We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better...”
Review of Mount Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mount Backpackers
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Very centrally located along the main street, Maunganui Road, close to the shops and restaurants and beach. Cramped, I felt, with a 16 bed dorm and a bathroom with only 5 toilets and 3 showers for about 30 people. Didn't like the kitchen much - door was always open, so the room had flies all around it, which should be expected. Living room very small, not much room if several people want to sit or watch TV at the same time. Very noisy at night, though not entirely hostel's fault. Mostly due to people out on the street although people upstairs were quite noisy. Would choose a smaller dorm if visited again.

Room Tip: Not the 16 bed dorm.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Mount Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 72 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying in this hostel in January of this year, so this is one long overdue review. Although I only stayed one night in a 6 bed dorm I was very impressed. Two weeks earlier I spent just over a week on the Gold Coast in a hostel that was worlds apart. I was scared to have to go to another hostel after experiencing the filth of the hostel in the GC. BUT this hostel was amazing! So clean with the most friendly staff. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oscarthetraveller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

First of all what makes this hostel so great is its central location. Its close to the shops, the beach and the mount. everything is in walking distance but if you dont want to walk the hostel offers FREE bikes and helmets to go for a bike ride. that is something i didn't have in other hostels and a huge plus. the staff is very friendly and helpfull and the atmosphere relaxed. the facilities are clean. i would definitely recomend it and go back myself.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 640Annabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hostel is really clean and new, the staff was helpful and the location is great: minutes walk from the beach, the Mount and all the shops that you need! People are very friendly and if you need some help you'll certainly find it. I'll definitely go back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Claudio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

i was supposed to stay there for a week end, and after meeting all these people i stayed 5months.
i had the best time anyone can ever imagine having.
the staff is the best. the location is perfect, close to everything. it was my home for 5 months, i really miss it, and recommend it to everybody going to the Mount !!!!
I LOVED IT !

Room Tip: the 10 beds dorm has AC for the summer, it's amazing !
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexandra-antonini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart F, Owner at Mount Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Thanks Alex !! We miss you :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hostel was extremely clean and well-managed. Extremely close to a number of fantastic cafes, restaurants and bars - plus only a 5-10 minute walk to the beach and Mt Maunganui itself. Host was friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Stayed in double room #5 - on the end of the building so you have more light and.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart F, Owner at Mount Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thanks for your review, Much Appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed here for three nights. Really liked it. I stayed in a 16 bed dorm but the room was set up in a way that it didn't feel like a 16 bed dorm at all. Maybe 8. Staff was all very friendly and helpful. Great rates. Good value. Excellent location close to everything - most importantly - the beach and the mount!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart F, Owner at Mount Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thanks for your review, Much Appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
3.2 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#8 of 57 in Tauranga
309 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seagulls Guesthouse
Seagulls Guesthouse
#3 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Harbourside City Backpackers
0.1 mi away
Mission Belle Motel
Mission Belle Motel
#4 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
69 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers
Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpack...
#7 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Backpackers

Address: 87 Maunganui Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Mount Maunganui
Price Range: $26 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WIFI throughout hostel (unlimited high speed fibre), Surf lessons Backpackers special surfboard rental, bicycle rental (high quality Jamis bikes), newly refurbished! We offer the BEACH & SURF at your doorstep - a 2 minute walk to NZ's #1 beach. We are located right in town - seconds walk to an array of cafes, bars and restaurants! Welcome to our piece of PARADISE. We are a small, friendly, CLEAN & cosy hostel where everyone knows your name! Assistance with SEASONAL WORK all year round is given. Winter rates are available. We have a friendly staff who can help arrange all the Bay's best activities - skydiving, surfing, Hobiton tours. We can book Intercity and Mana bus tickets for you. We have Netflix and Apple TV, movie nights and a free BBQ for guests to use. Why stay out of town? Mount Backpackers is the place to be! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Mount Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing