We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Baywatch Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baywatch Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed at this resort for a weekend, very clean room, very efficient service and the location is in walking distance to very good restaurants and for the slightly fitter, the beach. The rooms unfortunately overlook a main road, so after midnight we were woken by some drunks heading home..no drama though. I am of the opinion that the room rate is expensive for a suite ($225.00 per night sharing) however the place was fully booked. I would go back, but would try something less expensive though.

Room Tip: Go for downstairs if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywatchM, Owner at Baywatch Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hi, Thank you for providing your review of your stay here at Baywatch.
Easter weekend is a very busy time in Mount Maunganui especially with the fantastic Jazz Festival.
Because of the demand there is about a $30 - $40 premium for this weekend and our wages cost is really high also with the Stat Holidays.
Most people do comment that it is great to have the unit views not facing into the motel courtyard, but if windows are left open on a busy weekend there can be some noise from the road. The Air Conditioning will keep the room cool if windows are closed.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are very lucky with our location as you mentioned and would love to have you back perhaps on not such a peak time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 140 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night as part of a summer trip and would recommend to others.

I chose to stay here mainly because of the in room spa bath, which was a welcome retreat with a bottle of wine whilst on holiday! The room was very clean & had everything I needed. Even though it is on the main road, I didn't notice any of the road noise at night. As the title of the review says, the bed is one of the comfiest beds I've ever slept in in an accommodation situation!

It's well located, only a 3 minute walk from downtown Mt Maunganui & a short stroll to the beach & the actual Mount. Bayfair is maybe a 5 minute drive (I didn't time it exactly, but it's not far).

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZJayDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywatchM, Owner at Baywatch Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay over the busy Easter period. Great to now the bed suited you as its pretty hard to get a good bed that suits most people. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed in a King Studio on a "special weekend" away. Hosts with the most.
Couldn't have done more for us if they tried. Directed us to all the sight seeing areas
and great restuarants. New decor was loverly, with free internet thrown in as an extra.
Very clean and just a couple of minutes walk to the Mount.Will definitly be back. Many thanks
Ross and Julie you made our "Special weekend" even better.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donsueHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed two nights in Baywatch on the upper floor. We had a king Studio room which was spacious with a good décor. The bay windows gave a touch of class to the feel of the room however the view was only of the street and houses. The traffic noise was of such a level that we closed the two windows. Although we didn’t have any problem with the temperature, even on the hot days of our stay we could have used the heat pump if required. The quality of the room and the comfort of the bed could not be faulted. There is even exterior carpet laid on the stairs and walkway along the entrances to the rooms to keep foot traffic noise to a minimum. Cooking was only possible by microwave and there are no hot plates or cooking saucepans. The cutlery and crockery was limited to two of each item to suit the sleeping availability of the room. As explained in other reviews there is a huge range of eateries in the town and it is unlikely that you would want to cook in the room and the only need for the kitchen facilities would be for breakfast. It was good to be able to access the internet in our room on wife after we had registered in the office. The owners were extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome. In all, very good accommodation that we would have no hesitation in recommending to others

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiJohn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywatchM, Owner at Baywatch Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thankyou for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Baywatch.
All of our staff view the comments on trip TripAdvisor and we value your comments as we
work to improve and maintain, FACILITIES, SERVICE, CLEANLINESS and Hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed in a studio room at the Baywatch for an extra long weekend. Was great! All staff were very friendly, rooms were super clean, couldn't ask for more!

A little bit out of town but it's a nice walk and plenty of facilities close by. Free internet was also very handy.
Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Stayed in the studio room on the 1st floor, was great, not too much street noise at all and it came...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becsta26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights and found our room and en-suite very clean and comfortable.
A 2 minute walk along the road to the left was the Cottage Garden Cafe where we had a very good breakfast in the garden - a definite plus

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywatchM, Owner at Baywatch Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thankyou for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Baywatch Motor Inn.

Yes we are lucky to have so many great Cafe`s and Restaurants within a short walk of Baywatch not least of which is the Cottage Garden Cafe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Perfectly acceptable room, clean and nicely furnished. Modern, neutral decor. Walking distance to restaurants and cafes. Swimming pool was small, but very clean. Hosts were friendly and welcoming. No hob in the kitchen.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tattitalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
2.4 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,155 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
547 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Atrium Apartments
The Atrium Apartments
#8 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
338 reviews
1 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#11 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
6 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aquarius Motor Inn
Aquarius Motor Inn
#5 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baywatch Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baywatch Motor Inn

Address: 349A Maunganui Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Price Range: $146 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baywatch Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Maunganui's best located motel, close to downtown shops and cafes and just 3 blocks to the beach. We offer quiet rooms with whisper glass panoramic windows, air conditioning, King beds, En-Suite Bathrooms, Kitchenettes and 50+SKY channels. *2 x 1 bedroom Spa suites with TV in lounge and bedroom with 50+ SKY channels, King bed, sofa bed in lounge. *10 x studio rooms with king bed, spa bath, 50+ SKY channels. * 2 x family rooms with king bed or 2 singles in a bedroom and queen bed in the lounge. * 1 x twin studio with 2 double beds * Free parking, unlimited free WIFI, unlimited warm KIWI hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Baywatch Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing