We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for lunch”
Review of Number 8 Cafe - CLOSED

Number 8 Cafe
Price range: $2 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: We regret to advise that No.8 Cafe, Restaurant & Bar, is now closed due to our lease expiring!!Thank you to all my supporters and regular customers over the past year it was so lovely to have you all come and enjoy our great range of food we had to offer. I wish you all well for the future and thanks again for your support. Regards Kirsty-Restaurant Owner/ Manager
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Had lunch here with my husband. Service was really good although I have to say that it was also very quiet at the time - maybe only a couple of others in the restaurant. Thought that the lunch menu was very basic, not a huge selection to choose from, but we had a steak sandwich and fish, both of which could not be faulted. The portions weren't huge but were definitely adequate for lunch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bronwen60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygirl8, Owner at Number 8 Cafe, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We are glad you had a nice lunch and great service, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to the next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great service and food”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

i really enjoyed my night. food was outstanding and service was really friendly. located in a nice lilttle spot under the pacific apartments away from the crowed beach front. waitress was really great explained the menu and suggested a nice bottle of wine.

Helpful?
Thank nzrocketman
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
baygirl8, Owner at Number 8 Cafe, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
I agree the locations great and our food is excellent too. I will definitely pass this feedback on to my staff. Thank you taking the time to write us feedback. I look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
129 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good food. Good Service. Good location”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The food was excellent, service was good, they were quite busy as it was a public holiday, but warned us of a slight wait on the food, but we were told upon arrival, which was good.
Had the lamb racks, which were fantastic, and a good wine selection.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygirl8, Owner at Number 8 Cafe, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
I agree our lamb rack dish is delicious, I'm glad you enjoyed your evening and I appreciate you feedback. It is always good to hear when my staff have delivered excellent service and kept the customers informed. we are always improving our service and we thank you for your feedback. We look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best buffet”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Totally loved this restaurant. Dined here while staying at the langham. I loved the whole experience of having my food cooked in front of me, and with so much variety and options you can try so many different foods.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not up to much”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Found this restaurant to be very disappointing. My husband thought we'd give it a try since it was close to where we were staying but guess we should have known by how empty it was that it wasn't going to be good. I was keen to try it as I have a group of friends to take out for dinner later this month and had thought Number 8 could be a good option. Well sadly it's not and we won't be going there. Our meal was very average and not at all what I would expect for the prices they charge (read not cheap!) Seafood chowder was so hot (seemed like it may have been nuked in the microwave) that it couldn't be eaten for ages and getting a burnt mouth was not a pleasant experience. Breads and dips were ok although nothing marvellous and scallop entree appeared to have had the scallops incinerated as they were barely recognisable, almost non existent. Chicken breast wrapped in bacon was the only enjoyable part of the meal. Dessert was dreadful, fruit salad with some sort of grainy custard (custard should always be velvety smooth!) and overwhipped cream in a cocktail glass that was nearly overflowing making it very difficult to eat. Not impressed and wouldn't rush back. Service from our young waitress was good and she was certainly trying hard but unfortunately it won't matter how hard she tries if the food isn't good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Glynnie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Number 8 Cafe also viewed

Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing