We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Girls Night Away! Mother's Day & Mum's Birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Atrium Apartments
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Opotiki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Girls Night Away! Mother's Day & Mum's Birthday”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Spent the night at the Atrium in the Mount...awesome accommodation, nice & close to the Mount - couldn't resist walking up first thing Monday morn followed by a yummy breakfast at The Deckchair Cafe on Main Beach, coffee at Grinds in 1st Ave, Tga, then lots of retail therapy before heading home to family dinner at ours....AWESOME TIME spent with my Mummy :)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 302 - found it on Holiday Houses website. Pam was really helpful & it was has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    42
    21
    11
    13
See reviews for
44
40
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We have stayed at the Atrium some years back and had a wonderful stay. However, on arrival at reception which was being run by young child of approx 12 yrs of age there was no response to my hello other than "how many nights are you here for ?". Couldn't work the booking system so called her "Pops" down and I found out where she got her lack of manners from. A very offhand attitude to paying guests even though majority of apartments were empty, Our long awaited holiday was marred by the following: toilet button broken and sticking, no hot water for the shower on first morning, no Sky channels for the last 2 days, the remnants of a previous guests TV snack down between the couch cushions, badly dented fridge, mouldy smell coming from shower and handbasin drain, shower handle loose and fell off, shower head split and spraying water in all directions,no restaurant guide or information on where to leave rubbish / recycling, lift spasmodic in operation. Reception was sometimes unattended and phone unanswered when trying to contact the management re our concerns. In addittion with so many rooms vacant, why were we placed into a room that had repair work booked in the first morning and we only found out on arrival of the plumber ? We won't be going back !!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mount Maunganui hotels

Auckland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We arrived quite late on the Thursday but this was no problem, arrangements has been made for access and parking and this all worked very well. The unit was well appointed and everything we needed was provided. The kitchenette was compact but worked well. We were on level 4 , that worked well tho could be a occasionally a little noisey from the traffic. The only issue of any concern was the lift, it was temperamental and when on level 4 that can be a pain!
Great location and all in all good value , we wil stay again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I am both a contributor and a users of Trip Advisor, I travel a lot for work and see the best and worst of hotels around the world. I am always interested to read reviews on places that I stay in to give myself a sanity check. Some of the review for The Atrium at Mount Maunganui make me question if I was staying at the same place as some of these people.

So let me tell the story. My wife and I were having a lazy week off and decided to spend it around the Bay of Plenty and Coromandel areas on NZ. We arrived in Mount Maunganui early afternoon after a good tip for the people who run The Church Accommodation in Hahei (another gem of a place) and went for a walk looking for a deal for 3 - 4 nights.

With not much happening in town and on the tail end of the summer season we figured that there would be deals to be had and were surprised that a number of Holiday Apartment complexes were not interested in incremental walk in revenue for a unit that would otherwise be unoccupied.

The folk at the Atrium were excellent, they were friendly to deal with and came up with a deal we were both happy with for a top floor studio with harbour views, they even offered to throw in a cruise ship arrival for free to sweeten the deal.

Magic. The unit was bright and airy, it was clean and well appointed and very comfortable and we got 4 cruise ships, one each day were were there )see attached photo).

The beach was 100 metres in one direction and the harbour 150 metres in the opposite direction. There were cafes and restaurants a few minutes walk away with a more substantial shopping precinct 10-15 minutes walk. Hard to think of anything more to ask for.

Contrary to what Prellin has suggested in another review, this is a well run Apartment Building with a staff who are interested in you and care about what they are doing. The building and the apartments (we had 2 over our 4 days) were well maintained and in good order.

When you take a cheap deal, you don't always get the Presidential Suite in our case we happened to be there when there was not a high occupancy so we did well. You can't expect that every time when you are on a cheap deal.

I have no hesitation in recommending The Atrium and if you look at all the reviews there are plenty of guests who agree with my perspective. I will definitely return to this building when next we want a lazy week at the Bay of Plenty.

Room Tip: I think the Harbour view is better than the Beach View. Noise was not an issue when we were there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terryl-55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paeroa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2012

we stayed on the top floor overlooking the harbour and loved it. nice and clean, good size lounge, friendly staff. will definatley be going back to stay in the future

Room Tip: the higher the floor your on, the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaeroaFishers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We bought a deal on Grab One and was very disappointed. The place is in urgent need of repair. The toilet roll holder was broken, shower soap holder broken, the dryer broken, the table on the balcony was rusted, tv stand rusted. The carpets was grubby, fridge door was dented in an curtains was moldy. Due to the condition of the place it seems they are attracting customers through the Grab One website cause I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Prellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

we took up a graba-deal which worked out at $90.00 a night, great place would definetly stay again

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badman68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
3.0 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#3 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aquarius Motor Inn
Aquarius Motor Inn
#8 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Reef Beachfront Apartments
The Reef Beachfront Apartments
#1 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atrium Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atrium Apartments

Property: The Atrium Apartments
Address: 23 Maunganui Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Atrium Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Atrium Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Atrium Apartments Hotel Mount Maunganui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing