We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food”
Review of Armazem Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Armazem Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: Brazilian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice food”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

A bit too loud and the language by the bar staff wasn't suitable for children! Porkies and pay tv available

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank kilana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    11
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice people but average food”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The service at this restaurant was great, but the food was quite expensive for what it was. We had a fish & a steak main and one had quite nice fish on a huge pile of mash and the steak was OK, but on a huge pile of plain white rice. The sauce on the steak was apparently traditional Brazilan, but was too little and not that tasty.

The fish cake entree was delicious but very expensive.

One desert was OK if nothing to write home about, and the other too sickly to eat. All in all, quite a pleasant place with really nice staff, but expensive, average food unfortunately.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diver201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brazilian food in a great restaurant”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is a great and beautiful place to go. The food is delicious and the atmosphere of the place is awesome.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank fernandafontenelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Different, quality food and heaps of fun”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We are always on the lookout for different dining experiences so we were intrigued as to what “Traditional Brazilian Cuisine” actually was! The fact that the chefs are Brazilian was a good start, so we were onto the real thing. The restaurant and bar has a focus on both indoor and outdoor dining and drinking. I say drinking because the outdoor are with huge slab timber tables and forms is the perfect place for a summer night out with friends in party mood.
The menu is typically at restaurant prices rather than bar snack rates with Tapas; Entrees, salads and burgers ($15 - $19); mains ($20 - $33 with $30 a common price); and desserts ($12). An extensive range of NZ and imported beers; cocktails and NZ and Australian wines.
Our waitress gave prompt, cheerful and attentive service with our orders taken and dishes arriving promptly. All meals were obviously freshly prepared and cooked to perfection. The actual servings were an average lunch size and maybe a little pricy, but they were quality.
When you go to Armazém be prepared for an authentic rustic Brazilian rural style décor and setting – dusty timber rather than chrome and glass. A pleasant restaurant and bar for a group of friends who want to eat, drink and be merry in an outdoor courtyard setting.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Winetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papamoa
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Reasonably tasty, great staff!”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

4 of us dined here on a Friday night. The menu is good but actually felt the food sounded better than it tasted. I had a chicken dish that was flavoured with 'passionfruit sauce'. Sounded great but the sauce was just ok and you wouldn't know it was passionfruit unless the menu said. Husband had surf and turf which he said was quite nice.Our dining companions said their meals were just Ok. We felt that at $32 for the surf and turf it could have been served with some greens asit was served just served with masha . Dessert was a little disappointing too. A banana dessert that was basically a warmed muffin with icecream and a Guava Cheescake, which tasted nothing like Guava!! The saving grace was the staff. Mostly Brazilian, although our waitress was from Belgium. They were so good, very attentive, friendly and eager to please. Can say that they were the best restaurant staff we have ever encountered. A pleasant atmosphere overall but a little noisy. Felt it was a little overpriced for what we received.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZaZaPapamoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Armazem Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing