We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belle Mer Beachfront Apartments
whakatane
1 review
“Family Apartment”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We are a family of four and required an apartment suitable for us and 3 x single adults and the proprietors were excellent in selecting the appropriate apartment for our needs and budget......we were DELIGHTED with the apartment, very spacious, luxurious, comfortable, clean and practical. My husband and I enjoyed the benefits of a spa bath ensuite and we all enjoyed the swimming pool and BBQ area. Rest assured we will be visiting again as it was a choice location within a reasonably close proximity to sea, mount, hot pools and down town shops, about 10minute walk from CBD. Thanks again to the proprietor for a wonderful apartment.

Room Tip: Make sure you talk to the proprietors regarding all your needs, specify who will be staying & wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    25
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
58
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Friendly managers, brilliant location straight across the road from the beach and 5 minutes walk to local restaurants, very comfortable furnishings and immaculately clean. Worth booking a first floor beachfront apartment, if your budget stretches that far, as the views are unbeatable.
My only regret - two nights weren't enough.

Room Tip: The ocean front apartments are adaptable - can be booked with use of one, two or three bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltimeCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I stayed in a one bedroom apartment and loved this place. The apartments are very spacious and are also fitted with very modern furnishing. The location is just superb - the beach is straight across the road and the shops and restaurants are about 5-10 minutes leisurely stroll away. The pool is heated and each apartment has its own balcony or courtyard with sun lounges and table and chairs. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank horiboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike Anne G, Manager at Belle Mer Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback and we hope to see you again on your next visit to the Mount! Kind Regards, Mike, Anne & Claire - Belle Mer Apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

What a beautiful place! We stayed here as part of our honeymoon and had an amazing time.

We were welcomed by a lovely english family - Mike, Anne & Claire who could't do enough to make sure we had a great stay. So friendly and full of great tips for things to do in the area. A huge thank you to Claire for the movie recommendations for the lazy days!

The apartment was top class - extremely clean, well presented, spacious, modern and well equipped, the spa bath in the master ensuite was awesome. We stayed up on the top floor in a side apartment and had a balcony with a lovely view of the beach and island - sitting out for drinks, breakfast and lunch in the sunshine was a highlight.

It's in a quiet area a little out of town but close enough to walk to shops and cafes and the beach is literaly across the road! The walk down to the mount down marine parade is lovely and it was an easy place to take some day trips out to Rotorua and Waihi.

Overall a fantastic stay, thank you - we'll be back again sometime!

Room Tip: If a front apartment or penthouse is stretching the budget a little then you still get a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevversLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike Anne G, Manager at Belle Mer Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Thank you so much for this review! We are so glad that you enjoyed our apartments and that everything was to your satisfaction! Having only recently taken over as new managers in April 2011 and being first timers to the industry, it means so much to hear such great feedback already! We think Trip Advisor is a great way for customers and managers to keep informed as to what guests really think! We are lucky to have taken over such a special block of holiday apartments and are enjoying the challenge! Each apartment here has been kept to such a high standard by the previous managers and our amazing cleaning team! so it's a priority for us to maintain that high standard. We welcome good and bad feedback as we feel it’s so important to understand whether we are meeting the expectations of our guests, but of course we will be striving to keep it all good as much as possible! Glad you enjoyed all those movies too ;) and we hope to have you come back and stay with us another time! Wishing you all the best! Mike, Anne & Claire (The Gulliver’s) - Belle Mer Apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowra
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

A truly brilliant experience. The management were truly welcoming and showed us to our apartment and pointed out all the features. We have been lucky enough to see a fair bit of this world and experience a wide range of accommodation from the cheap to the expensive, and these apartments outrank everything we have experienced before.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

I love going there, it feels like we have truly left all the rubbish and work behind. Walking to the beach across the road is brilliant, especially as we have two children. Walking to town for restaurants is great. The staff are friendly and easy to deal with.
My favourite place to visit in New Zealand and stay, definitely!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwiinct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, CT
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

This was our second stay at the Belle Mer. This time, we had the Penthouse apartment. The panoramic ocean views are simply spectacular. The apartment was spacious and clean and located right across the street from the beach. They are also close to restaurants and shops in town. The managers whom I believe took over shortly before our arrival - Mike, Anne and Claire - are extremely friendly and helpful. The only negative was that, for the price, free wireless internet service should be provided. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to our Christmas visit to New Zealand.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
0.6 mi away
The Atrium Apartments
The Atrium Apartments
#5 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
120 reviews
2.8 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,092 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
196 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Reef Beachfront Apartments
The Reef Beachfront Apartments
#1 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
129 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel
Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hot...
#9 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Mer Beachfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Mer Beachfront Apartments

Property: Belle Mer Beachfront Apartments
Address: 53 Marine Parade | Mount Maunganui, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Mount Maunganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Belle Mer Beachfront Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belle Mer offers beachfront luxury spacious apartments with sea views from your own balcony or with a private courtyard. Our luxury apartments are the ideal choice of accommodation for corporate guests, groups or independent travelers and families on holiday. Central yet secluded, this beachfront lifestyle accommodation offers the best of both worlds. Choose from our 1, 2 or 3-bedroom apartments with double spa baths, or our Penthouse which offers you pure luxury and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Belle Mer Beachfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing