We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME time! Needed Changes.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have stayed here on 2 separate occasions! December 2012 and Feb 2013. And the changes between this time have been incredible.
I agree with some of the comments made. This hostel was a cool place and i had a great time but i feel it was 'stuck in a rut' last year. However these were new owners who had just taken over the place, there was no rules enforced before so it was a little crazy at first. There were lots of groups, but it is a backpackers, you make friends and join in with each other..., isn't that the point of backpacking and staying in hostels?!
There were new staff in December and they did a great job of enforcing the rules, this doesn't happen overnight.
The place is spotless, I found the staff friendly and helpful, even when they aren't working and you see them about the place, they still help you out. There were free bikes, surf boards, ping pong, and the little things like free tea/coffee, and spices that make the difference.
The supermarket and beach was super close (5 mins walk)
The courtyard out the back is a sun trap and an excellent place to meet others and share stories.
The tv room with thousands of films (free) and kitchen were HUGE. Probably the biggest I have experienced in New Zealand.
I have travelled for 10 yrs and this hostel is up there in the top 5. And I will be back again and again. How this is ranked at No:33 is a joke. It's a great place. Go and see for yourself.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAP271082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Hi DAP271082
We are stoked to be in your Top 5 list... Let us know when you will start working for Lonely Planet!
In all seriousness, your feedback was excellent, thank you for pointing out the good and bad, and we are pleased that you noticed our improvements. It's only been 9 months since taking over the Lodge, and we've come a long way, but still ever changing!
Hope you have enjoyed your travels to Australia & Bangkok, and we look forward to hosting you back on NZ soil some time in the future!
Bring me a sausage roll and a milkshake when you get a chance!
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet
Brooke
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 178 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

Literally 5 mins from a breathtaking Beach and environment, activities galore and peace and tranquillity if you wish to regroup, take a breather, enjoy a good meal in the many Restaurants in walking distance or feel like letting your hair down and party.
With appreciation Brooke and Staff will go out of their way to bow to your many wishes, organise work, events and help you with your bookings.
The Hostel is clean, spacious and well organised.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swiski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Hi Swiski
I wish I could recall who you are - as I would love to thank you personally for this feedback and mention of my service.
The Mount has been my home now for 8 years, and its incredible how you never tire of the atmosphere, the beach, or the sunsets! Eating out is getting better as more restaurants are evolving (We like to boast the Brasilian Restaurant or Chilean Sushi Bar!)
We hope you can come back to NZ and relax a bit more,
May you always have a shell in your pocket, and sand in your toes,
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet
Brooke
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Pacific Coast Lodge is so close to all venues at the Mount, its a great place to stay because you don't have to go far for anything. It's spotless so clean and tidy, The receptionist is so helpful and knowledgeable about where to go and what to do.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josephine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Hi Jose!
Thanks so much for your review - glad you enjoyed your time in the Mount! Sorry we didn't catch up after your surf lesson, hope you managed to catch a few waves?!
Look forward to having you back soon, and hope your trip back home to Masteron was a safe drive,
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet
Brooke
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a great place to visit. Affordable, great people who work there who are so helpful, a great casual but friendly atmosphere where you get to meet some new friends and alot of great memories formed there. Comfortable, clean and spacious. I would definately return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Hello Elisha!
Thanks for your stay with us in December - it was a busy time for sure, and glad we still met your expectations! Hope you had a safe flight back home across the ditch and you enjoyed us "kiwis"! Good luck with your future travels, and be sure to come and say hello next time you are over visiting family!
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet!
Brooke
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

What a fab new look this place has - wonderful large open kitchen with plenty of storage refrigeration for everyone and the free spice rack is a real bonus! Great Internet access and welcoming foyer with plenty of information on anything you could hope to do in the bay area. Free use of surfboards and bikes is unheard of and makes for a memorable stay that caters to the needs of guests from anywhere in the world. Great laundry facilities as well. I'd recommend anyone to stay here - backpackers or otherwise.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachbandito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Hi BeachBandito!
Thank you so much for your feedback - we are glad you took the opportunity to let us know what we are doing well!
If you ever get the chance to come back through the Sunny Mount, please do!
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet
Brooke
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I regularly visit here to print out documents & get things photocopied as I dont have a printer at home. The reception area is always immaculate and the lovely manager Brooke always goes above and beyond the call of duty to help me. Brooke kindly showed me around the place and I was blown away by how spacious and clean and tidy everything was. Who would stay in a Motel when you can have an immaculate double bedroom for half the price. Great communal areas to enable you to meet other fun loving travellers! Restaurants & cafes & shops just a walk away! Not to mention the gorgeous white sand beach. Views from the top of the Mount will take your breath away! I highly recomment Pacific Coast Backpackers for backpackers and couples and older groups alike!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Hello Satori!
Love seeing your smiling face every time you come in - You are a breath of fresh air also - Thank you for your feedback, and thank you for letting me "brag" about our gem of the Mount and to show you what's on offer!
Looking forward to having you stay with us sometime! If not, Fridays are "Fitness Fridays" for climbing the Mount & having a beer down the road!
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet!
Brooke
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Best all round accom so far, possibly helped by the stunning weather and magical spot that this hostel is located in, but comfortable, clean and affordable accommodation no less. Big ups to the receptionist who had a great knowledge of the area and still welcomed us with a warm smile after witnessing her deal with an extremely rude couple in front of us. Rooms clean, light and spacious as with the general facilities. Has a fresh and funky feel about it and I will be doing my best to return one day!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Hi DBSTA!
We have definitely had incredible weather this season - and it just keeps getting warmer! Now in March, the sun has been out for weeks - Great for the beach!
We are still changing the look and feel of the place, getting some new things all the time for the guests to enjoy - We've even got event nights every day of the week now!
If you are still in the area we'd love to share a Pizza with you on Mondays!
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet,
Brooke
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
2.7 mi away
Harbourside City Backpackers
2.7 mi away
ArtHouse Accommodation Boutique Backpackers
2.3 mi away
Apple Tree Backpackers
Apple Tree Backpackers
#31 of 47 in Tauranga
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seagulls Guesthouse
Seagulls Guesthouse
#2 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
118 reviews
1 mi away
Mount Backpackers
Mount Backpackers
#14 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
83 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers

Address: 432 Maunganui Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Mount Maunganui
Price Range: $39 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Golden Backpacker for 'Best Accommodation NZ' 2014, 2016 and 2017! We've got it all: The beach, the surf, and the sun! We offer FREE onsite car parking, FREE WIFI, FREE surfboards and FREE bikes. Located within walking distance to the beautiful shores of Mount Maunganui Beach, offering affordable accommodation for one night stays or weekly boarders looking for work. The friendly team at Pacific Coast Lodge will give genuine advice on activities and adventures to help you make the most of your stay, fom swimming with Dolphins, amazing walks & hot pools, to deep sea fishing, kayaking & surfing. We are the only hostel in Mount Maunganui that actively assists you in finding work! Anything from fruit picking and orchard work, in bars, to factory and labouring jobs - we have people calling us daily for workers! The hostel is well established and provides loads of the comforts you crave from a Backpackers, but most of all our culture is one that our guests call home about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing