We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over 25 years of Camping here - It's a Great Place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Maunganui
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Maunganui Beachside Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
716 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Over 25 years of Camping here - It's a Great Place!”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I have just paid our deposit for another summer holiday at the camp. We have had family holidays here for over 25 years now and think it is great! Our children 19, 21, 23 still enjoy coming along also!
The current staff are so friendly and helpful. We have made many friend there over the years. And look forward to meeting up with many of them each year.
The new facilities that were built a few years ago and a big improvement. Yes, button on showers can be a bit frustrating, but you get used to it. We stay for 5 weeks each Xmas Holidays.
The end of our holiday this year we unfortunately got flooded out, with water about to come in caravan, BUT this hasn't put us off friom returning again this year. In fact it is our favourite holiday - going overseas is great, but going to the Mount camp is relaxing!

Thanks to all staff for running a great camp.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    32
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
51
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

My husband and I spent a week travelling around the North Island in a motor home. We had planned to spend our third night in Tauranga but were not impressed with the parks we found there. We were extremely happy to keep driving and stumble across Mount Maunganui, and particularly this park. It's in a great location, close to shops and the beach. As it was the middle of Winter, we had no trouble turning up late afternoon and getting a powered site with a great view of the beach and close to amenities. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Whilst we did not use the kitchen facilities, they appeared to be spacious and clean. The bathrooms were modern and also clean, with hairdryers provided in both the male and female bathrooms. The only complaint about the showers was the fact you had to keep hitting the button every 30 seconds to get water, but that is a minor issue.
Our only disappointment was that a lot of shops and restaurants were closed but I'd say this was more to do with the season we were travelling.
We'd definitely come back to Mount Maunganui and would recommend this park.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NellyC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

We stayed one night at this holiday park. We got a beeachfront site for our campervan. Beachfront sites are right next to a boardwalk, thus, sites could lack little bit of privacy as people walk right by your campervans. Park facilities were clean. Friendly staff. We paid $30/2 people, and we got a $10 refund as we returned the magnetic key that allows entry to park facilities. Good deal, good location. There are several restaurants across the street.
An added bonus was that the salt water hot pools are also next door and park guests receive a discount for enjoying the pools.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoTraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Stayed in this several times, but the last stay will be the last. I paid for two days in advance. We decided to leave early since the storm was loud and kept us up all night. The following morning I went to check out and the attendant told me she could not refund me for the second day THAT I DIDN'T USE. She said that there's a sign at the front desk saying you can't cancel any reservations. That is fine IF I had reserved a spot and decided not to use it, so someone else could use it, BUT I wasn't costing the company any money out of lost revenue if someone could replace my spot. The WHOLE place was completely EMPTY. There were acres not even used. The company has a policy of blatantly stealing money entrusted to them, and passing it off as 'weather'. If I go to the movies and buy two tickets, and if my wife gets sick and wants to wait in the car, I can get a refund for her ticket, SINCE SHE DIDNT USE IT. Outright THEFT and DISHONESTY. I WILL NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH THIS PLACE AGAIN!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank some1uno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
280 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Reviewer: TripAdvisor member, Whangarei, NZ
Date: August 2010
We have just returned from an extended weekend at the Beachside Motorcamp at Mt Maunganui. We had a beachfront site which afforded lovely views across the Bay of Plenty and down the coast. The camp is set out on several levels and caters for all sorts of campers - tents, caravans, RVs, etc. Amenities have recently been upgraded and are excellent. There are small shops - superettes and the like just outside the camp gate and the large shopping centre is about 10 minutes walk. For the most part of our stay, the weather was fantastic and we took advantage of this to make the walk to the top of the Mount itself. It's a fairly steep climb but the 360 degree views from the top make every step worthwhile. Alongside the camp are fabulous hot salt water pools of varying sizes and temperatures - just what we needed on a cool winter evening! We loved out stay here and would definitely recommend it to fellow campers.

Helpful?
2 Thank wendhmagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
1.4 mi away
Seagulls Guesthouse
Seagulls Guesthouse
#4 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
7.3 mi away
Papamoa Beach Resort
Papamoa Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Papamoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cosy Corner Holiday Park
Cosy Corner Holiday Park
#3 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#3 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capri On Pilot Bay
Capri On Pilot Bay
#5 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Maunganui Beachside Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Maunganui Beachside Holiday Park

Property: Mount Maunganui Beachside Holiday Park
Address: 1 Adams Avenue, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Mount Maunganui
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mount Maunganui Beachside Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the base of the mountain (Mauao)on both ocean and harbour beaches next to the boat ramp, cafes and the famous Hot Salt Water Pools. Visitor Information Centre on-site. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing