We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smallish bedrooms but overall a beautiful apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quest Mount Maunganui
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“smallish bedrooms but overall a beautiful apartment”
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Only stayed 1 night but would def spend a lot longer at this place - amenities were awesome: inside the room was well appointed & stylishly decorated & comfortable, outdoors was excellent with a spa & outdoor pool available.

The 2nd bedroom was a bit on the small side but overall we had a great unit! Underground parking was ok for smaller cars but bigger vehicles would struggle

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol_Howell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    13
    8
    11
See reviews for
20
24
2
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Hi I have just stayed for two nights in a one bedroomed apartment on the second floor of the quest at mount maunganui. On arrival we were greeted by very friendly staff at reception. We were then shown to our park in the basement garaging, and without requesting were given full assistance with our luggage to our room. This was very much appreciated as we had two young children with us. The apartment was nicely decorated, clean, well equipped and warm as it had a heat pump. Full range of all sky channels was great, we also had the option to borrow recent DVDs from the office. No noise from McDonalds next door as this room faces the port side of mount maunganui.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianne07auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

After booking into what we expected to be 5 star accomodation, we were not pleased to find it was a leaky building. The basement carpark was flooded, but I can live with that as it has been a very wet winter. Our second floor 1 bedroom apartment was damp smelling and freezing. The single fan heater was inadequate blowing barely warm air, and the 4 fin oil heater did not make any impression on the chill in the room. I ended up turning the oven on full, and leaving the door open. The room was toasty after several hours.
There were extra pillows for the bed, but no pillow cases...
The fire alarm sounded at 4am to evacuate the building, - later found out this was due to water in the fire panel.
The rain blew in against our front door, leaving a swimming pool sized puddle inside the entryway of the door, with the door swollen some much we had to wrestle it to get it open, and had little hope of getting it closed again.
On leaving at 8.30am, the lift was out, due to the water. and the puddles in the basement required wadding not tippy toeing through.
The manager we spoke with on leaving showed absolute indifference....he had heard it all before and appeared beyond giving a damn.
This accomodation is possibly ok in summer, but in winter it is 2 star at best and a very unhealthy building.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raelene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mount Maunganui hotels

Wellington
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I have stayed at this property over the last few years. I find them to be clean and tidy. They have good cooking facilities. The rooms are nice and roomy. Good to have all Sky Sports channels available.

Room Tip: Helpful if you have you own transport as some distance from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

After reading some not so favourable reviews on here after I booked my trip I was not expecting a great experience. BUT I was in for a pleasant surprise. I had requested a quiet room and was allocated one on the 2nd floor on the other side to McDonalds in the back of the block. Apart from the occasional noise issue associated with a concrete structure (the echoes that you get with doors slamming etc) it was for the most part quite peaceful. The apartment did not have a view but was light, extremely spacious, very modern and had a very well equipped kitchen. It was also spotlessly clean, had a huge TV in the lounge and a very comfy bed. The duty manager very kindly carried some of my boxes up for me to the room and was most accommodating. The underground free parking was really convenient and secure with lifts up to the apartments which was great for lugging heavy stuff which I had a bit of! Location was great - I had a car but it wasn't far to walk to the shops and cafes from what I could see. The room rate for the one bedroom was really value for money, especially in light of the experience I had following this in Taupo where I paid the same price for something much worse! All in all a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: If wanting quiet request a room on other side to McDonalds, no view but much more peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beesblessing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I had a 1 bedroom apartment, G10, on a business trip. The apartment is very spacious and well furnished, although this spaciousness resulted in quite a distance between the couches and the (surprisingly small) television. Easily fixed though with a slight rearrangement of the furniture. The kitchen facilities are very good. This is a fairly quiet, comfortable, very private apartment.

It is unfortunate that the management has not acted on issues raised by guests in earlier reviews, namely the completely inadequate blinds in the bedroom and the lack of shelving in the shower to hold soap etc.

The bedroom is small (making it difficult to find a spot for luggage) but otherwise good. Very comfortable bed. The big negative is the bedroom window which opens onto the very brightly lit courtyard. The window blind provided is virtually useless at blocking this light. However there is a solution, and you’ll find it in the wardrobe. Grab the spare duvet and hang it over the blind roller so it covers the window. Do this right and you’ll get two layers of duvet blocking the light. Another negative was the lack of an alarm clock, not something I’ve come across in a hotel before.

The shower is very good (aside from the lack of shelving to put stuff), with high pressure. The pressure is so high that the shower head tends to wander and can end up directed outside the shower stall. Solution: drape the hose over the showerhead to keep it in place. The bathroom basin is adequate, and the fog-free mirror is a good idea. Be careful if the bathroom floor is wet – it can be very slippery.

Free undercover parking is provided. Quest Apartments Maunganui is located only a short drive away from a supermarket and the Mt Maunganui restaurant zone.

Good: shower pressure, comfortable bed.
Negative: bedroom window blind, lack of shower shelves, lack of alarm clock.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bedroom not overlooking the interior courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Place is as good as it looks in the photo's, is a very nice place, has a good feel about it. Staff were great. Kitchen did have a smell in it, wine spilt in cupboard (I think) needs to be cleaned, also room's opening up by the McDonalds side are quite noisy over the weekend from the 24 hour opening of McDonalds.

Is quite pricey and possibly expect a little more given the cost , however oveall a lovely place.

Room Tip: Room away from McDonalds side of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
2.2 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,087 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
522 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
130 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seagulls Guesthouse
Seagulls Guesthouse
#2 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Mount Maunganui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Mount Maunganui

Property: Quest Mount Maunganui
Address: 424-428 Maunganui Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Mount Maunganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Mount Maunganui 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Mount Maunganui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Mount Maunganui Hotel Mount Maunganui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing