We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely views of beach from outside seating” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Restaurant - CLOSED

Blue Restaurant
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
701 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Lovely views of beach from outside seating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I ate here tonight with friends while holidaying at the Mount. It is 2nd time we have eaten here for dinner. Previous time was in 2012. Restaurant is very handy to motorcamp we stay in. Meals are of a good size and were ok. Nothing to rave about, but not bad either. My daughter and I have eaten here for lunch and I think I prefer lunch menu. Pity we had several diners and a staff member who were constantly smoking from smoking area outside and on footpath next to restaurant. Smoke keep blowing our way.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Strickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Wonderful service from really pleasant staff who went out of their way for us both times arriving late for dinner with the kitchen about to close. Still served the best meals of our trip to NZ . Delicious delicious delicious.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank roger t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great, friendly service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had only light refreshments here. Food was good, one of the coffees was good the large coffee tasted as though they'd used the same amount of coffee as they would in a small.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kathleen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opotiki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“21st Birthday Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great service - very accommodating staff...yummy food. Family with 9 month hold had a high chair ready for them before they got to the table! Staff saw them coming & jumped into action!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raglan, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

An absolute must for breakfast, their breakfast platter is the best breakfast we have ever had! Yum.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank PennyBMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Restaurant also viewed

Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing