We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seagulls Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2010

Having problems finding one night, at a reasonably priced Motel, I decided to try a 'guest house' not far from where we were intending to visit. Excellent price for something so handy to the beach & shops & over the road from a massive sports ground. Only 3 parking spaces on the property, however, there is plenty of parking out the gate & plenty of shade trees for the car.
The reception on arrival from Sue was very friendly & apologetic, asking if we would mind being moved from our family room we booked as she had people in there who decided to stay on another night. If we would rather, there were no problems for this other couple to move. Being in the game & knowing what an unnecessary hassle to strip & clean etc, I said it wasn't a problem for us to have other rooms. We were in an ensuite double with a twin for the grandchildren next door so no dramas at all as they are 11 & 12.
The shower room was opposite with 2 more toilets so all very convenient. Everything was impeccably clean, (once again, having a motel we are quite 'picky' you could say) our hosts were lovely & friendly, the large kitchen/dining was beautiful & sunny with all windows & doors open for fresh air the whole time. When we arrived back that evening the children sat & played chess in the very spacious lounge/TV room while I got comfy with the many magazines & small library that was provided.
There were a few other guests who came & went without any interruption to us or others, everything was very quiet after 10pm & we had a lovely comfortable night. Plenty of room in the kitchen in the morning when a few were organising their breakfasts so nobody in the way of anyone else. I would definately stay here again although I would not recommend this for children if you were spending more time at the accommodation. Our grandchildren found it as lovely as we did as we only needed a nice place to relax, a good shower, & a nice clean comfy bed, all of which we got!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 119 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Susi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
Thank Cata T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeagullsTheMount, Owner at Seagulls Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Emma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kostek k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeagullsTheMount, Owner at Seagulls Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Jorge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeagullsTheMount, Owner at Seagulls Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eugemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeagullsTheMount, Owner at Seagulls Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
2.1 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,155 reviews
2.7 mi away
ArtHouse Accommodation Boutique Backpackers
6 mi away
Papamoa Beach Resort
Papamoa Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Papamoa
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers
Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpack...
#4 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
140 reviews
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Academy
Comfort Inn Academy
#15 of 57 in Tauranga
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagulls Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagulls Guesthouse

Address: 12 Hinau Street, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Mount Maunganui
Price Range: $52 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seagulls Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy, Comfortable, Affordable Mount Maunganui accommodation. Close to beaches and shops in a quiet street next to Blake Park. The privacy of your own room with all the fun and friendliness of communal facilities. Doubles, twins, singles, family rooms with private or shared bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Seagulls Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing