We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveler rating
163
50
21
14
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
163
50
21
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free surfboards ping pong table working hostel the kitchen long termers big tv room free spices good vibes games room short term new zealand bed dorm common areas amazing location enjoyed my stay town centre clean facilities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 257 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2019

we only stayed one night, perfect place to sleep after the concert. Staff were very friendly as were other lodgers. There was ample off street parking and great facilities. We didn't utilize all things available as only had one night. Maccas right next door so we didn't even use their coffee. Great place for either short or long term travelers.

Room tip: Our room was right on the road side, however we slept well, noise was minimal.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank saracoralie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
377matty, Front Office Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2019

Hi Sara,

Thanks so much for the kind review! We are glad you enjoyed our friendly atmosphere, as our staff try their best to create an environment where everyone feels comfortable and it's easy to mingle with other guests. We are quite proud of our central location, and are glad you took use of our parking and general facilities. Next time we hope you get to stay a bit longer! Safe travles and thanks from all of us at Pacific Coast Lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2019 via mobile

We’re here long term and it’s perfect for a homey feel! Aline has been so accommodating, friendly & helpful with everything we’ve needed, as has Carl (he was great during a crisis we had too!) TY all!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank clared781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
377matty, Front Office Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2019

Hi clared781,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We are glad you have chosen to stay long term and are enjoying making this your home away from home! Our friendly staff do their best to create an atmosphere where it is easy to make friends and everyone feels comfortable. We hope you continue to enjoy your stay with us and we love having you a part of the PCL family! Thanks from all of us at Pacific Coast Lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2018 via mobile

Came here to visit the Mount, lovely staff, great atmosphere and can only recommend, it was easy ti meet new people and the beach and all cafés and restaurant are close by as well, if come to tauranga checking out that hostel is a good idea

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank alineee_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
377matty, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2018

Hi Aline,

Thanks so much for the review! We try to create a friendly atmosphere here at the hostel where it's easy to meet fellow backpackers, so we're glad you took note of that! Along with our central location, everything you need is only a short walk away. We wish you safe travels and hope you come back to see us again! Thanks from all of us at Pacific Coast Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2018 via mobile

The hostel has a good atmosphere and amenities. Everything is very clean and well looked after. The lounge area is big and comfy and the staff very friendly and helpful. The location is great. 10-15 min walk to the beach, a supermarket and into the city centre.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Cltro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
377matty, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2018

Hi Cltro,

Thanks so much for the kind review! We do our best to keep our hostel clean throughout the day, including bathroom and kitchen cleans. We are glad you enjoyed our central location, as everything you need is nearby and only a short walk away! We wish you safe travels and hope to see you again! Thanks from all of us at Pacific Coast Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2018

A nice place,very good location a lot of things to do around and very nice people and much more thing to do . Near of the beach near of the pubs and near of the market the mount maunganui a good place

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pioneer647053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
377matty, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2018

Hi Pioneer647053,

Thanks so much for your review! We are glad that you love our central location so close to everything in town. We do our best to create a friendly, welcoming environment where it's easy to make friends while traveling. Thanks for staying with us and we hope you enjoy your time in the Mount!

xx The Pacific Coast Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews