Our accommodation includes: • Resort Executive Studio guestrooms • Resort One Bedroom Suites • Resort Two Bedroom Suites • Resort Honeymoon Suite • Twin Tower 2 Bedroom Apartments with a garden, harbour or ocean view • Twin Tower 3 bedroom Penthouse Apartment Exquisite Location: Oceanside Resort and Twin Towers is ideally located for you to make the most of everything Mount Maunganui has to offer. From your accommodation you have access to one of the country's most popular surf beaches, a plethora of walking tracks up and around the dormant volcano, and wide array of cafes, bars and restaurants. Perfect for Conferences: We have a well-equipped Conference Room and Board Room available for hire - combine it with our hotel accommodation and you'll have a corporate event to remember! Onsite facilities include two heated pools, gym, sauna, parking, internet and cafes & restaurants with charge back facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Hotel Twin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing