We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the good the bad and the ugly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel
Carey Bay, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“the good the bad and the ugly”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have already seen some of the reviews for this facility. and funny enough, can agree with almost all. Firstly the welcome was hardly endearing, being frowned upon for having a seaview special for $ 200 dollars ( we were reminded 3 times. ) Our seaview somehow changed to a view of next doors apartment and the Pavilions" driveway. Apparently we could only have a 3 b/r apartment but were advised were we to use more than one b/r would incur extra charges. Beware seaview can mean "Partial" seaview in Mt Maunganui. The room was OK but dated; hardly 5 star. The lift is like the neighbourhood and service: S L O W. Lastly, as I was travelling on business and had an 08:30 appointment close by and had read about the issues surrounding leaving this place after 10:00 am, I left my wife in the unit but put most of the luggage in the car at 08:00 in case my business meeting dictated I miss the deadline. Can you believe the manager approached me in the carpark suggesting I was leaving without paying ??? Never before in 50 years of international travel. Some pepole are in the wrong industry. NEVER AGAIN !!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peterCareyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony and Raewyn B, General Manager at Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you Peter for your comments. All our advertising states that we have Seaview or full Oceanfront accommodation, however we will add in "partial" seaview to better discribe the side and back apartments. Our check out times are well advertised as checkout 10am, however we do try and accommodate a later check out when we can. Because we only have 16 well sort after beach location apartments, it does make it hard to offer later checkouts when we need to get them cleaned to our high standards and available for our check-in clients.
The Apartment you were in, I will agree after 13 years is showing the usage and we will be undertaking an update revamp. We are sorry that you have had a bad experience in our complex, and if you wish us to accommodate you and your wife again, please contact me direct and we will certainly endeavor to accommodate your requirements with a 5 star experience. Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    22
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
29
38
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Standards do not drop here. Another brilliant stay at the Mt wish we could have stayed longer,will be back on my next trip to NZ. Tony and Raewyn do a wonderful job. Great restaurants close by shops within easy reach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waimara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavilion A, Owner at Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Hello Waimara
Thank you again for your wonderful comments and continued support. Look forward to seeing you again. Tony and Raewyn - Owner/Managers - Pavilion Beachfront Accommodation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed there in January 2013 and the location, room and parking were very good. One light bulb and fitting had to be fixed while we were there but that was no problem to us. For our trip to NZ we used a common Commonwealth Bank travel card which you load with NZ dollars before you leave home and use to get cash and as a credit card with the great benefit that you do not pay bank and credit card fees, conversion fees and commissions. When we checked out a manager insisted that we push the "AUD" (Australian dollars) button on her machine. We objected strongly that this would cause us to pay fees and commissions and tried to explain how a travel card worked. She insisted that we had to push the AUD button and assured us that that we would be charged only NZ dollars and would not have to pay fees and commissions and said that her machine had to operate that way. You guessed it - we pushed the AUD button and were charged fees and commissions. The extra cost was not much - about $40 Australia - but when we complained after we got home the reaction was quite surprising from the managers. The gist of the response was, firstly, that WE had pushed the AUD button therefore it was our fault we had to pay the extra. Secondly, they (the managers) had received only what the rent was and therefore they were not responsible in any way for our extra charges and we should get the extra back from the bank or credit card company. There was no hint of an apology of any sort or any sign of an admission that what we were told by a manager was incorrect. Very, very disappointing end to what would have been a good holiday.
We will stay there again BUT only when those managers have moved on.
Thankfully, there is an abundance of other accommodation in Mt Maunganui of similar or better standard which we will use in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rodent1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony and Raewyn B, General Manager at Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hi all
Thanks for your comments. Since this situation happened, when you were here and after, we have been in touch with Eft Pos NZ and Australia through our banks, and bitterly complained about the position we both found ourselves in with respects to this AUD/NZD transaction. As you and ourselves were spoken too in our office by them on our phone, and all was explained, like you we were still annoyed at their responses. We have never received any extra monies from the card people, and the Card people have informed us, and as you were also told at the time, that this matter was between you and your Australian bank. We have tried to help this situation wherever possible on your behalf with your bank, however because of privacy issues they will not deal with us. If by chance you do wish to come back to NZ and would like to stay with us at the Pavilions, then please contact us directly and not through any travel agencies, and we will certainly accommodate you at a special tariff with the view of you then leaving wanting to return. Thank you again Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra AUS
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Mt Monganui is the most visited summer destination in all NZ, and the Pavilion provides one of the best of the best. A smallish complex located in position A1, right on the main beachfront with a good selection of eateries on the adjacent corner. The mount walking tracks and hot water baths are a stone's throw away. We were greeted on arrival with friendly staff who readily accommodated our early check in. Off street parking is a bonus as the beachfront parking is scarce and time limited. The room was clean and spacious apartment style and well equipped, with a full kitchen which would compliment a longer stay. The full array of Sky TV stations was appreciated, as we found this a rarity in NZ. Front rooms have an uninterrupted beach view which you pay for. If you are going for the side rooms which also provide a good view, I recommend you request one on the southern side, as there is an adjoining highrise on the northern (mountain) side.

Room Tip: If you want the more affordable side rooms, request the southern side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelabit_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed at Pavilion 12th to 16th Jan 2013. A beautiful spot with magic views and very welcoming and helpful hard working couple in Tony & Raewyn managing the complex. Loved the 3 bedroom penthouse which was very reasonably priced and the fabulous service and delicious food in the Blue restaurant on street level. We understood when we checked in that we needed to out by 10 so that the cleaning crew could come in. Of course with 3 teenage boys getting up and out by 10 can be tricky and we were a bit late but not a problem on checkout.
Thanks for helping make a great holiday we will certainly come back.

Room Tip: Penthouse huge and view is magic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Pavilion recently after we happened to walk in off the street in hope of an impromtue stay. The female manager was very friendly and helpful offering us a choice of two rooms they had left, in which we took the 1bdrm apartment on the 3rd floor. We werent in the beach front rooms (out of our price range) but instead on the side which still had a nice view from our balcony over to the beach. The rooms are well equipped and tidy, and have everything you need, however think more 4-star than 5. The bathroom is small compared to the size of the apartment, with a shower only, however had the necessities. There is a separate laundry cupboard with a washing machine and dryer should you need it during your stay. There is also air con in the kitchen area, and a ceiling fan in the bedroom. You can't get a better location as its located directly across from the main beach enabling you to just park your car in the secure carpark and explore this beautiful place!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed two nights in a two room apartment, at $300per night, which we considered reasonable for five-star accomodation. The room was well set out, but could certainly do with updating. The view was wonderful. The service was non-existent after 6pm, literally. The rooms are not serviced and if you require more than the three sachets of milk each, provided on arrival, you must pay for them, and collect them from reception, no later than 6pm, after which, I assume you just have to develop a taste for black coffee. Likewise with the coffee, tea etc. On our second morning, (check out) we had to have cold showers. When I mentioned this to the owner, he replied that he too, had had to suffer the shock of cold water, as something had blown out, apparently this happens regularly, and that it's back on now. I pointed out that that didn't help us, and he shrugged! I wouldn't stay here again, and am used to far superior service in even lower rated accomodation, in every country that I've travelled to.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. I suspect they are self-rated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kathleen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony and Raewyn B, Owner at Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thanks to Kathleen H for their response. As the owner Manager of our beachfront complex, I would like to respond as we do not like to read that a client has had a troubling experience.Sometimes nature plays a part in disrupting our lives, and in this case it completed this by way of blowing the gas flame out in the heater that keeps the gas hot water cylinder for the complex at its shower tempreture. We have since had the plumbing company look at being able to form a sheild around it without interfaring with the ventilation that it requires. Regarding our room introductory items, the office hours and the non serviced apartments, clients are aware of all this prior to reserving their accommodation, as it is explained either on our website or by us personally, plus within the room compendium. We look forward to their return, and we will make sure that they enjoy the future stays. Kind regards
Tony. Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
0.1 mi away
The Atrium Apartments
The Atrium Apartments
#5 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
120 reviews
3.1 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,092 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#3 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#1 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capri On Pilot Bay
Capri On Pilot Bay
#5 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
113 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel

Property: Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel
Address: 4 Marine Parade | Main Beach, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Mount Maunganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pavilion Beachfront 5 Star Luxury Apartments are located on the Main Mount Maunganui, Bay of Plenty, East Coast Surf Beach. We have 1,2,3 and Penthouse Non-Serviced Apartments, which are fully self contained with full kitchens, Laundry, 80+ Guest select Sky TV, Minibars, Balconies, Free Secure Carpark and an Onsite Restaurant. We have Partial Seaview apartments on the side and back of the complex as well as full Oceanfront Apartments. All apartments are Non-Smoking inside, but smoking is allowed on the outside balconies which all apartments have. The 2 Bedroom Oceanfront Apartments have 2 bathrooms and have either 2 Queen beds or 1 Queen and 2 Single Beds. Some Apartments have foldout sofa beds on request. Just Park the car and walk to the famous cafe's, the Mount Natural saltwater Hot Pools, or into the Town centre within 5 minutes from the complex. Just sit on your Balcony with a wine in hand and watch the Ships and Cruise Ships go in and out of our famous Tauranga Port, or watch the beautiful Sunsets. Come and enjoy paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing