We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location but ........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belle Mer Beachfront Apartments
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We had a great holiday here. The location is perfect, virtually on the beach and a short walk froms cafes etc. Apartment was very clean and spacious. We had great weather and it was lovely to open up the sliding doors to the balcony and enjoy the views. Not cheap but worth it if you are a family/group. However, I can relate to some of the comments made in previous reviews regarding the management team. They are a bit fierce sometimes! I see that they are a bit defensive about this, but given the number of similar comments they need to take the feedback onboard. We just laughed it off and christened them Mr and Mrs Scary!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsB010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 112 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2011

Friendly welcome, lovely bright clean airy apartment with huge amounts of space in a lovely spot right on the beach. You would be lucky to improve on these apartments in Tauranga area.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BridgendDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Service is extremely poor and management were rude which is unfortunate as we have stayed many years ago and had a great time. The apartments are very nice and in a great location but the rudeness of the management really ruined it for us. No aircon so the apartments very hot in summer and especially bad at night. Need goggles for kids in pool as its very heavily chlorinated. If I owned one of these apartments I would be asking questions if I discovered the people who stayed were being treated in such a rude, unfriendly and unhelpful manner, I very much doubt they will be winning any more awards! Perhaps its time for some fresh management, some who have some idea what hospitality means and customer service. I definitely wouldn't recommend taking kids either as I think this doubles their rudeness, one our our children started hiding from the male manager when he approached as he found him so grumpy. Also take spare towels as they appeared to hate parting with extra, or be prepared for spanish inquisition and raised eyebrows if you request more as there definitely a towel ration situation going on at Belle Mer. All in all have travelled the world over and never experienced such shocking service so it was very disappointing as its not a cheap stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AucklandJennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellebagley, Owner at Belle Mer Beachfront Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2011

Thank you for returning the cushion cover you took home with you. Unfortunately the green vase is still missing from your stay and we have looked for it everywhere except for the rubbish bins. We have advised the owner of that apartment it has disappeared so they can purchase a replacement.

We accept over the past 6 years of running Belle Mer Apartments there has been a couple of occasions where we have not been as warm and welcoming as we should - for those reading this review that deal with the public you will know it is a challenge especially 7 days a week 24 hours a day. This is not us making excuses it is reality. However, we also accept it is our job to maintain a professional and friendly manner at all times with all of our guests and we thank you for your feedback.

If you had noticed the pool to be heavily chlorinated - all you needed to do was say so. We have an automated chlorine system which is checked 3 times per week by the Pool Company technicians we employ to service our pool - they could investigated the problem immediately had they known.

We are extremely proud of the personalised service we have provided our guests as managers of the Belle Mer Apartments. We have worked hard with each of our apartment owners to improve the facilities and believe we have raised the bar for accommodation standards here at the Mount. We enjoy meeting and greeting our guests and assisting them with their luggage to their apartment - another service we proudly provide which is not found anywhere else at the Mount.

Thankfully 99% of the feedback we receive is extremely complimentary which we believe is a fair representation of this property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

I was astounded when I saw the room. The pictures online didn't do it any justice. It was beautiful! I just loved our stay there. The apartment was immaculate and beautiful. I was really impressed with the value we got for our money. The kitchen, dining area, living area, bedroom, bathroom and outdoor patio were incredible. I'm very quick to find fault whenever my husband and I rent a hotel or an apartment when we're traveling. I can't say a bad thing about this place. I absolutely loved it and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

We went for a "romantic' weekend without the kids and it was fantastic, warm friendly service, a great ground floor apartment with a large courtyard, lovely heated pool and a great kingsize comfortable bed. Couldn't have asked for anything more.
Thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris111Hamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We booked a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment which the website stated had a new king size bed. On arrival we were "upgraded" to a higher floor which initially we thought was nice. Late that night when going to bed we discovered the bed was only a queen and was dreadful - sagging in the middle - hence a sleepless night! Plus the bathroom fans come on automatically early in the morning and are very loud. For a 5 star establishment this was way below expectation. When we checked out we advised reception about these problems. They did not seem surprised, and did not offer any form of refund. We won't be staying again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiBagley, Owner at Belle Mer Beachfront Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2010

We are very disappointed to read your review of our fabulous apartments here at Mount Maunganui. We offered you a free upgrade to a top floor apartment that has spectacular sea views and more facilities including your own BBQ and a massive outdoor living area. Had you told us you were uncomfortable with the bed and/or the feather underblankets we would have gone out of our way to change the setup or move you to another apartment. To stay for a couple of days and then only tell us as you leave that there was a problem we believe is unreasonable behaviour. And frankly I was completely shocked when you used such foul language when explaining your concerns. Had you asked for a refund after that display of bad manners I would have said NO.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

This motel is located beside the beach with beautiful scenery and comfortable rooms. Unfortunately, our trip was ruined by the services provided by both the on-site managers, who delivered disappointing services. We are a group of 17 people, having our reunion in this motel, upon arrival, everyone in this group have been make aware of the 'zero tolerance' of noise level in this motel, as the on site managers were threaten to throw all of us out if we make any noises, in which could be delivered in a more professional manner.

The female manager was angry and shouting at our friends for moving their cars to the garage because they thought we have '' modified cars'', which is such an inappropriate accusation. While we are trying to reasoning with the male manager in the morning the next day, he was telling us that all the restaurants are within close proximity that we didnt need our car. I cannot believe with what he just said, that just sounded like we didnt even have our freedom for what we like for the dinner!!!!

The services received was terrible which just ruined our whole trip, will not recommended this motel to anyone at all as i believe whoever that is going on vacation need to be treated with respect!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank piggy_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleMer, Management Rights Business Owner & Manager at Belle Mer Beachfront Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2010

The Belle Mer Apartments are not suitable accommodation for groups of people who wish to get together to party. We provide beautiful apartments (all individually owned)in the best location at the Mount for families, couples, international travellers and corporate clients. Every other review on Trip Advisor indicates they have enjoyed the facilities and services provided. Our achievements through the People's Choice Awards are testimony to our ability to provide excellent accommodation and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Maunganui hotels
0.6 mi away
The Atrium Apartments
The Atrium Apartments
#6 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#3 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
181 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#1 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Reef Beachfront Apartments
The Reef Beachfront Apartments
#1 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel
Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hot...
#11 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Mer Beachfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Mer Beachfront Apartments

Address: 53 Marine Parade | Mount Maunganui, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Mount Maunganui
Price Range: $178 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Belle Mer Beachfront Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belle Mer offers beachfront luxury spacious apartments with sea views from your own balcony or with a private courtyard. Our luxury apartments are the ideal choice of accommodation for corporate guests, groups or independent travelers and families on holiday. Central yet secluded, this beachfront lifestyle accommodation offers the best of both worlds. Choose from our 1, 2 or 3-bedroom apartments with double spa baths, or our Penthouse which offers you pure luxury and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Belle Mer Beachfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing