We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service, great place.”

The Barrio Brothers Mount Maunagnui
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Dropped in mid week for an evening meal, the stuffed jalapenos were great tasting with a good hint of chilli. The homemade corn tortillas were superb and the pulled pork the best around! Go give it a go...better than their bigger 'flying brothers'. Well worth a visit.

Thank Getinmabelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josh f, Owner at The Barrio Brothers Mount Maunagnui, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank for the great feed back, I'm a massive fan of the pork myself!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

297 - 301 of 317 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

Best Mexican in town! Staff were friendly and inviting. cool little place with great atmosphere and yummy yum food!!!!!!!

Thank Canadiansausage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josh f, Owner at The Barrio Brothers Mount Maunagnui, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thanks for the great review, we are very lucky to have some really great people working for us, we certainly wouldn't be able to do it with out them. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We've been here a number of times and keep coming back. The food is consistently great. Highly recommend the chicken tacos. The margaritas are a little on the weak side though. We'll worth checking out this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nurserowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josh f, Owner at The Barrio Brothers Mount Maunagnui, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Thanks for the feedback, there will be a few change to the menu next week which is going to include a crispy chicken taco, its crazy good!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great little mexican restaurant.
Was in the area out of season and in bad weather so needless to say most restaurants in the area were quite empty, this place however was full and buzzing.
The food was delicious, the staff were friendly and attentive, service was fast.
I did personally find the food a little pricey for what it was but as I said it was good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Theo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josh f, Owner at The Barrio Brothers Mount Maunagnui, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Thanks for the review, we are lucky to have heaps of great locals that crave Mexican no matter what the weather is doing!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

I had my birthday celebration here a few nights ago. Had heard it was amazing so had high expectations. I was extremely impressed! The food was divine, the margaritas were delicious, the atmosphere was lovely. There were 20 of us and we were served really quickly. The only downside was the waitress wasn't that friendly, she never once smiled and it was a bit of a downer. Will most definitely be back- all of us loved the meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EmmaTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josh f, Owner at The Barrio Brothers Mount Maunagnui, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

I'm stoked that we lived up to your expectations. Thanks for your honestly about the service, we are really big our staff being friendly and happy and try to create a fun environment thats promote that, so I would like to apologize for our frowning friend and assure you its not the norm!
Thanks for the feedback, see you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barrio Brothers Mount Maunagnui also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to The Barrio Brothers Mount Maunagnui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing