We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coffee at the Mount” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deckchair Cafe

Deckchair Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: telephone 07-572 0942
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Coffee at the Mount”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Lovely coffee and muffin after a walk up the Mount. Great location to watch the surf roll in and the people stroll by.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    61
    17
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Girls brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

The coffee is good and food is delish. Only thing that could do with improvement is the service. Smiles are important!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nzladybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location & good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just cycling through Tauranga stopped of for quick lunch. It was recommended by visitors from Auckland. It was just right great location overlooking beach & headland. Food,we had fish of the day very pleasant lots of fresh tasting fish with appropriate veg on the side. Nothing to fancy to detract from the view. "Oh" nearly forgot Gambo soup shared as starter very pleasant

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Redone7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food average service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We visited this cafe after a long trip down from Auckland. We picked it as it looked like it had a good atmosphere and it had seats available in the sun. We were very disappointed in the service - we had no acknowledgement on our arrival, my partner almost got kicked off our table when I was ordering inside, and we realised that we were the only table without a bottle of water after we finished our meals. We felt ignored. On the upside, the food was brilliant - I recommend the White and Light meal, it was delicious.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Coffee & Brekky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Pick of the bunch on the waterfron I think. Good service, friendly, smiling staff. Great food & coffee.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank steveinbyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deckchair Cafe also viewed

Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 

Been to Deckchair Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing