We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor attempt at Italian hospitality”

Osteria Mount Maunganui
Ranked #15 of 105 Restaurants in Mount Maunganui
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $26
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Poor attempt at Italian hospitality”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Overpriced for very substandard food. Several occasions where food was not hot and very plain having to order and pay for the usual things such as salad . Vegetables extra.
Service poor and the few times it is attempted pushy and obtrusive

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mattpaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    87
    30
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Very Good”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were a little dubious about dining here as we had read many of the bad reviews and had heard very mixed reviews. We met friends here who had booked for us so we didn't go here by choice, however we were very pleasantly surprised. The service was great, the surroundings and decor are wonderful and the food was excellent. The garlic bread is to die for. There were 6 of us dining and there were no complaints at all about the food. We didn't think that the prices were over the top either. Would certainly be keen to return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Looks better than it is”
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely looking establishment but sadly it doesn't live up to expectations. The portion sizes are quite big so you kinda get value for money but unfortunately there was no real flavour to the dish - I had the venison meatballs. Sadly I had to add a lot of salt, pepper & parmasean to the meal. Even a touch of fresh basil would of helped to what was an ok meal.
As for service - it's the basics & that is the clincher. A smile & interest on how the meal was would lift this rating & maybe convince you to try them again. All & all I'd say looks are deceiving & you'd be better off trying elsewhere if you are after an awesome experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jafachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

A very disappointing Italian meal, I expected a lot better for the price. Food was average and some staff (not all) appeared to have an in-different attitude.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank FlyingKiwisLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The spaghetti with clams was amazing (and it's BYO!) although the fish of the day was a little on the small side if you're hungry.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank brutasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Mount Maunganui also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 

Been to Osteria Mount Maunganui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing