We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to much”
Review of Number 8 Cafe - CLOSED

Number 8 Cafe
Price range: $2 - $29
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We regret to advise that No.8 Cafe, Restaurant & Bar, is now closed due to our lease expiring!!Thank you to all my supporters and regular customers over the past year it was so lovely to have you all come and enjoy our great range of food we had to offer. I wish you all well for the future and thanks again for your support. Regards Kirsty-Restaurant Owner/ Manager
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not up to much”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Found this restaurant to be very disappointing. My husband thought we'd give it a try since it was close to where we were staying but guess we should have known by how empty it was that it wasn't going to be good. I was keen to try it as I have a group of friends to take out for dinner later this month and had thought Number 8 could be a good option. Well sadly it's not and we won't be going there. Our meal was very average and not at all what I would expect for the prices they charge (read not cheap!) Seafood chowder was so hot (seemed like it may have been nuked in the microwave) that it couldn't be eaten for ages and getting a burnt mouth was not a pleasant experience. Breads and dips were ok although nothing marvellous and scallop entree appeared to have had the scallops incinerated as they were barely recognisable, almost non existent. Chicken breast wrapped in bacon was the only enjoyable part of the meal. Dessert was dreadful, fruit salad with some sort of grainy custard (custard should always be velvety smooth!) and overwhipped cream in a cocktail glass that was nearly overflowing making it very difficult to eat. Not impressed and wouldn't rush back. Service from our young waitress was good and she was certainly trying hard but unfortunately it won't matter how hard she tries if the food isn't good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Glynnie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing start to 2013”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

On arrival we walked in to the staff sitting around almost looking with annoyance that one of them had to jump up and serve us. The lovely older lady served us and began to inform us that her daughter was the new owner. First round of drinks served and pretty much for the rest of the nite we had to go to the bar and ask for service of drinks. What was annoying was there were two other couples in the restaurant with staff sitting around doing nothing! Menu was boring and not much in offer and to top it off it took them nearly an hour to serve mains after entrees. We will NEVER be back for this bad service / experience and suggest the family stick to farming!! Ps the mains were good!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tpaurini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing deterioration, new management brings a poor change.”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Went to what was previously our favourite restaurant to find that it had changed management. Started badly with no cocktails on offer.....went for an off the shelf V&T... No lemon! The waitress was trying really hard but was clearly nervous. Piece of plastic found in one if our main courses....some apology and an offer of a free dessert but an expectation that we paid for the course because the plastic had not been found until the meal was nearly finished! Dessert menu was offered to two of the diners before the third had finished their main... Waitress also tried to clear while someone was still eating! Wine remained good. Bored staff sat around at the bar, scuttling away when customers approached. When I made a comment that I was unhappy to pay for a main with plastic in it, a sarcastic comment was mumbled by a member of staff.

Not the service I expect for a $250 meal. Will be looking for my new favourite restaurant. Guess I will need to try the old favourites again....

I am genuinely seriously disappointed by such a colossal deterioration of a once great eating place. I will not be going again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caveman1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawerau
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent food but need to pay a bit more attention to service”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Thank you for accomodating our late booking and creating a extra table for us. The waitress that looked after us the whole night was awesome and really good with our young children, bringing their food out with the entrees and letting them play with the toys in the corner while we finished our meal. Everyone enjoyed their meals and the food was very tasty. I ordered the scallops as a main but found it quite a small serve compared to the other size of the mains. The chocolate brownie for dessert topped off the whole night. We went to Latitude the previous night and had Brownie but for the price you pay there was a rip off would never go back there you get two tiny squares for $16! Your Brownie is better in every way as in taste and value for money and was worth the wait. Service was lacking just a tad, we had to keep asking for more water and dishes couldve been cleared more efficiently and there was just no sense of urgency by the chef to get the meals out quick. We were waiting quite a while for our mains and dessert. I looked over to the kitchen and the chef was happily casually chatting while prepping our meals that was the only downfall. Apart from that thank you for a pleasant and enjoyable family evening.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ntegra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Classy surprise.”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

It was a special occasion and was the first time we'd been to this restaurant underneath a highrise. The service was very personal, attentive, and the waiter (owner?) made excellent suggestions and gave great descriptions of what we could order. The food was first class, as was the recommended bottle of wine. A fantastic night out.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Merilynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Number 8 Cafe also viewed

Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing