We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts in top notch B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Maunganui
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beachside Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts in top notch B&B”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed with Jim and Lorraine for 3 nights in December 2011. All the reviews sum it up, lovely people who will do all they can to help make your time in Mt Mauganui as good as they can. Wonderful breakfast in their top floor breakfast room overlooking the sea. Quite a walk upto the Mount itself, you'll probably want to drive instead of walk it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimsquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
89
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Family of four had four nights in the ground floor rooms - each with own en-suite and access to beach. Jim and Lorraine welcome you as if you were family from the start of your stay - friendly but not pushy. Local knowledge is great and they will discuss and advise your plans with you to suit your needs and likes. Free wifi and we also checked in online and printed out boarding passes for our trip home. Lorraine did some laundry for us including folding up when finished which was a big help at the end of our trip. Parking possibly a bit tight - but it is off road. Rooms are comfortable and well sized. Guest lounge on top floor has spectacular views of the Bay. Breakfast is relaxed including fruit, cereal, fresh baked bread, full cooked bacon, eggs etc (grilled not fried which we liked). Tariff too is very reasonable for such a great spot and fantastic service.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_bris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montauk
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We didn't get to spend much time with Jim and Larraine but in less than 24 hours they bent over backwards to help us. Perfect breakfast, great advice, happy to check the weather and give us maps, super comfortable room and absolutely great and gracious attitude.

Room Tip: We stayed downstairs in a room near the front door- the room was spacious and comfortable. Clean bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontaukTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montauk
2 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We didn't get to spend much time with Jim and Larraine but in less than 24 hours they bent over backwards to help us. Perfect breakfast, great advice, happy to check the weather and give us maps, super comfortable room and absolutely great and gracious attitude.

Room Tip: We stayed downstairs in a room near the front door- the room was spacious and comfortable. Clean bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seminence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

This was our second visit to Jim and Marilyn and last year, our son stayed here too. The hosts are unfailingly helpful and gracious. We arrived to coffee and delicious nibbles, both savoury and sweet. Breakfasts are made to order and include a wonderful fruit salad, vanilla bean yogurt, cereals, toast, three kinds of jam, followed your choice of a hot freshly cooked breakfast. Great coffee as befits a good New Zealand establishment. Very flexible for time for breakfast too.

The guest lounge has tea and coffee making facilities, and is one of the best rooms of the house, as it leads out to a balcony that looks out to beautiful Mt. Maunganui beach. You can have this view from the breakfast table as well. There is a fridge, too, so we could store our picnic food. There are comfortable armchairs in which to relax with a book, or look at the menus for the local restaurants. We ate at Ajo's each night as we were there Tuesday and Wednesday, and those nights there is a $10 special for small but adequate plates of pizza or pasta.

The access to the beach is very easy as it is a pretty well flat path and a two minute walk from the house. Once you come back, there is a place to wash off your feet and hang up wet bathing suits and towels.

My son had a crisis with a tooth infection, and Jim was able to scan his x-rays to our dentist in Calgary to review. This saved us finding someone to do it in town. Many thanks.

Regarding the concerns of the poor review on TripAdvisor, the water noise problem has been totally addressed by a gentle request to not shower before 7:00 am. and after 10:00pm.

In short, this B and B is great value, the hosts have literally thought of everything, and is so close to the beach. It certainly will continue to be my choice any time I am in Mount Maunganui.

Room Tip: Any room is fine in this B and B. The least expensive is upstairs on the main level. The other two a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank insatiabletraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We had a great stay and the hosts went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed. Beautiful house right on the beachfront, fabulous breakfast - wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Jim and Lorraine were the perfect hosts, always extremely helpful and caring. The breakfast was beautiful, the room was clean and well furnished, the guest lounge has a great seaview. I cannot think of anything that could be improved - this place is perfect as is. A very professional although unique place to stay in the Bay of Plenty area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miguel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
3.0 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
522 reviews
2.5 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,087 reviews
4.7 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
194 reviews
1.5 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
129 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Bed & Breakfast

Property: Beachside Bed & Breakfast
Address: 21b Oceanbeach Road | Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Maunganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb location. Our modern sunny well appointed home has great sea views and is only 30 second’s from the beach. We are close to the action yet far enough away to be quiet. Our superb location makes a great start to a memorable holiday. We are here to help you to enjoy your stay and our locality. All 3 bedrooms have their own bathroom. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing