We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, nice people, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Atrium Apartments
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice place, nice people, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

I am both a contributor and a users of Trip Advisor, I travel a lot for work and see the best and worst of hotels around the world. I am always interested to read reviews on places that I stay in to give myself a sanity check. Some of the review for The Atrium at Mount Maunganui make me question if I was staying at the same place as some of these people.

So let me tell the story. My wife and I were having a lazy week off and decided to spend it around the Bay of Plenty and Coromandel areas on NZ. We arrived in Mount Maunganui early afternoon after a good tip for the people who run The Church Accommodation in Hahei (another gem of a place) and went for a walk looking for a deal for 3 - 4 nights.

With not much happening in town and on the tail end of the summer season we figured that there would be deals to be had and were surprised that a number of Holiday Apartment complexes were not interested in incremental walk in revenue for a unit that would otherwise be unoccupied.

The folk at the Atrium were excellent, they were friendly to deal with and came up with a deal we were both happy with for a top floor studio with harbour views, they even offered to throw in a cruise ship arrival for free to sweeten the deal.

Magic. The unit was bright and airy, it was clean and well appointed and very comfortable and we got 4 cruise ships, one each day were were there )see attached photo).

The beach was 100 metres in one direction and the harbour 150 metres in the opposite direction. There were cafes and restaurants a few minutes walk away with a more substantial shopping precinct 10-15 minutes walk. Hard to think of anything more to ask for.

Contrary to what Prellin has suggested in another review, this is a well run Apartment Building with a staff who are interested in you and care about what they are doing. The building and the apartments (we had 2 over our 4 days) were well maintained and in good order.

When you take a cheap deal, you don't always get the Presidential Suite in our case we happened to be there when there was not a high occupancy so we did well. You can't expect that every time when you are on a cheap deal.

I have no hesitation in recommending The Atrium and if you look at all the reviews there are plenty of guests who agree with my perspective. I will definitely return to this building when next we want a lazy week at the Bay of Plenty.

Room Tip: I think the Harbour view is better than the Beach View. Noise was not an issue when we were there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terryl-55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    42
    21
    10
    13
See reviews for
43
40
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
paeroa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

we stayed on the top floor overlooking the harbour and loved it. nice and clean, good size lounge, friendly staff. will definatley be going back to stay in the future

Room Tip: the higher the floor your on, the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaeroaFishers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

We bought a deal on Grab One and was very disappointed. The place is in urgent need of repair. The toilet roll holder was broken, shower soap holder broken, the dryer broken, the table on the balcony was rusted, tv stand rusted. The carpets was grubby, fridge door was dented in an curtains was moldy. Due to the condition of the place it seems they are attracting customers through the Grab One website cause I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Prellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mount Maunganui hotels

Auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

we took up a graba-deal which worked out at $90.00 a night, great place would definetly stay again

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badman68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manukau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

we stayed 2 nights on the fourth floor in a 2 bed apartment and loved it,the apartment was clean and had everything we needed and more.had all your cooking needs ,dishwasher,dryer washing machine,and we were lucky enough to get a room with great view of the harbour,nothing like having a sleep in and watching the boats come in and out.the closeness to everything was excellent,and pool and spa was just the thing for relaxing after a day exploring tauranga /mount ,the access way to the mount beach was perfect,2min walk and through the gates your there.i read the older reviews and was a lil worried but obviously going by the last few something has changed and dont have a bad word to say about the atrium.in fact we will be back again shortly,secure ,clean and easy going owners ,great amenities and walking distance to everything,having a 3yr old girl tell you she wants to come back again and again does it for us.great walks,beach,play ground,perfect place to get away for a rest but still have the option of good shopping if you want too.

Room Tip: ask for room with a view ,probably 4th or 5th floor,dont forget laundry powder if you want to do was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kboosdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed two nights in a one bedroom apartment on the 5th floor with a harbour view. The apartment was a good size and was very clean. Kitchen was well stocked with utensils/cutlery etc and oven/stovetop came in very handy for cooking dinner. We were provided with a portacot and plenty of bedding for our small baby.

Great location within walking distance to the beachfront, Mt Maunganui and shops/cafes.

Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Arrived without a booking and hosts provided a 2 bedroom unit on the 5th floor with views of ocean and harbor at a very good rate.
Stayed 4 nights room had all mod cons including oven which we utilized one night for a roast dinner most enjoyable.
Atrium centrally located with great access to all facilities including shortcut to beachfront

Room Tip: high floor for fab views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VicAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
3.0 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aquarius Motor Inn
Aquarius Motor Inn
#8 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Reef Beachfront Apartments
The Reef Beachfront Apartments
#1 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atrium Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atrium Apartments

Property: The Atrium Apartments
Address: 23 Maunganui Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Atrium Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Atrium Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Atrium Apartments Hotel Mount Maunganui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing