We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with everything you need”
Review of Baywatch Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baywatch Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night and will definitely return next time we're in Mt Maunganui. It was reasonably priced, modern, spacious, clean and very well presented. Central location to the main shopping areas and beach. Exceptionally helpful and friendly staff made our stay most enjoyable.
Thoroughly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Reception will help you select your room and show it to you if you ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywatchM, Owner at Baywatch Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Many thanks for your kind review.
We take these reviews very seriously as we strive to maintain and improve the guests experience when staying here at Baywatch Motor Inn Mount Maunganui.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 135 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

Our studio room at Baywatch Motor Inn was spacious , clean, had up-to date decor and facilities. We chose to stay here for a one-night weekend and were very pleased we did. Given the foul weather we especially appreciated the heat pump and extra plush-pile blanket. There was no noise from the road due to hush glass. This place is centrally located and great value for the price. Friendly hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We absolutely enjoyed our stay. The room was clean, tidy and modern. Very comfortable set up, and the hosts were absolutely lovely - even racing out with some things we left in the wardrobe before we left. I was pleased to see so many Sky TV channels in a motel! Easy parking and location, we will surely stay there again.

Room Tip: King studio was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Genuinely nice hosts and friendly, helpful staff. Very handy - not right in the busy centre, which is great, but a 10 minute walk to the shops and restaurants of Mt. Maunganui. Across the road a handful of cafes and Chinese, Filipino and Japanese restaurants, and a dairy. On a lovely day, nice easy 5-10 min walk to the beach through a nice residential area. You can pretty much do a circuit of beach, shops and be back in an hour. On the rainy day, it's nice to be tucked in their comfy King bed watching lots of Sky channels all day, browse internet (free in our case) or soak in the spa bath. Our kitchenette did not have any cooking facility but it spared me of all the cooking. Very generous ground coffee. Really liked the Bay windows - you can watch the traffic and people watching. They must be sound proofed because you can't hear anything at all when small ones are closed. We stayed for three nights. It really felt like a holiday as we stayed all day walking and hanging out in the beach. Highly recommendable.

Room Tip: The ground unit towards the back is not too bad because we hardly hear the guests drive in and out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Good location within walking distance of downtown restaurants and Shops, good accessible room, great property managers - they were sooo helpful and kind even though they were taking over for the owners while the owners were on holiday. Room was large, quiet, clean and comfortable. internal parking was close to the room and easy to get in and out of. kitchen facilities were simple but adequate. would recommend it. Housekeeping staff were excellent and so helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here over the Easter weekend. The only downer for us was the price every accomodation charges here in Easter! But that was expected. the hosts are lovely. Towels for the beach and pools. nice rooms. Big. Nice and big bathrooms. Lots of channels on TV. WIFI. Walking distance to everything. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shafraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed at this resort for a weekend, very clean room, very efficient service and the location is in walking distance to very good restaurants and for the slightly fitter, the beach. The rooms unfortunately overlook a main road, so after midnight we were woken by some drunks heading home..no drama though. I am of the opinion that the room rate is expensive for a suite ($225.00 per night sharing) however the place was fully booked. I would go back, but would try something less expensive though.

Room Tip: Go for downstairs if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywatchM, Owner at Baywatch Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hi, Thank you for providing your review of your stay here at Baywatch.
Easter weekend is a very busy time in Mount Maunganui especially with the fantastic Jazz Festival.
Because of the demand there is about a $30 - $40 premium for this weekend and our wages cost is really high also with the Stat Holidays.
Most people do comment that it is great to have the unit views not facing into the motel courtyard, but if windows are left open on a busy weekend there can be some noise from the road. The Air Conditioning will keep the room cool if windows are closed.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are very lucky with our location as you mentioned and would love to have you back perhaps on not such a peak time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
2.4 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,126 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
540 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Atrium Apartments
The Atrium Apartments
#5 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aquarius Motor Inn
Aquarius Motor Inn
#8 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
21 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baywatch Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baywatch Motor Inn

Address: 349a Maunganui Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Price Range: $113 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baywatch Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Maunganui's best located motel, close to downtown shops and cafes and just 3 blocks to the beach. We offer quiet rooms with whisper glass panoramic windows, air conditioning, King beds, En-Suite Bathrooms, Kitchenettes and 50+SKY channels. *4 x 1 bedroom Spa suites with TV in lounge and bedroom with 50+ SKY channels, King bed, sofa bed in lounge. *11 x studio rooms with king bed, spa bath, 50+ SKY channels. * Free parking, unlimited free WIFI, unlimited warm KIWI hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Baywatch Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing