We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place at the Mount”
Review of Westhaven Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westhaven Motel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place at the Mount”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Excellent location, right on Pilot Bay, and 5 mins walk to the hot pools, surf beach, and shops/restaurants. Friendly and helpful staff at this family-run motel. The facilities in the room were really good, plenty of brand new and clean crockery, cutlery, pots, pans, jug, toaster, stove, oven and microwave. The sheets and bedding were crisp and clean, great mattresses and pillows (no saggy beds!). And, got a newspaper at my door every morning, that was a nice unexpected bonus. Looks like the motel has been recently renovated, and it shows. It is not high-tech and ultra-modern, but it is comfortable, everything works and it is super clean. Highly recommend this motel.

Room Tip: I had the ground-level front room that faces Pilot Bay. It was actually quite quiet. The walls are c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelakay003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    23
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
28
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed here in November 2012, a beautiful spot over looking Pilot Bay where the cruise ships come and go. So beautiful to see the ships at night. We found the unit to be spacious and clean. A lot of work still to be done to refurbish - which was being undertaken on our visit. The cost per night for our upstairs unit was reasonable, but the views were priceless. A flat walk to the Mount and main shopping strip. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't expect latest decor - they are working on it, views priceless
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pryors67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Not the most up to date style or luxurious, but very resonably priced, clean and quiet which are the main things.

Great location straight across from pilot bay.

service was great, the reception was very friendly and welcoming.

will definitly stay again if in need of a bed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jajaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cymru/Wales
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Arrived in Mt.Maunganui needing somewhere to stay for one night.Tourist info(Site) gave us this address. It is definitely "no frills" but suited us. Needs a facelift BUT was clean, plenty of room, super shower and self catering facilities. In a superb location with lovely views and convenient for everything in the centre. Mt.Maunganui is a beautiful place and very popular with the Kiwis, we loved it! Should they decide to refurbish this Motel, then obviously there would be a huge rise in their charges. We had a good price and were more than satisfied!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julieteilyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
2.7 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aquarius Motor Inn
Aquarius Motor Inn
#7 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mission Belle Motel
Mission Belle Motel
#4 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Capri On Pilot Bay
Capri On Pilot Bay
#5 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westhaven Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westhaven Motel

Property: Westhaven Motel
Address: Pilot Bay 27a The Mall, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westhaven Motel overlooks the beautiful harbourside of Mount Maunganui. Watch the constant activity on the harbour and relax in a quiet and family friendly location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Westhaven Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing