We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
113
43
6
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
113
43
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath heat pump comfortable bed great location free wifi meal options burger fuel friendly and helpful owners walking distance small fee main road shops and restaurants minute walk excellent room sky tv small kitchen only stayed one night
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 164 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2019

Only stayed one night and found the owner of the motor inn nice/welcoming. The bed was of good quality and the room clean. Our room was on the ground floor and so the outlook was looking at the main road however, not a problem. Also it was cheaper booking direct with the motor inn.

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank JosNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywatchM, Owner at Baywatch Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Thanks for the review and we hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019

Stayed at Baywatch for a night during a business visit to Tauranga. The location of the motel is decent, about a 10 minute walk from the central main strip of Mount Maunganui side. As a colleague checked-in and out on behalf of me, I did not have the chance to deal with staff directly, but I do note that in the evening through the night, there is no staff on-site at the motel.

Cleanliness was acceptable in both the room, bathrooms and common area, and the kitchenette inside the room was well equipped. Air conditioning was available, which was important for what was a warm summer evening. The choice of furniture in the room was interesting, for example, the chair in my room was a pretty old and beaten up, wheeled computer chair.

While Wifi was available, connection speeds were average, and I reverted back to my mobile data for more reliable and faster connections.

Overall, an ok stay, no major red flags, but nothing that impresses either.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CK_IU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywatchM, Owner at Baywatch Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2019

Thanks for the review.
I am not sure how many motels you have stayed in but reception is open from 7.30am to 8.30pm which is common practice in New Zealand and we live onsite so that comment is incorrect.

Regarding furniture all studio units have 2 x Tube chairs and 1 x Computer Chair so business guests can do work at the work station.
It would have been nice to know what unit you were in as we have good wifi throughout the complex with 5 pico stations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019 via mobile

I stayed overnight on a work trip. Very friendly reception on arrival. Clean, quiet, spacious and comfortable room. Parking right outside the door of the ground floor rooms. Location is excellent with lots of meal options a short walk away.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank 187rachelleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019 via mobile

Perfect location. Close to shops, cafes, restaurants etc. Room is clean but bathroom looks tired. Hosts are friendly and helpful. Value for money. The only issue is the cleaner always leave the windows open. The kitchen window altho there is a secure catcher, door can be easily reach and open. It looks like it is their protocol to open all the rooms with windows to air them.Apart from that it is a perfect get away place

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank GoPlaces630194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2019 via mobile

We stayed one night at Baywatch whilst showing our friends from the UK the Mount. The weather wasn’t good unfortunately and they didn’t see the Mount area on a beautiful day but the room was outstanding. Very clean, friendly reception and well equipped. We will definitely stay again!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 110janew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews