We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest Mount Maunganui
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights in November. The apartment was really nice, although we were given a 1 bedroom (multi facility or something) apartment which meant it catered for disabled and small people. It was fine but the cooker and sink etc were pretty low for a 6"2' person! Decor was sweet, bedroom perhaps a little small with no ventilation except in to the hall but didn't matter to us. King was a split king btu was comfy. It's about a 10 min walk in to town which again was fine with us. Next to a backpackers so there was a bit of music playing but didn't hear it much. Overall it was fine and would stay again in a regular 1 bed maybe up higher.

Room Tip: Ask nto to have the multi facility room if you don't want small benches etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy_Harcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 71 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

Awesomely good shower. Small bedroom, especially for twin beds but the linen was good. Clean throughout. Spacious in the living area. The view was not scenic! Sam the reception guy was really nice and friendly. Would come back and stay as it was god value. There is a backpackers next door but they were quiet after about 9pm.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeScherer, Owner at Quest Mount Maunganui, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Quest Mount Maunganui. we have made a note on your account to have you placed on our top floor with a veiw next time you come and stay with us.

Have a fantastic New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We looked at the many apartments available in this area. If closeness to the beach is important to you - this is not the place for you. However - it has everything else and the short walk into to town is good for you! One of the best laid out apartments I have stayed in. Mark was welcoming and helpful. Great value in comparison to its expensive rivals.

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom - great layout with balcony. Don't expect a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mangakura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Only stayed 1 night but would def spend a lot longer at this place - amenities were awesome: inside the room was well appointed & stylishly decorated & comfortable, outdoors was excellent with a spa & outdoor pool available.

The 2nd bedroom was a bit on the small side but overall we had a great unit! Underground parking was ok for smaller cars but bigger vehicles would struggle

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol_Howell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Hi I have just stayed for two nights in a one bedroomed apartment on the second floor of the quest at mount maunganui. On arrival we were greeted by very friendly staff at reception. We were then shown to our park in the basement garaging, and without requesting were given full assistance with our luggage to our room. This was very much appreciated as we had two young children with us. The apartment was nicely decorated, clean, well equipped and warm as it had a heat pump. Full range of all sky channels was great, we also had the option to borrow recent DVDs from the office. No noise from McDonalds next door as this room faces the port side of mount maunganui.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dianne07auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

After booking into what we expected to be 5 star accomodation, we were not pleased to find it was a leaky building. The basement carpark was flooded, but I can live with that as it has been a very wet winter. Our second floor 1 bedroom apartment was damp smelling and freezing. The single fan heater was inadequate blowing barely warm air, and the 4 fin oil heater did not make any impression on the chill in the room. I ended up turning the oven on full, and leaving the door open. The room was toasty after several hours.
There were extra pillows for the bed, but no pillow cases...
The fire alarm sounded at 4am to evacuate the building, - later found out this was due to water in the fire panel.
The rain blew in against our front door, leaving a swimming pool sized puddle inside the entryway of the door, with the door swollen some much we had to wrestle it to get it open, and had little hope of getting it closed again.
On leaving at 8.30am, the lift was out, due to the water. and the puddles in the basement required wadding not tippy toeing through.
The manager we spoke with on leaving showed absolute indifference....he had heard it all before and appeared beyond giving a damn.
This accomodation is possibly ok in summer, but in winter it is 2 star at best and a very unhealthy building.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raelene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I have stayed at this property over the last few years. I find them to be clean and tidy. They have good cooking facilities. The rooms are nice and roomy. Good to have all Sky Sports channels available.

Room Tip: Helpful if you have you own transport as some distance from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Maunganui hotels
1.2 mi away
The Atrium Apartments
The Atrium Apartments
#6 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
127 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Blue Wave Motel
Blue Wave Motel
#12 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
61 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Reef Beachfront Apartments
The Reef Beachfront Apartments
#1 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seagulls Guesthouse
Seagulls Guesthouse
#2 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Mount Maunganui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Mount Maunganui

Address: 424-428 Maunganui Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Mount Maunganui
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Mount Maunganui 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quest Mount Maunganui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Mount Maunganui Hotel Mount Maunganui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing