We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but ask about the apartment you book”

Atlas Suites & Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Atlas Suites & Apartments
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location but ask about the apartment you book”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment here. The number of the room was 120. This is important information as our bedroom had a bedroom that had no natural light, only light borrowed from the hallway -open to the outside atrium area. We coped ok with this by joking it was the vole (small underground creature) sleeping quarters.
The rest of the apartment was definitely fine with a nice deck which got morning sun.
Very central location in terms of the beach, access to lots of different walking options-we are keen walkers- and good range of cafes. The people managing the apartments were friendly and pleasant, but couldn't change the room we were in as apparently there was only one other one bedroom apartment, and this was taken. I assume it didn't have an "inside" bedroom but do specifically ask.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fleur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
17
25
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We booked our room through Travelbug before Chirstmas. We went to Tauranga at 28th of December 2012 for 2 days and 1 night. The Apartment is modern and clean. The beds are comfortable. It had 3 bedrooms and 2 bathroom, good space for a big family. The location is good too, you do not have to find a car park at beach side, just park in the underground car park of the apartment and walk to the beach. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BorClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was an apartment located between the main shops/pubs, the surf beach and the harbour. The hot pools are an easy 5min stroll as is the actual mountain. The apartment was nicely appointed but had a few things that needed tidying up, small things like the frying pan was broken so unusable, the bin was broken, the oven has no instructions and was a weird model and was dirty on the inside. The main issues were actually the noise from the street below every night because its the main route to the pubs, the noise was from walkers and lots of boy racers. The owners were new and lovely people but there was a few issues to sort out before we would stay again. The rooms had no air con and were actually unhealthily hot, un-sleep able. A little pricey, for this price we expected it it faultless.

Room Tip: No pool or gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SashAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gisborne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We got a 2 bedroom apartment which was lovely. It was clean, tidy, warm, quiet and had everything we needed. The managers were so lovely and friendly and helpful. Location is brilliant, a short walk to shops, restaurants, the beach and the pools. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gissygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Atlas is close to the beach. The apartments are a bit rundown with dirty showers and paint peeling from the walls. The bed was broken and required us to move the mattress to the lounge where we slept on the mattress on the floor. The number provided to contact in this situation was disconnected. The next day the manager said it had happened before and then shrugged it off and said you have paid the bill and there is nothing we can do. Very poor service. Perfect place to stay if all the park benches in town are taken.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lachie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mount Maunganui hotels

Whitianga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
127 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband is at Mt. Maunganui on business and staying here currently. The apartment is warm and comfortable and kept clean. It has all of the usual ammenities, however an oven would be good. The Front Desk couple had just started and they are lovely and welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dive_revive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
234 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed in accessible 2 b/r unit whilst visiting family in the Mount. Second bedroom quite small but more than adequate. The apartment was clean & comfortable, kept lovely & warm, in a good central location and peaceful for a good night’s sleep. The owners were friendly & welcoming. Will definitely return here again when next I need to be in the area.

Room Tip: Accessible unit is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldandnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Maunganui hotels
0.1 mi away
The Atrium Apartments
The Atrium Apartments
#5 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Calais Mount Resort
Calais Mount Resort
#11 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Capri On Pilot Bay
Capri On Pilot Bay
#5 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel
Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hot...
#9 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas Suites & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Suites & Apartments

Property: Atlas Suites & Apartments
Address: 49 Maunganui Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Mount Maunganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlas Suites & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Atlas Suites & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing