We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed atmosphere & service with a smile”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Maunganui
1 review
“Relaxed atmosphere & service with a smile”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I regularly visit here to print out documents & get things photocopied as I dont have a printer at home. The reception area is always immaculate and the lovely manager Brooke always goes above and beyond the call of duty to help me. Brooke kindly showed me around the place and I was blown away by how spacious and clean and tidy everything was. Who would stay in a Motel when you can have an immaculate double bedroom for half the price. Great communal areas to enable you to meet other fun loving travellers! Restaurants & cafes & shops just a walk away! Not to mention the gorgeous white sand beach. Views from the top of the Mount will take your breath away! I highly recomment Pacific Coast Backpackers for backpackers and couples and older groups alike!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Hello Satori!
Love seeing your smiling face every time you come in - You are a breath of fresh air also - Thank you for your feedback, and thank you for letting me "brag" about our gem of the Mount and to show you what's on offer!
Looking forward to having you stay with us sometime! If not, Fridays are "Fitness Fridays" for climbing the Mount & having a beer down the road!
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet!
Brooke
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    36
    15
    10
    7
See reviews for
5
22
59
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whakatane, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Best all round accom so far, possibly helped by the stunning weather and magical spot that this hostel is located in, but comfortable, clean and affordable accommodation no less. Big ups to the receptionist who had a great knowledge of the area and still welcomed us with a warm smile after witnessing her deal with an extremely rude couple in front of us. Rooms clean, light and spacious as with the general facilities. Has a fresh and funky feel about it and I will be doing my best to return one day!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Hi DBSTA!
We have definitely had incredible weather this season - and it just keeps getting warmer! Now in March, the sun has been out for weeks - Great for the beach!
We are still changing the look and feel of the place, getting some new things all the time for the guests to enjoy - We've even got event nights every day of the week now!
If you are still in the area we'd love to share a Pizza with you on Mondays!
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet,
Brooke
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed in the hostel over New Years as working with one of thier jobs in the fish factory. The 6bed room was full of light, good windows, near bathrooms. Super busy here and met lots of people. Wasnt too crazy as new guy from the UK was nightman.
awesome: new years in the mount! atmosphere, and liked having a big tv room.
to improve: more surfboards and a pool!

Room Tip: ask for room 2 its quiet and one of the bigger 6bed rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrooklynRubix, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hi There!
Thanks so much for your review - it was a pleasure having you stay and hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels throughout NZ!
We've just purchased another 2 surfboards, so we now have 5 boards available to use for free for our guests ... Not so sure about the pool, as the beach is just a 5min walk away (though it would be nice!)
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet
Brooke
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The guy who met us at reception was new but friendly and enthusiastic. Our room was quite tiny and so close to the road I am sure we could hear the conversations people in their cars were having as they drove by.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glow_wormnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrooklynRubix, Owner at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hi There!
I'm sorry you were not completely satisfied with your room - we do have 24 rooms to choose from ranging in different sizes of room structure, and number of beds.
Yes, we are located on the main road just out of town, so we can offer a quiet stay - and I am very sorry that you found the noise from the public to be disturbing - we cannot control that - but we could have transferred you to an alternate room away from the front of the building.
I hope in future you would make it known to the staff so we can help rectify the situation.
Hope you are enjoying your travels throughout NZ and experiencing the most on offer!
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet
Brooke
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Upon arriving the receptionist seemed fairly blunt, and I felt like I was hassling her rather than asking to check in. Once checked in I noticed there was no duvet on my bed, when I asked about it I was told I had to hire one like all hostels! After travelling in hostels for all of New Zealand, this was the first occurrence of this to me! The room was very small for a four bed share, the hostel had a horrible clicky party atmosphere, loud bassy music was played until about 2am, people were noisy outside, and the dorm was a mess. Lastly; at 5am someone stumbled into the dorm to sleep and argued with another lodger for 30 mins! The following day I complained to reception, who was aware of the trouble making lodger, we came to an arrangement whereby I could shorten my stay and check out early, and got refunded for the night I didn't stay, this was an amicable resolution which I was pleased with but frustrated it had to come to that. I would avoid this place if you are looking for a quiet "mutual respect amongst guests" culture. The YHA in tauranga was much better!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beally87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrooklynRubix, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hi There!
You came to reception the following day & voiced your concerns with me - we discussed it, and I gave you a refund on your stay - to which you were greatly appreciative of it, along with smiling and thanking us for the consideration. (As it was your room mates that you had issues with)

We have House Rules in place and the courtyard is shut down at 10pm out of respect to our neighbours - we also employ a nightwarden to make sure there is no noise in the hostel after 11pm. Unfortunately at this time of year we are super busy, and while we try our best to accommodate everyone - and have rules in place for an enjoyable stay - there are always the minority who push the boundaries - of which we have zero tolerance and request them to leave.

The room you were in was a 4bed dorm - We were more than happy to put you into a different room at another end of the hostel, but you declined. I am sorry for the experience you have had, we pride ourselves in a 4star rating, and try and make everyones stay comfortable and enjoyable - and I personally think we are doing it right, otherwise we wouldn't have so many repeat customers, or be as busy as we are.
We hope you enjoy the rest of New Zealand and have safe travels
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet
Brooke
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hostel for one week, so we enjoyed a special weekly rate in which we payer for six nights instead for seven.

The facilities were clean most of the time and the helpers did a great job cleaning up the messy kitchen every morning. The rooms could have been a little more equipped with cardboards. However our room had its own tiny sink.

There was no free WiFi as advertised on the website and false infornation about the prices were given by the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrooklynRubix, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hi There!
Thank you for your review!
Yes, we do offer cheaper weekly rates in our off-peak season (March to September) and try to offer competitive rates for BBH members throughout the year.
Thank you for your feedback regarding more cupboards in the rooms - as we only took over the business a short time ago, we are making a list as we go - and be sure to know we do plan on arranging better storage within the rooms.
Regarding the free WIFI - This is supplied through a third party operator who has no affiliation with us - unfortunately the server has been down for quite sometime while they rebuild the parts required - and this is something we have no control over. However, for your convenience we do have other alternates for connecting to the internet, along with being a short bus ride to Tauranga where the entire city is on a free network (capped however).
We hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels in NZ,
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet
Brooke
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhasset, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I've been traveling in New Zealand for a couple months. I've had some amazing experiences with lodging and some okay experiences, but this is the first truly bad experience I've had. If you're a college-age kid indifferent to staying in a noisy, unclean, frat-like environment, I'd actually recommend this place. But if you're anyone else, do the research that I didn't do and find somewhere else in the Mount or Tauranga.

I informed the manager first thing in the morning of my displeasure, said I was fine paying for the sleepless night I just had but would like to check out, get refunded for the next two nights which they charged me for upfront, and let bygones be bygones. She refused, citing their cancellation policy. Whatever the policy is, this is Mount on a summer weekend where most places in town seem to be completely booked, so I'm pretty sure she'd be able to fill the room in no time. In the interest of customer service and semi-satisfaction, issuing a refund for the unstayed nights and apologizing for the bad experience probably would have been the right thing to do, but I guess that would be setting expectations too high for a place like this. As evidence of how poor this accommodation is, I think I'm probably going to eat the cost and find somewhere else regardless.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arose10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrooklynRubix, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hi There
Thank you for your comments - I'm quite taken by the comment about an unclean facility - as we do pride ourselves in offering a clean and safe stay.
I employ a minimum of 3 cleaning staff per day, more in Summer, and as much as we keep the communal areas clean and at a high standard, we cannot tidy the guests belongings inside the dorm rooms - but we do clean these daily - unfortunately we cannot control the guests leaving their things about the rooms.
The Mount in Summer is a busy place, you are correct, and we have a 24 hour cancellation policy in place for a reason - as do all the other accommodation establishments throughout NZ - I am sorry that you felt we did not come to a mutual agreement - and it is strange that we did not refund you the balance of your nights (unless you were staying over our high season period - then a different refund policy is in place).
If you wish to contact me in the office, I am more than happy to trace back to your booking and take a look at it & see if we can offer you something you are happy with .
Regardless, we hope you are enjoying the rest of NZ
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet
Brooke
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
0.1 mi away
Seagulls Guesthouse
Seagulls Guesthouse
#3 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
115 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mount Backpackers
Mount Backpackers
#16 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aquarius Motor Inn
Aquarius Motor Inn
#8 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Gateway Motor Inn
Gateway Motor Inn
#7 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
44 reviews
2.4 mi away
Apple Tree Backpackers
Apple Tree Backpackers
#30 of 46 in Tauranga
18 reviews
2.7 mi away
ArtHouse Accommodation Boutique Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers

Property: Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers
Address: 432 Maunganui Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Mount Maunganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the 2014 TNT Golden Backpacker for 'Best Accommodation NZ' and finalists for 2105! No place you'd rather be - We've got it all: The beach, the surf, and the sun! Look no further! We offer FREE onsite car parking, FREE WIFI, FREE surfboards and FREE bikes! Welcome to Pacific Coast Lodge, your 4-star flashpackers, where everyone knows your name! We are owner operated and Matt will go out of his way to make your stay a memorable one. We are magnificently located within walking distance to the beautiful shores of Mount Maunganui Beach, offering affordable accommodation for one night stays or weekly boarders looking for work.Groups are our specialty - having successfully hosted birthday celebrations, stag/hens nights, entire schools, and sports tournaments. We go out of our way to customise your requirements and can organise breakfasts, day tours or team building activities so it's one less thing to worry about! The friendly team at Pacific Coast Lodge are able to give genuine advice and offer great deals on the range of activities and adventures, to help you make the most of your stay in Mount Maunganui, ensuring that you experience the best that the Bay of Plenty has to offer - anything from swimming with Dolphins, amazing walks & hot pools, to deep sea fishing, kayaking & surfing.We are the only hostel in Mount Maunganui that actively assists you in finding work! Anything from fruit picking and orchard work, to factory and labouring jobs - we have people calling us daily for workers!The hostel is well established and provides loads of the comforts you crave from a Backpackers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing