We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Maunganui
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Maunganui Beachside Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We had a beachside powered site for our motorhome...the spot was absolutely fantastic what with less than 10m from the beach... The facilities are very clean and there is even free wi-fi internet (no internet kiosk or games room).
Dont expect privacy/security however, as this is a very popular spot for both park and the public that are passing your site continually as they walk and jog the board walk and tracks around the 'mount' - so you will hear chatter and the thunk-thunk- thunk of joggers on the timber boardwalk from sunrise to sunset... This didnt phase us one minute as it really added to the vibe of this special little area. Highly recommend this campsite to those with children and teenagers where they can play and explore outdoors...otherwise if you love to be lulled by the sound of waves on the beach, then this is the spot!
We would go here again without a doubt!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MudskipperNQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 112 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2011

Right on the beach w the mountain behind you and the facilities are better then a hotel.
Would definately go back and highly recommend it to anyone in this part of the world

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bott23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I have just paid our deposit for another summer holiday at the camp. We have had family holidays here for over 25 years now and think it is great! Our children 19, 21, 23 still enjoy coming along also!
The current staff are so friendly and helpful. We have made many friend there over the years. And look forward to meeting up with many of them each year.
The new facilities that were built a few years ago and a big improvement. Yes, button on showers can be a bit frustrating, but you get used to it. We stay for 5 weeks each Xmas Holidays.
The end of our holiday this year we unfortunately got flooded out, with water about to come in caravan, BUT this hasn't put us off friom returning again this year. In fact it is our favourite holiday - going overseas is great, but going to the Mount camp is relaxing!

Thanks to all staff for running a great camp.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Strickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

My husband and I spent a week travelling around the North Island in a motor home. We had planned to spend our third night in Tauranga but were not impressed with the parks we found there. We were extremely happy to keep driving and stumble across Mount Maunganui, and particularly this park. It's in a great location, close to shops and the beach. As it was the middle of Winter, we had no trouble turning up late afternoon and getting a powered site with a great view of the beach and close to amenities. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Whilst we did not use the kitchen facilities, they appeared to be spacious and clean. The bathrooms were modern and also clean, with hairdryers provided in both the male and female bathrooms. The only complaint about the showers was the fact you had to keep hitting the button every 30 seconds to get water, but that is a minor issue.
Our only disappointment was that a lot of shops and restaurants were closed but I'd say this was more to do with the season we were travelling.
We'd definitely come back to Mount Maunganui and would recommend this park.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NellyC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

We stayed one night at this holiday park. We got a beeachfront site for our campervan. Beachfront sites are right next to a boardwalk, thus, sites could lack little bit of privacy as people walk right by your campervans. Park facilities were clean. Friendly staff. We paid $30/2 people, and we got a $10 refund as we returned the magnetic key that allows entry to park facilities. Good deal, good location. There are several restaurants across the street.
An added bonus was that the salt water hot pools are also next door and park guests receive a discount for enjoying the pools.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorontoTraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Stayed in this several times, but the last stay will be the last. I paid for two days in advance. We decided to leave early since the storm was loud and kept us up all night. The following morning I went to check out and the attendant told me she could not refund me for the second day THAT I DIDN'T USE. She said that there's a sign at the front desk saying you can't cancel any reservations. That is fine IF I had reserved a spot and decided not to use it, so someone else could use it, BUT I wasn't costing the company any money out of lost revenue if someone could replace my spot. The WHOLE place was completely EMPTY. There were acres not even used. The company has a policy of blatantly stealing money entrusted to them, and passing it off as 'weather'. If I go to the movies and buy two tickets, and if my wife gets sick and wants to wait in the car, I can get a refund for her ticket, SINCE SHE DIDNT USE IT. Outright THEFT and DISHONESTY. I WILL NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH THIS PLACE AGAIN!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank some1uno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Reviewer: TripAdvisor member, Whangarei, NZ
Date: August 2010
We have just returned from an extended weekend at the Beachside Motorcamp at Mt Maunganui. We had a beachfront site which afforded lovely views across the Bay of Plenty and down the coast. The camp is set out on several levels and caters for all sorts of campers - tents, caravans, RVs, etc. Amenities have recently been upgraded and are excellent. There are small shops - superettes and the like just outside the camp gate and the large shopping centre is about 10 minutes walk. For the most part of our stay, the weather was fantastic and we took advantage of this to make the walk to the top of the Mount itself. It's a fairly steep climb but the 360 degree views from the top make every step worthwhile. Alongside the camp are fabulous hot salt water pools of varying sizes and temperatures - just what we needed on a cool winter evening! We loved out stay here and would definitely recommend it to fellow campers.

2  Thank wendhmagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Maunganui hotels
1.4 mi away
Seagulls Guesthouse
Seagulls Guesthouse
#2 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
183 reviews
2.6 mi away
Blue Wave Motel
Blue Wave Motel
#12 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mount Backpackers
Mount Backpackers
#14 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
77 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
135 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Reef Beachfront Apartments
The Reef Beachfront Apartments
#1 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Maunganui Beachside Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Maunganui Beachside Holiday Park

Address: 1 Adams Avenue, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Mount Maunganui
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mount Maunganui Beachside Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the base of the mountain (Mauao)on both ocean and harbour beaches next to the boat ramp, cafes and the famous Hot Salt Water Pools. Visitor Information Centre on-site. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing