We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment, plenty of room”
Review of The Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Anchorage
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed here just one night & would definitely consider again. I am not sure about the space available in all apartments however I was allocated a 2 bedroom suite that for a single gave me plenty of room to spread out & ideal for a family. The rooms & bathroom were clean & hotel very secure in terms of access control to lobby & accommodation area. The apartment was self-sufficient with large kitchen space if wanting to dine in & only concern was TV / instructions not as user friendly since the last guest had changed the default channel settings for Satellite TV, maybe something that should be checked by those preparing room for new guests to save a frustrating 20 minutes trying to resolve. Free street parking also a bonus although option for secure parking too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FCGC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 50 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in rm 104. It was lovely, spotlessly clean, looked like newly decorated, great appliances. This was a really good apartment for an awesome price. Walk across the road to the beach, round the corner to the bars and restaurants. And the owner or manager was really friendly too.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarejustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We booked at the last minute through Wotif & was expecting average accommodation for the price but was amazed at what we got. The apartment was immaculate - overlooking the pool and Pilot Bay.
The strip shops were around the corner, two blocks to the beach and Pilot Bay across the road; it was fanastic location.
The last time we stayed was about 2005? I don't know why we stayed at other accommodation in between but we'll certainly be back.
Staff were really friendly, the place was immaculately clean & tidy and onsite amenities were good. It was a sad to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed at the Anchorage for one night and booked into a suite Apartment. The apartment was situated on the ground floor and was adjacent to the next house in the road. There was an outside patio with table and chairs. I noticed that the curtains on the adjacent house were all drawn presumably for privacy as there were several apartments also adjoining them.
The apartment was of good standard furniture and fittings with good bathroom. There was a full complement of kitchen ware, Stove, pots pans crockery etc. There was a vent fan in the ceiling and a thermostat control in the bathroom but it wasn’t obvious if they were linked and there were no instructions.
The Apartments at the Anchorage are privately owned, bookings are managed through the main office who allocate the rooms. Security is very good with a swipe key for entry both to the building, rooms and garaging in the basement.
Situated near Pilot bay the Anchorage is well placed being close to the shops in the main street and about a 1km walk to the Mount.
The cost for one night was $148 however they have better rates for a minimum of two nights stay.

Room Tip: Was told that the two bedroom rooms are better and one level up. Bool for two nights to get better v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiJohn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Apartments are very good if you are away on business for a few days and would like a change from a hotel.
Staff helpful, location great for eating eat and close to the beach for swimming.

Rooms are equipped with everything you need, some are looking a little dated but well cared for.

I will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingKiwisLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here for a week on a business trip, and really enjoyed myself. The apartment was spacious and the staff all very friendly, and it is only a short walk to the beach (even though it was freezing at the time) and the main strip where the restaurants and shops are.

Recommended for a holiday stay or anything really.

A great experience!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveldreamerxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
Thank Dagmar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Maunganui hotels
0.7 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#11 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
6 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
140 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aquarius Motor Inn
Aquarius Motor Inn
#5 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seagulls Guesthouse
Seagulls Guesthouse
#2 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
119 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gateway Motor Inn
Gateway Motor Inn
#10 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage

Address: Cnr Salisbury Ave & Victoria Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Mount Maunganui
Price Range: $139 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Anchorage 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing