We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in New Zealand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I used Oceanside Resort as a “home base” during the World Cup of Rugby in September and October of 2011. Room rates are probably seasonal but during the world cup it was approx $200 NZD per day.

The unit was a 1 bedroom condo (apt) with a balcony on the 3rd floor overlooking Mount Maunganui. It was open concept (review photos) with a great modern kitchen open to the living area which had a Flat screen TV and a music centre. The bedroom had two single beds which could be combined for a double and there were two pullout couches in the living area. We also had a washer /dryer combination in our unit however, there were other washers and dryers in the main building for use by everyone. The bathroom had a shower only (no tub).

There is pre-paid high speed internet (10 hours) for about $24 NZD however, we found some free WIFI as well.

There is no central heat in the unit but this is normal for most residential accommodation in New Zealand. There is plug-in electric heating which works well if required during the cooler months.

Entry to these units is made by electronic keys and you need to take them wherever you go. They are used to get into all areas of the complex including the gym, pool area, parking garage and for night entry to the main building.

There are elevators and stairs in all buildings and underground parking if required with entry off Maunganui Road.

The area is a main tourist area in New Zealand and this resort is located right in the centre next to the Mount and a half minute walk to Mount Maunganui Beach. There are walking and jogging trails & paths by the beach and around the Mount. You can run or walk up to the top of the Mount as well.

There are many small restaurants & cafes across the street from the beach and shopping & banks (including many bank machines) along Maunganui Road all within walking distance.

It is a 10 minute taxi ride to the Tauranga Airport and from there a 30 minute flight to Auckland. A drive to Auckland can take 4 hours, to Wellington approx. 7-8 hours and for those who don’t know, you drive on the left.

You will find surfers, kayakers and windsurfers at Mount Maunganui Beach and a boardwalk. This is a great place to stay and relax for families or singles.

I have included several photos to show the area and the resort.
I would definitely return to this resort and area.

CanadianHolidayGuy

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanadianHolidayGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 180 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2011

Property in the heart of the mount. Very modern. A bit pricey but you get what you pay for

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GM007_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed for a long weekend with friends. Apartment was way bigger than we thought with a full size kitchen and everything that you could need. Resort is located in the middle between the ocean beach and harbour and across the road from the hot pools. Walk out the door and you ther are many fine cafe's for coffee, breakfast or just people wtching after a walk around the Mt. Is easy to just park the car and walk - town is an easy stroll away and many fabulous eating places once there. Tauranga & Papamoa are close enough to enable you to spend some time there as well.
The bedroom had a super king size bed which was fantastic and the room we had even had a spa bath - bliss.
Is a great location and in summer is buzzing. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11Seamount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We stayed only one night in a ground floor room here, so it did not have any views but it had a good, fairly private terrace giving very easy access to the pool, and a two minute walk across the street to the beach and a very pleasant board-walk and Mount Maunganui itself. The room was spacious and very comfortable, with a little kitchenette. There are plenty of nice cafes very close by. It seemed a little pricey but overall we were quite happy it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobyis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

The room that I stayed in was the best ever it was just the perfect location right on the beach with there own hot sea salt pool! With a colder pool right next to it so you can cool down if you get to hot and birds drop in to the cool pool to cool down. I would stay at the oceanside motel and apartments so many times and I would never get bored the big waves on the beach are got to surf on and to body board.
Chris age 10

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisdg2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

I thoroughly recommend this resort in Mount Maunganui. Having stayed there for a family wedding our rooms were immaculate with lots of room. The proximity to the patrolled surf beach is fantastic as too all the lovely cafes and restaurants. My biggest point of praise would have to go to the staff. I accidentely left my jewellery case in the room and was both delighted and impressed when the staff of Oceanside Resort went to the effort of locating me and returning my precious belongings. I am sincerely thankful! My family had a very enjoyable stay at Oceanside, lovely pool, plenty of in room facilities, great location and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BecCappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Stayed here for four days in November '10 in a 2-bedroom apartment. Being European the place seems like a typical european place, i.e. very professional run without much personal charm. This the only place on our NZ trip that we ecountered this.

Our unit was spacious, clean and well equiped and and had a small balcony facing the courtyard. The pool isn't big, and have the potential to be crowded when the place is full in peak season.

Location was excellent right at the mountain and the beach.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobhund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
3.0 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,103 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
531 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Atrium Apartments
The Atrium Apartments
#6 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#18 of 57 in Tauranga
129 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers

Address: 1 Maunganui Road, PO Box 5032, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mount Maunganui
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mount Maunganui
Price Range: $125 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanside Resort and Twin Towers offers premium Mount Maunganui hotel and apartment accommodation. You can't beat our superb location - we're nestled directly under the famous Mauao at Mount Maunganui and right opposite the beautiful main beach. Whether you are travelling to Mount Maunganui for a family holiday, business or corporate trip, or just for a weekend getaway - Oceanside Resort and Twin Towers has something to suit you. Our accommodation includes: • Resort Executive Studio guestrooms • Resort One Bedroom Suites • Resort Two Bedroom Suites • Resort Honeymoon Suite • Twin Tower 2 Bedroom Apartments with a garden, harbour or ocean view • Twin Tower 3 bedroom Penthouse Apartment Exquisite Location: Oceanside Resort and Twin Towers is ideally located for you to make the most of everything Mount Maunganui has to offer. From your accommodation you have access to one of the country's most popular surf beaches, a plethora of walking tracks up and around the dormant volcano, and wide array of cafes, bars and restaurants. Perfect for Conferences: We have a well-equipped Conference Room and Board Room available for hire - combine it with our hotel accommodation and you'll have a corporate event to remember! Onsite facilities include two heated pools, gym, sauna, parking, internet and cafes & restaurants with charge back facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Hotel Twin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing