We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good comfortable and clean”
Review of Bay Palm Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Palm Motel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good comfortable and clean”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I was a little concerned about the location as it is near a very busy corner, however traffic/noise was not an issue. Pleasant room with plenty of space. Nice owners! Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joszoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
14
17
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

When arriving I was greeted by male host and found him to be very unfriendly and not greeted with that warm feeling very matter of fact. Did meet Gail later and found her to be very warm and friendly. We felt let down with the supplies coffee etc very poor and could have been better, also I think they need to put some sort of lighting down the stairs from the bedroom upstairs I did trip going down at night to use the bathroom at night. Location was good but a little noisy due to the traffic noise.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jes26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Was spoken to very rudely by owner of hotel, not once but on two differant occasions. We were made to feel very uncomfortable about requesting another room when the one we were given didn't suit us because we had small children and there was a mezzadine floor which we felt was unsafe. We were given a smaller room which was fine but he made us feel like it was such a bother for him.
I really don't know why people like this are in the business of hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stellakaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mount Maunganui hotels

Wellington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Clean and modern rooms, well appointed. Great service, friendly staff. Lovely pool. free wireless internet. Great location, close to the beach, shopping mall and swimming complex.

Rather noisy though, walls are paper-thin and close to a main road. Use earplugs. i found the bed a bit soft and wobbly but that comes down to personal preference.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from the road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floydbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2009

A handy walk to the beach was the reason we chose this motel, the road is quite busy so a bit of road noise to contend with in the mornings and evenings. The room was clean enough but the pillows had a bit of an aroma to them, due for some new ones I think.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TedHufarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baypalm, Manager at Bay Palm Motel, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
The units now have been refurbished through out , all linen and soft furnishings including the Pillows.!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Maunganui hotels
0.2 mi away
Boatshed Motel Apartments Mt. Maunganui
Boatshed Motel Apartments Mt. Ma...
#11 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
3.2 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aquarius Motor Inn
Aquarius Motor Inn
#7 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gateway Motor Inn
Gateway Motor Inn
#10 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mission Belle Motel
Mission Belle Motel
#4 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Palm Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Palm Motel

Property: Bay Palm Motel
Address: 84 Girven Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Palm Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly hosts welcome you to 16 quality, spacious fully self-contained units with heated swimming pool, just minutes from all amenities. Beach, shops - Bayfair Mall, Baywave aquatic centre, Baypark stadium, both Omanu and Mount Maunganui Golf Courses. Mini putt, driving range. A short drive to airport - Complimentary transfers available. Wireless internet. 30 seat conference facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Bay Palm Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing