We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveler rating
32
17
10
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
17
10
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshort walk to the beachquiet locationsurf boardsplenty of spacefree wifivillaunitsupermarketkitchenmtkiwitaurangalaundryeateriesaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 64 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Simple and clean spacious accommodation, in a QUIET street 100 metres from the beach, and 2 min walk from a good Thai takeaway. I experienced no street noise( all units are on the same frontage, so would be the same for all). And I loved the big shower. 5 min from the airport, but tucked away from major traffic was a real plus for me. When I needed extra time on the last day Nigel was only too happy to accommodate. Very Happy!! I would recommend wholeheartedly, and intend to revist.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Really enjoyed our 2 night stay here at this clean, well run motel with very kind hosts. Its on a quiet street, just a short walk to beach, fish & chips place, convenience store and bottle shop. The suites are very large for the price and well outfitted. Wished we could have stayed longer. Very young family friendly. We had a car, but if not would be a longish walk to large grocery or central stores.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maypikanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

My husband and I spent 1 night in this small and friendly family-run motel during a road trip in February 2012. Our parking bay was right outside the room which was spacious, clean, and tastefully decorated,with a very well-equipped kitchen. The WIFI was easy to use and not time-limited as in some larger motels we stayed in. It was situated in a quiet location with only a short stroll to the beach. We would definitely stay in this motel again and would have no hesitation in recommending it. Many thanks to Nigel and Kanako for a lovely stay.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jan and Toe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

In Jan 2012 our family has spent 2 nights at Blue Wave Motel, which is clean and well-appointed. We are particularly impressed with the friendliness of the host couple and their personal touch. It is a very pleasant experience staying at the motel and we would like to also recommend it to our friends when they would make a holiday to Mt Maunganui in future :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LWW S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Our family of four stayed here for 2 nights. The room was very spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet. Large full function kitchen, large bath, kitchen table, laundry, nice TV, and most important, a super short walk to a beautiful stretch of beach. The motel is very family friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Owners Nigel and Kanako are what moved my rating of the stay and motel from four to five star. They were more than accommodating and helpful, getting us whatever we needed through our visit. We rented a nice surfboard and boogie board from Nigel and Kanako and could walk to a nice break directly from the Blue Wave. Don't miss the stunning dawn patrol at Mount! Nigel can answer your surf questions while you're here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews