We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Holiday at Threave”

Lower Treave Caravan and Camping Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crows-an-Wra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lower Treave Caravan and Camping Park
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family Holiday at Threave”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have just had an excellent week at Threave. My wife & I had our Motorhome & our son & his family hired a static caravan. The weather was glorious, the campsite was quiet and although the facilities could not be faulted in these conditions it was difficult to say what the situation would be like with a full site and less favourable climatic conditions. Nevertheless we all thoroughly enjoyed the holiday and despite the lengthy power cut one evening ( no fault of the campsite owners ), had a good relaxing holiday. The static caravan was quite well equipped & the gas cooker was invaluable during the power cut! We all appreciated the free Wi-Fi and would suggest that the two large camping & caravanning clubs have a lot to learn!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank BushbyBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanBliss, Owner at Lower Treave Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are full at the moment and the weather continues to be fair....so lots of busy days on the beach. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Just back from 6 days at Lower Treave campsite- what a great stay!! Well maintained and clean facilities ( toilets, showers, wash area etc) All pitches pleasantly laid out on terraced areas. friendly owners, lots of info and a great location for beaches, walking and climbing. We will be back!!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank happygolucky2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanBliss, Owner at Lower Treave Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks for this great review, glad you had a good time. Please return soon and bring some more of this super weather with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bletchley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

WE first came to this site 3 years ago with our first trailer tent, and loved it we have been back at least once a year since, we upgraded to a bigger trailer tent and there was still room on the pitch for our car. We now have a caravan with an awning and park our Shogun alongside. we last visited at the beginning of September for two weeks, it was great, inspite of being out of season all was well, the toilet block was spick and span and almost fit for an RAF bull night, ( I said almost because nothing is ever good enough for a bull night eh NIck..) I thouroughly reccomend this site. It is quiet, without an onsite club and it drains well when it rains. In the summer, if we ever get another one, it is close to Sennen Cove, the best beach in Cornwall, not far from Penzance for gathering victuals.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OldSnowdrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanBliss, Owner at Lower Treave Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thanks for your review Old Snowdrop. I won't be out whitewashing the kerbstones just yet! Next year's dates and prices will be published soon and we very much look forward to seeing you back at Lower Treave....whatever the weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in July, our second visit in the last 2 years. This is one of the nicest camp sites we have ever stayed on. We don't like big sites with club houses, etc, so we love this place - its quite small, around 50ish pitches I think, but seems even smaller due to the fact that the site has 4 terraces with hedges rather than 1 large field. The pitches are the most generous in size - even at the height of the season we did not feel hemmed in at all. Wherever you pitch, its not a long walk to the loo either. The toilet and shower block is kept really clean, and the little shop sells some of the basic food items required, such as milk and eggs. Despite the fact that it was almost full, with lots of families and dogs, the site was really quiet and peaceful and we slept like logs! The site makes a fabulous base for exploring this very beautiful part of Cornwall. Sennen Cove, Porthcurno and The Minack Theatre are all just a couple of miles away and other trips to Newlyn, Lamorna, Penzance, Cape Cornwall and St Ives will not take you long to drive. Super walks locally too. If you don't want to cook, there is the lovely Beach Restaurant at Sennen Cove and a good Fish & Chip shop there too. (we weren't on site on the days the fish & chip van comes).
We look forward to coming back here again soon - thank you Mr & Mrs Bliss SO much for a fabulous break :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JwPj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanBliss, Owner at Lower Treave Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your hols - hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just returned from Lower Treave campsite. Spent 6 nights here with kids age 10 and 4 and dog. PLEASE ONLY GO HERE IF YOU ARE QUIET CAMPERS AND DONT REQUIRE A CLUB HOUSE OR LATE NIGHT PARTIES, The people who run this site are very friendly and helpful, I spoke with one lady who has been coming to this site for 15 years and others who were on their 6th return so it must be doing something right. Pitches are very spacious we had room for our vw camper, family tent and badminton net. The pitches are terraced and separated by shrubs and trees providing wildlife corridors and making the camping experience a little more intimate. Very attractive site and much nicer than camping in one big field. The facilities were spotlessly clean, no smelly loos or wet floors. The only slight issue is that there are only three showers in the ladies and three in the gents although I only had to wait once I did see other people waiting. This was really only a minor issue and would not deter me from returning, there was always plenty of hot water.
The washing machines took three pound coins and the fabulous tumbler dryer took 20pence pieces. We used this several times and found 40p was enough to dry off damp towells and £1 plenty to dry a load of light washing such as kids tee shirts and shorts. You also require 20p for hot washing up water.The site is a short drive from Sennen Cove although due to us having a dog we did not go there instead we tried the quieter dog friendly beaches such as Gwynver and Portheras cove, - this means a bit of a walk to the beach but worth it if you like it quiet and more secluded. . I would also recommend the fish and chip shop at Sennen and the Wellington and Kings Arms at St Just for eating out. As a final remark I would say the Lands end Park is awful, do not pay to eat here, we paid for hot dogs £3.50 for frankfurther hot dogs. Also the Merlin experience, 4D film and sear rescue experience were rather outdated.

Room Tip: The top two terraces are nearest the shower block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pipsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanBliss, Owner at Lower Treave Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
'No clubhouse or late night parties' planned so you are welcome to return any time. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Itchington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

This was a family holiday camping with own tent and all the rest of the usual stuff.This campsite is one of the best I we have ever stayed at.
First the pitches are enormous,enough for 2 tents plus a gazebo and 2 cars ( This is a pitch plus )Other pitches are smaller but all equally spaced out and no one is on top of each other.The Loo's and shower block are immacculate and cleaned by invisible people while you are at the beach.
The terraced pitches mean that you have the impression that the site is quite small but you have loads of space.Shop Ok ofr basic stuff but sold out of croissant instantly they were open.( They aren't retailers after all).
there is little to moan about as all was great.
top tip,if the weather looks a bit bad just get in the car on your bike and travel a few miles ,it soon clears up.
On the whole totally recommend.

Room Tip: Book early and go for a Pitch Plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IDEANATION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanBliss, Owner at Lower Treave Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Many thanks for your review. We look forward to seeing you back again very soon. My favourite month in Cornwall is June: long days, spectacular hedgerows and lots of space for everyone....but September comes a close second!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot
Level Contributor
144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We stayed here in July for a week. The location is about 3 miles inland from Land's End and has fantastic views of the coutryside. The campsite is maintained to an extremely high standard and has all the facilities you could need. The toilet and shower areas are cleaned daily and there are hairdryers readily available to use for 20p a time. There is also an additional socket where you can plug hair strighteners, etc., should you wish to use these. There are dish washing and laundry facilities, fridge, and computer with internet access readily available to use and a coffee machine with hot coffee available at all times. The grounds are maintained to an extremely high standard and there is also a small shop on site for all your camping requirements. I would not hesitate in recommending this campsite to any campers.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sukon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanBliss, Owner at Lower Treave Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, January 30, 2011
Many thanks, your review is much appreciated and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crows-an-Wra
2.2 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Land's End Hotel
The Land's End Hotel
#1 of 1 in Land's End
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
River Valley Country Park
River Valley Country Park
#1 of 18 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
2.4 mi away
YHA Land's End
YHA Land's End
#3 of 7 in St Just
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sennen Cove Cottage
Sennen Cove Cottage
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Treave Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Treave Caravan and Camping Park

Property: Lower Treave Caravan and Camping Park
Address: Crows-an-Wra, Penzance TR19 6HZ , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance > Crows-an-Wra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Crows-an-Wra
Number of rooms: 61

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing