We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osteria Mount Maunganui

Osteria Mount Maunganui
Ranked #16 of 102 Restaurants in Mount Maunganui
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Last week we took our elderly dad (who had never eaten Italian food and was very apprehensive) to Osteria. They were very obliging when dad asked for his veg to be well cooked and the end result was him cleaning his plate with gusto! Our meals were delicious; best marsala chicken I've ever eaten, and prices were good too. The pork belly was succulent and tender and the tiramisu fantastic. (I make a good one myself but this was better!)
I loved that you didn't pay for the vegies separately, as in so many places nowadays.
I only wish Osteria was in Australia!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwicurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    77
    26
    24
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great great great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Arrived early on Friday night excellent service, great food quick service great gourmet pizza other meals were generous sizes so come with a good aptitude Great atmosphere by 7.30 place was humming. Enjoyed evening very much. Put this on you to eat list well worth a visit

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“you need plenty of time to eat here!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

6 of us spontaneously went out for dinner on a Friday night. They were busy, but found us a spot quickly. The waitress was friendly and kept topping up our water. After 45 mins, we asked if our meal was coming. The waitress said it would be 2 mins. After an hour we were about to leave and explained this to the waitress, who spoke to the Maitrede. he avoided us all evening. After 1hr 30 mins, our meal arrived. We asked if we could have a free bottle of wine to placate us. This was agreed upon and came with our meal.
The food was very good when it came, although after such along wait some of us had lost our hunger! with good staff communication and better management of our situation the matter could have been dealt with in a better way. After initial filling of glasses of water, we were ignored.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maryrose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

excellent food, excellent service,
fantastic atmosohere. What else could you ask for. We highly recommend this great restaurant in Mount Maunganui

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BaywatchM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We came here with a group of friends on a really busy Saturday night. The staff hummed and hawed about whether they could accommodate us or not because it was so busy, but eventually decided they could.

The great things about this place were the atmosphere/decor and the speed at which the meals came out. The not-so-great things were that the restaurant was stifling hot (like, can't breathe towards the end of the meal hot), and the roasted veges were hard. The killer for me was the service though. Like I said, it was prompt, but the guy who was looking after our table lacking warmth, and I got the vibe he just wanted us to order, pay and get out. In saying that, the food was quite nice.

I would try this place again when it was less busy.

NB. My husband loved this place and thinks this review is unfair.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DGG00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Mount Maunganui also viewed

Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Osteria Mount Maunganui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing