We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch spot”

The Barrio Brothers Mount Maunagnui
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had a great little lunch here, ordered the California Burrito, crispy chicken Flautas and margarita pitcher. Everything was tasty, arrived quickly and reasonably priced. Wait staff were professional, efficient and friendly. Would come again and recommend to others.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josh f, Owner at The Barrio Brothers Mount Maunagnui, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thanks for the review guys, glad you enjoyed your lunch with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 269 of 310 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

We frequent the Barrio Brothers often as we love the calamari tacos especially, service is always average though. Staff always seem annoyed and unhappy.
On this occasion we took in a table of 11 and were seated at a shared large table with another group even though we had booked.
We had family from Aussie and Dubai on this occasion but 6 of us are regulars and locals.
Admittedly we weren't going to be a quiet table given the numbers plus there was also approx another 8-10 people at the other end of our table. We ordered off a 'limited' menu which didn't have our favourite calamari tacos on that we have raved to everyone about but they agreed to do us the calamari tacos (not sure why we were on a limited menu in the first place, it's like you are punished for bringing in more customers).
We were happy to be together it was also in between Xmas and New Years so drinking and being festive were absolutely on the cards. One of our group knew the barman and recommended his yummy cocktails so in our eyes we had nothing to complain about.
Until we got told to be quiet, by an unfriendly rude waitress who told us that we were being too noisy, not once but twice she appeared with her same rude manner and said 'remember what I told you'!
Extremely disappointing overall and totally ruined our experience. We agreed to all finish our drinks and move on, tipping the barman for the few drinks he made us, which could have been a few hundred dollars more we took our custom to a place who appreciated it.
Note to the restaurant if noise is a factor maybe don't take large bookings. After all what large group goes out to whisper to each other and have a crappy time?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lucyloo231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The food here is absolutely amazing, and the staff were really friendly. We were just passing through town for an overnight stay. The staff were really accommodating with seating us at a bust time, with no reservations, and the food was absolute awesome. Best Mexican I've ever had.

With love, from OZ

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ZacZachariah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josh f, Owner at The Barrio Brothers Mount Maunagnui, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Great to hear that you guys enjoyed your experience with us! Thanks for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We ate here at around 11am on 28/12 and there were only 2 other people then. We ordered the chicken enchilada and a calamari taco and 2 beers. Both food selections were great - cooked perfectly and very tasty, cannot fault any aspect. They also provided 4 different hot sauces on the table to complement your dish if you need the extra kick. The restaurant looked clean & tidy as should be since the day was only beginning. The toilet was also clean and funky with all the decor etc. The server went back after a few minutes when we got our order to check if everything was good.

Only thing that could be improved was maybe on paying the bill or placing orders was that the servers be a bit more enthusiastic and friendly- a simple "where are you from, did you enjoy your meal?" or "how was everything?" would be appreciated. As when we went to pay it was pretty much hand us the tab and she goes "just check everything is correct" we ask to split the bill an she goes "that's $xx each" then off we go. None of the "thanks for coming, have a good day" stuff.
I hope not because they know they are rated high on TripAdvisor they are laxing on the service and making the food do all the talking (and yes they know TA because I heard one of them mention it to a customer). Also just because its probably mainly tourists who eat here, customer service should not be top notch as these are the people who would recommend the place or not.

Thank enzedwelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josh f, Owner at The Barrio Brothers Mount Maunagnui, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

I'm glad you loved the food, i'm sorry we didn't go the extra mile for you, we are working on it!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten Mexican food all over the world. This was the best. By far. Great value, big meals and everything we had was superb.

Thank kiwisaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josh f, Owner at The Barrio Brothers Mount Maunagnui, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014
Google Translation

Glad you enjoyed our restaurant!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barrio Brothers Mount Maunagnui also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to The Barrio Brothers Mount Maunagnui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing