We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Mount Maunganui

“We will be Bach!”
Review of The Bach

The Bach
Ranked #32 of 132 Restaurants in Mount Maunganui
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 21, 2020

We had a lovely lunch on our outing to Maunganui. We both had a Turkish pide which was delicious with a cup of coffee and a pot of tea. There was plenty of seating and the staff were friendly and cheerful.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank davidwilliambarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 121 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2020 via mobile

Don’t be put off if it’s quieter than other cafes around. This was by far the best coffee we have had in the Mount in all the visits we have had. It has a nice and open feel to it compared to some of the other stuffy cafes on the main strip. Keep it up... more people will work out that the coffee is delicious and far superior.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank kate-goodenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020

We tried the date scone for morning tea - delicious lashed with butter. So good we came back the next day for a savoury scone (they had run out previously) which was straight out of the oven scrumptious! The coffees are pretty good too

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank maxwelltham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike S, Owner at The Bach, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2020

Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2019

The Bach has a gentle vibe with a spacious, cool (ceiling fans) interior and folksy soft music playing when we visited.

My bro and I ordered some cabinet food and it was pretty good and not too expensive. The lamb and kumura pie was good and came out hot. We thought the carrot cake was too sweet.

The service was good, prompt, respectful, not friendly really, but good. one of the waitresses made some recommendations when we asked, and she was lovely.

Thanks!

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Ambopteryx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2019 via mobile

Only half the meals came out when we asked about the other half they said it would be 20 minutes. The meals that did come out were lacking to say the least. Yes they were busy, however, this was not good enough.
Half way through eating the two meals that did come out the waitress came over to ask to take our table number we informed her that we were still waiting on two meals yet she took the number anyway.
Positive the coffee was good

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank 68sammb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bach also viewed

Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 

Been to The Bach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing