We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food ok”

Osteria Mount Maunganui
Ranked #14 of 104 Restaurants in Mount Maunganui
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food ok”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Nice ambience & staff friendly but the food was fairly average & none of the deserts tempted me to try them.Who wants marmalade with their crime brûlée?

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Healthphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    84
    29
    24
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, not so great atmosphere”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We've been here 3 times and have loved the food. The service is also good, but all 3 nights they had the same terrible live music DVD playing on repeat all night. The coffee is also rubbish. Otherwise I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nurserowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food quality below expectations”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

On the good side the chicken pasta was superb, unfortunately the venison meat balls were raw in the middle and the steak, although a lovely piece of meat, was well over cooked. It must have been a bad night in the kitchen.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Classic genuine Italian food”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Liked the dining room ambience, staff service and great Italian cooking. We ordered the fettucini carbonara and a pizza - lovely, my husband and I were very pleased and we think it was truly worth the price.
Almost nothing to dislike really.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Puke, New Zealand
Level Contributor
121 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Could have been so much better”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

First off, when the main courses eventually turned up they were fantastic. An excellent balance of quality and quantity.
However, the problems came from the off - our largish group of 15 was split across 2 tables (great for team bonding!!) and right next to the roaring fireplace. Now, this is Mt Maunganui, there are very few nights when you are going to need a 4 ft wide gas powered flame thrower for it's heat, even if it creates a great ambience. This night, despite being the start of May, was definitely not one of them. It took 3 increasingly more vociferous complaints about the heat before it was turned off - perhaps that we where we went further wrong...
Drinks were slow coming, the girl who cleared glasses away wasn't the girl you could order your next drink from, 4 different wait staff appeared on various occasions... but worst of all was the wait - over an hour from when our breads were finished and cleared away before the first main courses appeared, nearly 20 minutes from the first to the last. Any thought of ordering dessert was squashed by the knowledge that it would be midnight before that arrived, so we decamped to the bar over the road and continued with a liquid meal!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Palmytaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Mount Maunganui also viewed

Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 

Been to Osteria Mount Maunganui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing