We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mt Maunganui - Summit”

Mount Maunganui Summit Track
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.98*
and up
Mount Maunganui Self-Guided Audio Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mt Maunganui - Summit”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a great walk, a bit of a workout but fabulous views from the top. We also walked around the mountain this is a great walk for all ages and abilities and was great to see a well maintained and popular walk

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TazM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,868 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,501
    353
    11
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra AUS
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Paragliders provide entertainment”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A choice of great walking tracks around the mount, well maintained. You can choose the cruisey base track which accommodates prams and children. Challenging summit track affords stunning views and some entertainment from the many paragliders who sail down to MM beach. Allow 1 - 2 hours.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelabit_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“World class”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

There is a wonderful magic about this track-the days we were on it, it was being tramped by young and old and is an easy 3.4 km in length. If you are keen on nature and the ocean you will love this place.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magic view”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Best view in NZ, after a 25 minute walk to the top the views are panoramic then found the stairs easy on the way down

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank roger t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great walk”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had a beautiful day to do the walk around the mount which was on the same day as the half triathlon. Part of the course was around the mount and we passed a couple of the stragglers who began the race at 6.30am. Great views and if we had more time we would have done the summit walk.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ashfidav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Maunganui Summit Track also viewed

Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Mount Maunganui Summit Track? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing