We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Hotel Service in a B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Maunganui
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beachside Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5 Star Hotel Service in a B&B”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is a truly superb place to stay, whether it be for 1 night or for 1 month. I have been staying at 5-star hotels worldwide due to my previous job. What I had here is beyond my expectations of what a Bed and Breakfast is capable of doing. My son and I stayed here in Sep 2013 for 3 nights. It was originally supposed to be for 2 nights but with the superb hospitality of Jim and Lorraine, we decided to extend our stay. The room is immaculate and the location is so beautifully close to the sea. The breakfast set-up is amazing!! We had breakfast with the view of the sea.. the waves coming in to the beach and the sunlight gently streaming in ... The table setting for the breakfast resembles that of a 5-star hotel... the food is cooked to perfection.. the hot food appearing just when we were done with the cold starters (which comprises of cereal, muesli, yogurt, FRESH fruit salad).... we could sit there eating breakfast all day!
We will definitely stay there again if we are back in Mt Maunganui.

Room Tip: Rimu room if you are travelling with family: Large and comfortable with own porch and deck chair out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeSQTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank-you for the 5 star review! Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to seeing again on your next trip to NZ. Best regards, Jim & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
89
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife and I together with my wife's elderly father stayed for a few days in January 2013. Jim and Lorraine were magnificent hosts, making us feel as if it really was our home whilst we were there. Breakfasts, amazing, set us up for each day ad relaxing on the balcony really was relaxing. Just looking for an excuse to visit again.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thanks John for your great review and for choosing our bed and breakfast. Hope that you are all well down south. Looking forward to seeing you again. Best regards, Jim & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Jim and Lorraine are awesome hosts, I am grain free on a Paleo diet and they were fantastic, I had all I could ask for and caffeine free and they had everything I needed. The view is stunning the rooms are lovely, clean, private and you can see the beach even from the back room. It is close enough to town but not too busy, I have stayed all over the mount and Tauranga and this is outstanding value for money. I will be back for more as it is so cool to come back go to the guests lounge on the third floor open the doors sit on the deck and enjoy a glass of wine and stare at the sea. Handy to everything and they will help you get where ever you need to go.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked great the other two are on the ground floor you need to request the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hi Yvonne,
Thanks for the wonderful review. Looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards
Jim & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our stay here was almost 2 years ago (Nov 2011), but I still felt the need to write a review because it was so great. You cannot beat this location - steps (maybe 40-50 steps....really not far!) from the beach. A quiet room, a fantastic breakfast, easy parking, and great hosts who take such great care of their guests. There is no doubt that we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StCTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
WOW, Two years later, we must have made an impression on you. LOL
Thanks for the nice review.
Best regards
Jim & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Jim and Lorraine were great hosts and the property is in an excellent location just 50m back from the beach and a short drive to the shopping area.
The room was so clean, very comfortable bed, and the upstairs guest lounge the perfect place to enjoy a drink and relax.
The breakfast was fantastic, a great choice also. Thanks Jim and Lorraine if we return this will be our first choice to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zep66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks for the nice review. Hope that you do return to Mount Maunganui. It is a lovely area.
Regards
Jim & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

All the other reviewers have summed this up.A great place to stay at the Mount. Jim and Lorraine are consummate hosts and the property is in excellent condition. Never mind that its a bit of a walk to the Mount and the shopping area, with access to the beach what could be nicer than a leisurely day strolling round this beautiful place. My wife and I are Pomms and The Mount is one of our favourite places having visited here for the last 4 years . The last three years we have stayed in serviced apartments but we shall definitely be returning to the Beachside. Jims breakfast is excellent and he makes sure you get what you want . The view from the guest lounge is superb. You can't ask much more from a B & B.

Room Tip: Rimu room best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gblofield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful review. We agree with you Mount Maunganui is a fabulous place to visit (and for us to live in) Glad you liked the breakfast!.
Best wishes for you next travel adventure!
Jim & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The beachside bnb, is hosted by 2 great people, Jim and Lorraine made us feel most welcome, it was like staying with family.
The room and the service was second to none.
We would recommend this place to any one staying around the Mount area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thanks for your review Dave. We enjoyed having you stay with us. Hope to see you on your next visit.
Regards,
Jim & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
3.0 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
524 reviews
2.5 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,092 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
178 reviews
1.5 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
131 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seagulls Guesthouse
Seagulls Guesthouse
#3 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Bed & Breakfast

Property: Beachside Bed & Breakfast
Address: 21b Oceanbeach Road | Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Maunganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb location. Our modern sunny well appointed home has great sea views and is only 30 second’s from the beach. We are close to the action yet far enough away to be quiet. Our superb location makes a great start to a memorable holiday. We are here to help you to enjoy your stay and our locality. All 3 bedrooms have their own bathroom. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing