We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By the Kiwi Seaside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pacific Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The apartments at this cozy seaside settlement are an easy way to enjoy the delights of the Bay of Plenty. Clean and comfortable, they offer easy access to many scenic areas. The Pacific is in a quiet street, within walking distance of the town. Maunganui itself has a delightful Italian restaurant as well. The Pacific allowed me to stop over for a night before a series of business meetings the next day. Quite an oasis actually!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a higher level
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geraldq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
There are newer reviews for The Pacific Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 198 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

Needing a break after a tough winter, we thoroughly researched to find a quality apartment at ok price at The Mount for two adults, an eight year old and a baby. The Pacific appeared to fit the bill despite the previous single negative review. On arrival we were very pleasantly surprised the photos are a very accurate depiction (some hotel pics are deceptive!) . The apartment had fantastic views 180 degrees or more from port to mount and beach, located on the fourth floor. The space is well designed with the two bedrooms separated by the main living space. The complex does have one bed studios and three bed apartments as well but the two bed suited us perfectly, as baby could be with us with a large bedroom space. Clean and tidy bathrooms, and well appointed kitchen with everything working. Comfy sofas, laundry in room and nice heavy blackout drapes and decent sized aircon unit (all things every hotel should have really!!!) The managers were friendly and helpful, when they weren't stuck on the phone! Seems they had promoted a grab one voucher deal which we sadly had not seen but we felt the pacific's own website winter hot deal of $250 per night was a very fair price when we compare to many other apartments we have stayed in in tourist locations in NZ. Not sure if we would have got the great room, 407, if we had been on a voucher!?
Great location 3 minute walk to main shopping area of the mount, one minute to hot pools and cares, two mins to the beach. Hard to fault.
We will be back.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank LouLouThruAndThru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were upgraded to a 2 bed apartment with a bath (standard ones have showers only).
Fantastic location, friendly staff, gorgeous rooms, nice spa and pool downstairs. Walking distance to the mount, beach and nightlife

Room Tip: Corner suites are huge and worth the money.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We have stayed at the Pacific 3 times. The last time was extremely disappointing. We had booked a particular apartment over the phone but when we got there were told we could not have it because the people in it had decided to stay longer. We had taken friends with us and had chosen this particular apartment, that we had stayed in before, because of the sea and port views. The people in charge were quite rude and very unhelpful. I feel service is very important and we certainly did not get good service at all. They were very unfriendly! Quite different from when we had stayed there again. We will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in Feb and loved The Pacific. We had a 2 bedroom apartment facing the harbour - the view was fantastic (although would recommend a higher floor if possible, try for 4th floor or higher)...ships coming and going all day and night, lights flickering, and lovely sunsets in the evening.
The apartments are very well equipped, and everything was clean and new. The pool was lovely too - perfect temperature (but very deep).
The only negative would be that the apartment was VERY hot and stuffy, sometimes even with the air con turned right up. We were able to open the door to balcony from our room, but I think the second room would've got very stuffy (no windows).
I'd say they could be quite noisy during peak times as well.
But we would definitely return here - the location is fantastic...just a few steps to the beach, cafe's, Mount walking track, shops, restaurants etc. The apartment wasn't exactly cheap, but it seems that nothing is in that area, and I think they give better rates if you stay longer. At first we thought the price was ridiculous (but didnt have much choice as everything seemed to be booked out when we were there), but I'd say it was actually worth what we paid, we loved staying there.

Room Tip: Get as high up as you can - 4th floor or higher. The side apartments are much nicer than the corner...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngelaDickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Fantastic apartment located right by the Mt and 1 block from the beach. We had a 1 bedroom apartment with ocean views (Room 402) which was fully equipped, clean and nicely decorated. The shower was fantastic! Comfortable beds, spacious rooms. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelleykiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed here for one night towards the end of our month long holiday in New Zealand. We booked through the i site and requested a luxurious one bedroomed unit as it was our last night before returning to Auckland and home and we definitely got it here. We had fantastic views from our balcony and the bathroom was superb. We didn't eat in but had dinner in the restaurant and it was good. We were sorry we didn't have breakfast there next morning as we didn't enjoy the food where we did eat. Yes it was expensive but worth it for a treat.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank book99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
3.0 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,102 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Atrium Apartments
The Atrium Apartments
#6 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
122 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
180 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
134 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Reef Beachfront Apartments
The Reef Beachfront Apartments
#1 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pacific Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pacific Apartments

Address: Pacific Apartments 8 Maunganui Road | Mount Maunganui, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Maunganui
Price Range: $157 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pacific Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pacific is located a short stroll from both Pilot Bay and the Mount's Main Beach, and 60m from the base of the Mount and the renowned hot salt-water pools. The Pacific Apartments offer guests a new type of luxury not yet experienced at the mount. With accommodation ranging from spacious hotel-style rooms through to luxury 4-bedroom superior apartments, all with stylish master ensuites, fully equipped kitchens and laundries and finished with modern furniture, The Pacific is a true reflection of quality accommodation. Completing the picture of total comfort are extensive views through floor to ceiling glass, large private decks and individual air-conditioning along with services including wireless internet, Sky TV, on-site gym, pool, and spa. A short drive takes you to five major golf courses, Tauranga Airport, Tauranga city and some fantastic wineries. The city shuttle bus stop is also just a 2 minute walk away. Location, location, location Well-equipped conference facilities are also available for exclusive conferences, private dinners or boutique weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Pacific Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing