We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Owners & A New Feel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers
Mount Maunganui, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New Owners & A New Feel!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Pacific Coast Lodge now has new owners who took over in August 2012.
They have done a great job at giving the place a new surf and beach theme to it, with their catchphrase "Peace, Love & Sandy Feet". A big surf wave welcomes you at reception, with a fresh coat of paint throughout the downstairs and upstairs areas.
Lots of surf art, and quotations fill the rooms and hallways, and a kitchen that is clean and very well stocked. A piece of history is the old-school can opener, a cool learning curve to follow the instructions!
They have created lovely courtyard out the back, with a BBQ and a bush fence to make it a bit more private.
With 5 sets of bathrooms (depending on which room you are staying in - you either have shared bathrooms or communal facilities) there are never any queues for the facilities. Cheapest rooms of course are the bigger dorms - 10, 8, or 6 bed dorms, along with plenty of 4bed dorms... Doubles and twins available also - with good sized rooms, hand basins and full linen supplied. A nice touch are the mints on the towels, along with hot water bottles or fans available from the staff.
A mere hop skip and a jump to the beach, 500 metres away, and downtown the Mount only 650metres, along with New World Supermarket only a 9minute walk (go ahead and set your timer!)
With some free bikes, free surfboards, body boards and sand boards, not to mention ping pong, darts, tennis and Targa (a new sport invention by their nightman!), they are good value for money.
Definately recommended, but don't take my word for it. Go and see for yourself what is on offer, they can even help with finding work. If you are looking for a quiet place, this is it. If you are looking for a social place, this is also it. Party-goers are encouraged to head to the beach, the bar or to bed, but they have some good recommendations from the local watering holes, and on occasion you'll be able to score some discounts!!
A place for everyone, and everyone's place, Pacific Coast Lodge is your "beach accommodation at affordable prices"

Room Tip: Just go for a room in your budget, the staff are always accommodating - ask them for a tour of a sel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BayDragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Hi BayDragons
Thank you for your comprehensive review on our facility here in the Mount!
You have hit the nail on the head with regards to all on offer, and we are so glad we could accommodate the team with us!
Let the rest of the paddlers know it was a pleasure having you stay, and we hope you smashed it at the championships!
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet!
Brooke
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    36
    15
    10
    7
See reviews for
5
21
58
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Location: The location is similar to the nearby backpackers - Seagulls Guesthouse. Next to Quest Hotel Service Apartment & McDonald, bus stop is just in front of the backpackers.

Room: Room space is larger even in a 6 person dorm.

Facility: Shower rooms are just like the shower facility at beach or swimming pool. No door for each cubicle but curtains. Toilets (only 3 for males) are not enough for such a huge backpackers. Huge car parks. If you stay there during peak seasons especially during KIwifruit seasons (a lot of workers stay there), the kitchen will be a chaos!

Service: Generally the owners are friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vjie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi vjie83
Thanks for staying in May 2012 - this was shortly before we took over in August 2012.
We plan to do a few more upgrades, always a work in progress! Thank you for taking the time to let us know what we do well,
Peace, Love and Sandy Feet!
Brooke
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

I did not like the people, the atmosphere and the facilities in this place. The rooms were small, there was no interaction between the guests and there was a depressing atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msp1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi msp1979
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay in 2011. We took over the lodge in August 2012, and we've been having a lot of fun!
Please come back again and stay with us, enjoy an international dinner night, a game of Soccer, a ping pong challenge, or free-bread fridays .. We've got lots to do, and a super great atmosphere (well, I think so!)
Hope life is beautiful for you,
Peace, Love and Sandy Feet
Brooke
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Friendly atmosphere, cozy launch. Extra charge for linen and towels.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi Lee0401
Thanks for your review of our hostel from 2011. We took over the lodge in August 2012, and we provide rooms with linen and towels, for dorm beds these are available on request.
Peace, Love and Sandy Feet
Brooke
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth uk
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2011

They also give a full english breakfast great for all ages and good for surfers many thanks

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfersPlymouthUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi surfersPlymouthUk
Thanks for your response from 2011. We took over the lodge in August 2012, unfortunately an english breakfast is no longer on the menu, but we a just a hop, skip and a jump away from some really wonderful and yummy cafes in town!
Happy Travels
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet
Brooke
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
0.1 mi away
Seagulls Guesthouse
Seagulls Guesthouse
#4 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mount Backpackers
Mount Backpackers
#16 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
2.7 mi away
Harbourside City Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
6.0 mi away
Papamoa Beach Resort
Papamoa Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Papamoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers

Property: Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers
Address: 432 Maunganui Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Mount Maunganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the 2014 TNT Golden Backpacker for 'Best Accommodation NZ' and finalists for 2105! No place you'd rather be - We've got it all: The beach, the surf, and the sun! Look no further! We offer FREE onsite car parking, FREE WIFI, FREE surfboards and FREE bikes! Welcome to Pacific Coast Lodge, your 4-star flashpackers, where everyone knows your name! We are owner operated and Matt will go out of his way to make your stay a memorable one. We are magnificently located within walking distance to the beautiful shores of Mount Maunganui Beach, offering affordable accommodation for one night stays or weekly boarders looking for work.Groups are our specialty - having successfully hosted birthday celebrations, stag/hens nights, entire schools, and sports tournaments. We go out of our way to customise your requirements and can organise breakfasts, day tours or team building activities so it's one less thing to worry about! The friendly team at Pacific Coast Lodge are able to give genuine advice and offer great deals on the range of activities and adventures, to help you make the most of your stay in Mount Maunganui, ensuring that you experience the best that the Bay of Plenty has to offer - anything from swimming with Dolphins, amazing walks & hot pools, to deep sea fishing, kayaking & surfing.We are the only hostel in Mount Maunganui that actively assists you in finding work! Anything from fruit picking and orchard work, to factory and labouring jobs - we have people calling us daily for workers!The hostel is well established and provides loads of the comforts you crave from a Backpackers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing