We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly hosts, light filled rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seagulls Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seagulls Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly hosts, light filled rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Lovely place. Clean, light filled bedrooms (small, but that's all you need for the price). Great big kitchen and living room. We came back and stayed a second time at the end of our trip. Friendly, happy owners.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeagullsMtMaunganui, Owner at Seagulls Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    33
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
45
20
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

This place was impeccably clean and very spacious. I stayed here with a travel buddy I had met, and we got a 3 bed dorm and ended up being the only ones in it. While a nice place, it didn't have much of a community feel, perhaps because it wasn't quite full. It was also a fair distance from the town center, although a short walk to the beach. It's good if you're looking for a quiet break. The hosts were very nice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank surf207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeagullsMtMaunganui, Owner at Seagulls Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
We are situated in a quiet side street, an easy 12 minute walk to the main Mount Shops.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

We stayed in both the bed and breakfast and the holiday flat and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were really clean and very comfortable. The Hosts were extremely kind and helpful. We think they could charge alot more, as the rate was very cheap and even cheaper than some Youth hostels we stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tdheritage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeagullsMtMaunganui, Owner at Seagulls Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thansk for your comments and rating . We do try our best to provide good value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

Though not necessarily the closest to the city center (it's a 20 minutes walk to the Mount), we really enjoyed our stay at the Seagulls. Everything was very clean and the hosts are really friendly. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrKaefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
269 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Once again we spent a couple of days at this lovely guest house & once again everything was just as lovely as the first visit. The cost is very reasonable & our room, which was complete with ensuite, had everything we needed. The room was spotlessly clean & the bed was so lovely & comfy. Once again we were able to prepare & eat breakfast in the lovely large sunny kitchen/dining room where everything is convenient & clean for preparation of your meals.
This guest house is small & friendly with a great location close to the beach, shops & opposite a large park.
It is a real credit to the owners.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeagullsMtMaunganui, Owner at Seagulls Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

I stayed at Seagulls for 2 nights in a shared room and was quite lucky that there were no other roommates. So I had the entire room for myself, which was pretty cool.

I don't know how many shared rooms they have, but on that floor where I stayed, there was only 1 shower with the toilet and 1 separate bathroom. So I imagine if the guesthouse is full, there'll be a queue for the shower and toilet. Not nice if you're in a rush in the morning for some tour or activity.

The heater in my room (I stayed in the room #1) didn't work. But luckily it wasn't that cold, so I used an extra blanket they provided. In the evenings it got a little bit noisy, but not too much. Although the guesthouse was only half full and if there are more people, it might be an issue for light sleepers. If you are one of them, then get some ear plugs :)

For clean freaks like me (LOL), this place is spotless!!! Seriously! The kitchen and common areas, especially shower and bathroom are very clean and tidy. Overall, I think the hosts are doing a great job.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siberianchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeagullsMtMaunganui, Owner at Seagulls Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
We only have 2 share rooms and if you had walked up the hallway further you would have found more toilets and showers.There is rarely an issue of waiting for a toilet or shower. You said it wan't cold and that is exactly why the heater did not work. The heaters all work on a thermostat so they only work when the temperature is cooler. You were in the room right next to the dining room. We have 13 other rooms that are all really quiet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

We highly recommend this place as it is quiet, very clean, great value and friendly owners.
It fitted perfectly into what we were looking for- accommodation and little nicer than the average backpacker, but still very reasonably priced. Walking distance to the shops of the Mt and in a quiet street with very confortable lounge complete with easy rocker chairs. The sunny dining room with the dishwasher in the kitchen was very much enjoyed. The owners have done a great job doing up the place and were very helpful with information and advice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fishm0nger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
2.5 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#7 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
2.1 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers
Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpack...
#8 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#3 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aquarius Motor Inn
Aquarius Motor Inn
#7 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagulls Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagulls Guesthouse

Property: Seagulls Guesthouse
Address: 12 Hinau Street, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Mount Maunganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Seagulls Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy, Comfortable, Affordable Mount Maunganui accommodation. Close to beaches and shops in a quiet street next to Blake Park. The privacy of your own room with all the fun and friendliness of communal facilities. Doubles, twins, singles, family rooms with private or shared bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Seagulls Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing