We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the Atruim”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Atrium Apartments
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I had read the past reviews when booking to stay there over the last week of the May school holidays. I was wondering if i should have booked after what i read on some comments. I need not of worried. On arrival we were shown the car park and taken up the lift and shown the apartment. The apartment we were in had a great view of the harbour, was warm and comfy. O.k so no vaccumming done under the beds or a few fingermarks here and there, or you run out of milk/coffee, go to the dairy. It was still tidy with clean linen and towels etc. The spa pool was very warm and clean. If your looking for staff 24hrs at reception to tend to your every need...go to a hotel! But if your looking to go somewhere where it feels like home and you want privacy come to the atruim. We will visit again. Thanks Lynley and team.

Room Tip: Ask for 4th or 5th floor facing ocean or harbour, if you want great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kylie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 127 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

I was looking around for nice apartment with sea views for my husband and i to have a lovely night away.I booked the Atrium is it was a little cheaper and great location,and views, love watching those big ships come in.
The lovely lady there Debbie upgraded us to the Penthouse Suite, just randomly. I was stoked that never happens to me.She asked us only to use 1 of the 3 rooms,which was fine.
The apartment was Amazing,spotless, beautifully set up, fabulous views, roomy.Well kitted out with all sorts of extras.
I was arriving after the office was closing on a public holiday, she was very helpful with instructions how to get in etc, and even when i had to call her she was very helpful.
When we checked out she said, if the Penthouse suite was empty she would offer to other bookings for the same price, as long as only 1 of the rooms were used,AWESOME...
It has 3 spacious rooms, we decided next time we might get another 2 couples together and book it out.Plenty of room.Also the perfect location for a summer family break,with a lot of luxury.
Thank you so much you made our day, and we will be back...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debzrotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

DON'T EVER STAY HERE. Management treated us appallingly.

We bought a voucher deal to stay with 2 adults and 3 kids, and booked 4 months ahead of time for a special occasion. Our booking was incorrect 3 times and I had to keep emailing to have it corrected.

When we arrived to check in to our room with full sea views the manager very rudely told us "Your not in that room anymore. We bumped you because other people booked in and they are paying full-price so the room isn't available any more". When I raised that we had booked 4 months earlier and confirmed 4 times, even as recently as 7 days before, so the room shouldn't have been available for anyone else to book, he just said "So what, you bought it with a voucher so you're lucky your not staying in the basement." And he taunted me with the room key; going to hand it to me then pulling it away several times over. If we hadn't prepaid and didn't have the kids I would have just left.

The new room did not even have a sleep space or bedding for our 3rd child.

The deal also included late checkout but we were phoned and asked to leave 3 hours earlier.

During our stay the pool was freezing and the spa was cold as well, the room and dishes were dirty, and the elevator didn't work (we were on the 5th floor). But those things are minor compared the to treatment by management.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Just spent Easter 2013 in a two bedroom apartment at the Atrium Apartments Mount Maunganui New Zealand. The apartments are not serviced and looking under the beds they are only barely cleaned. The office is not often open and the service you get is not rude but is certainly not welcoming. The level one apartment which were were in had no view and was noisy from people using the pool and BBQ area. It also felt very public. Also be aware that on the ground floor they have garaging on either side of the walkway and nothing to warn you or children that cars are coming through. We walked out of the lift (with our two small children) and almost got run over by a car travelling through the internal atrium area of the hotel. The rooms are very small and the furniture is old and in need of repair or replacement. Would not recommend this as a first choice place to stay. Having said all that it is very conveniently located to all the Mount has to offer.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on he first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Third floor 2 bedroom apartment offered space needed for 3 adults, with sea views from balcony.
Adequately furnished, but bedcovers very stained, some curtain hooks broken, mismatched bedside lamps, shower head and basin taps dripping, no hairdryer or plunger pot for coffee.
Disappointing quality for price.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We had booked some accommodation at the atrium 4mths ago and got a price and an email confirming it. When we arrived the manager informed me that the price quoted to me couldn't be met now so it was put up by $100 a night. It wasn't just about the difference in price but the way we were then treated. We found the manager Rude Arrogant Insulting and threatening. We left and found somewhere else to stay where the manager was so helpful , polite and accommodating. We have never in all the years of travelling and staying in hotels around the world been treated so appallingly. We feel for the owners of these apartments as they will loose clients hand over fist with a manager like this. The apartments are lovely and the position is excellent just such a pity about the lack of people skills by the manager.

Stayed: February 2013
5  Thank tigsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on a Grab One deal so got it at a good price - thank goodness! Location is great and views from apartments are good but apartments are very small and quite tired. We were a couple and in a two bedroom apartment but it was so small we were very grateful we had nobody else with us. Bedrooms tiny, bathroom tiny although clean and serviceable. TV reception was extremely poor quality making it very difficult to watch anything. The most disappointing part of the whole place was that the handrails up and down the flights of stairs were filthy. I realise the place was full and very busy but when you only have two options, several flights of stairs or a lift that is extremely slow with a long wait time, then cleaning of the stairs handrails should be a priority. I went down one flight of stairs and my hand was black by the time I got to the bottom - yuk! And nothing changed about that over the whole weekend. The pool appeared to be well used and appreciated although we didn't try it. All in all the place is ok and no doubt very suitable for a young family if you can get at a good price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Glynnie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
3.0 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,125 reviews
4.2 mi away
Boatshed Motel Apartments Mt. Maunganui
Boatshed Motel Apartments Mt. Ma...
#9 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
50 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
182 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atrium Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atrium Apartments

Address: 23 Maunganui Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Price Range: $126 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Atrium Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Atrium Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Atrium Apartments Hotel Mount Maunganui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing