We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cracking coffee” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luca

Luca
Ranked #21 of 101 Restaurants in Mount Maunganui
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cracking coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Great place to sit and relax, lovely staff and a flat white that shows why new Zealand is renowned for its coffee. An air of relaxation and atmosphere that other places at the mount just don't have.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank airod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    15
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
278 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Not even an OK cup of COFFEE!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Previous reviewers claimed that Luca was a top coffee/cafe and maybe if this is where they pick up their morning coffee, then that is fine for them. But sorry our experience did not show this excellence when compared with other Mount/Tauranga coffee cafes.

The food selection is the smallest we have ever encountered being just three items – scone, doughnut, Danish croissant; and all at $4 each. The chocolate croissant looked the best option, but unfortunately it turned out to be soggy and greasy – not an apology for Danish.

But wait the Luca reputation is for excellent coffee. The long black turned out to be bland and lukewarm – once again disappointment.

OK, with expectations I had gone out of my way to Luca, however we are fortunate in having heaps of superior cafes for our morning coffee in the Mount and Tauranga.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Winetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic coffee and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Awesome! This is the best place in town if you want great coffee and service in a great part of town. Its a great place to relax and people watch. I love grabbing a coffee and walking up Mt Drury. They are not a cafe....so don't go there thinking your gonna have a feast. Small delicious treats are on offer to enjoy with your coffee. Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raewyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best coffee in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Gorgeous little coffee spot. The people who have commented on their food selection being slack are barking up the wrong tree. They're not a cafe, nor do they claim to be. They do COFFEE. The best coffee in the area at that and at a decent price (not overpriced like the cafes surrounding it).

The decor is simple and relaxing. Luca is always busy, staff are always friendly and you can rely on consistently great coffee!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodSnob24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good coffee and vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

I'll admit I'm a coffee fascist. I used to be a barista and know coffee. I had the pleasure of stopping in for morning coffee at this hole in the wall on the main Mt strip and was pleasantly surprised with the bitter full bodied coffee I was served.
I recommend sitting out front on a sunny day and people watching.
Also yummy sweet things to eat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luca also viewed

Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 

Been to Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing