We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,394)
Filter reviews
1,394 results
Traveler rating
1,067
238
56
16
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,067
238
56
16
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water villa fish our honeymoon speed boat latitude restaurant blue lagoon the sting ray feeding all inclusive package small island every evening male airport scuba diving dive centre house keeping amazing experience beautiful property his team
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,394 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The boat ride to the resort was smooth as weather was clear, it took around 35- 40 minutes .

The welcome was amazing need to mention there reception team Mr. Hugh, Aishi, Nuha, Zaki Adam...

You are shown around the island at check in no need to venture into any reception area to complete check done privately in your room - excellent customer service.

The 16.30 high tea and sting ray feeding is something else. The environment nothing like admiring these sea creatures in the their own habitat including sharks and very large fish..

The breakfast, lunch and dinner service is out of this world , Throughout the stay we were treated as if we were royalty and this impressed many of the guests -not just us!! Daily Menu has something new world cuisines...including Indian Food, was really surprised to have UP Kachori with Patato (aloo) curry, same flavour, was remind of Mathura ji, need to mentioned Chef Mr. Shrivastav, Chef Arun, Yangchen, Bianca, Sneeja, Asraf..

The menus changed daily all a la Carte menus with something special to be chosen each day.

The fruits, water, sparkling water is complimentary are of excellent quality and the twice daily house keeping is something else.

Once again Special Mention to the Restaurant service is absolutely amazing with staff who remember your name, room, loves and will not let you leave hungry.....

You should do Snorkeling, diving, if you do not know, should learn from there Dive Centre, have trained team of Lea, Kyle Kriskl..

Date of stay: September 2019
1  Thank sunil_ved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taj Coral Reef R, General Manager at Taj Coral Reef Resort & Spa, Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

On the onset we would like to thank you for staying with us at the Taj Coral Reef Resort & spa, Maldives. We know that you have many choices when traveling and we appreciate you choosing to stay with us.

We are in receipt of your feedback form and are glad that we succeeded in exceeding your expectations and create some beautiful memories of your stay with us. My colleagues are delighted to know that they were able to make a difference and make your stay memorable.

We would also like to thank you for your kind words; these words of encouragements help us strive to become better.

Please do let us know if we can be of any help to you in future.

Do let us know when you plan your next holiday with us.

Sincerely,
Samir Khanna
General Manager
Taj Coral Reef Resort & Spa- Maldives
samir.khanna@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Chose Taj to experience it’s excellent hospitality in Maldives; we weren’t disappointed there... Right from the airport, and back to the airport we were very well looked after in all respects .. checking in and out, property beauty experience, housekeeping, staff friendliness. The restaurants and food experience was beyond expectations, especially as vegetarians in a not so veg friendly tourist location. Ashraf and his whole team gave us a foodie and service delight as if we were in a Mumbai fine dining restaurant every meal. We also had a special purple dinner at their Moon Deck, that was worth the special charge, as a memory to keep!
So, all of this is Taj hospitality culture experienced in most of their properties. Therefore as a luxury resort for a luxury getaway for couples, honeymooners and families, full marks !

The one aspect I would like Taj to be upfront about is that this property has great beach houses with nice ocean view (at least the one we were in), but you don’t really get on to the beach/sea (as one normally imagines). This side of the island is rocky, and so you can’t really jump in and go snorkeling.. They say you technically can, and yet they are apprehensive about it and you see why !

The reason I am giving 3 stars, is their seeming apathy towards ensuring that the visitor gets a very good Maldives nature experience too.

Their boating and diving activities are outsourced (as are at most resorts probably), and we experienced a stark dip in hospitality when it came to them. We found them apathetic and bureaucratic .. not really caring if you got to see ‘what is Taj coral Reef !’ ??? Or if your interest in any excursions were met. Based on my experience with another resort, this disconnect of customer experience comes out even stronger. I think Taj needs to take a look at their own Taj Safari experiences and replicate them in Maldives, which is so rich in ocean ecology and wild life !

As a minor but important point, there is really no sunset point (except for a ‘damaged jetty’ where you are not allowed, or for a few ocean villas) .. so you should insist on a free sunset cruise at least, if you are staying on any other side of the island.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Conscioussanjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taj Coral Reef R, General Manager at Taj Coral Reef Resort & Spa, Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Taj Coral Reef Resort & Spa- Maldives. My colleagues are delighted to know that they were able to make a difference to make your stay memorable.

We contacted the Dive Center Manager after going through your feedback. A medical Certificate is required as per the guidelines of Professional Association of Dive Instructors. This is for the safety of our Guests incase they have a medical condition. The matter was informed & discussed with you when you had approached the Dive Center to book your Dive.

Please do let us know if we can be of any help to you in future.

Sincerely,
Samir Khanna
General Manager
Taj Coral Reef Resort & Spa- Maldives
samir.khanna@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had wonderful experience, warm welcome, excellent hospitality by restaurant staff especially head of cook Mr. satya extended his full services for our restricted type of meal diet. Ranjeet from reservation team was also very helpful and took immediate action on our complaint about room by upgrading us to better room. room services were very quick. water villa with exclusive scuba diving lake was too good.
Negative:- Hotel standard is not as good as taj due to old structures, but staff made us feel like home for our 5 days stay. We took inclusive food package and restaurant staff was always ready to make and serve what we wanted, surprisingly Water in restaurant during dinner is chargeable. Place require more lights on road to rooms in night, There are no Restaurant with AC. They serve complimentary high tea with some snacks (always fried items).

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Taj Hotels & Resorts
Thank manishreflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taj Coral Reef R, General Manager at Taj Coral Reef Resort & Spa, Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Taj Coral Reef Resort & Spa- Maldives.

We are in receipt of your feedback form and are glad that we succeeded in exceeding your expectations and create some beautiful memories of your stay with us. My colleagues are delighted to know that they were able to make a difference and make your stay memorable.

We have made a note of your feedback regarding the Room, Lights on the pathway and assure you the same will be looked upon. Regarding the Water we produce drinking water by desalination process inside the resort and we charge to all our guests. We host Hi-Tea every evening which includes flavors of Iced Tea and Savory snacks of Maldivian accent.

We would also like to thank you for your kind words; these words of encouragements help us strive to become better.

Please do let us know if we can be of any help to you in future.

Sincerely,
Samir Khanna
General Manager
Taj Coral Reef Resort & Spa- Maldives
samir.khanna@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic property and all the staffs are very warm and caring .
Taj coral reefs itself is situated in a paradise island and its so beautiful .
Yangchen from the coffee shop was fantastic and Farhad from the front office was just amazing .

Thank you Team

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Yangdensherpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taj Coral Reef R, General Manager at Taj Coral Reef Resort & Spa, Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

On the onset we would like to thank you for staying with us at the Taj Coral Reef Resort & spa, Maldives. We know that you have many choices when traveling and we appreciate you choosing to stay with us.

We are in receipt of your feedback form and are glad that we succeeded in exceeding your expectations and create some beautiful memories of your stay with us. My colleagues are delighted to know that they were able to make a difference and make your stay memorable.

We would also like to thank you for your kind words; these words of encouragements help us strive to become better.

Please do let us know if we can be of any help to you in future.

Do let us know when you plan your next holiday with us.

Sincerely,
Samir Khanna
General Manager
Taj Coral Reef Resort & Spa- Maldives
samir.khanna@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Firstly I would like to thank the staff at this hotel who done absolutely everything within their power to make sure we had everything we could ever wish for on our vacation. The really exceeded my expectations in regards to the level of service. One person in particular was the restaurant manager Carmin who assisted us every evening with the perfect choice of wine to accompany whatever we were eating. His knowledge and expertise are second to none and we enjoyed every recommendation he gave us. Also the cleaner Saif was excellent and was prepared to go the extra mile to make us happy. . The snorkelling around the coral was amazing and we saw sharks and rays one a daily basis aswell as the usual beautiful fish you would expect to see. The rooms were very clean inside but I think the maintenance outside could be better. The lack of options available for food were the biggest disappointment and also the cost of food and drinks on the resort was astronomical!! I would recommend taking the all inclusive package if you are considering this hotel. The wifi is also very very slow so don't plan to stream movies or get any work done because its really really bad. Other than that it was an amazing trip. The staff were amazing and if you desire good service then you can't go wrong!!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moynesyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taj Coral Reef R, General Manager at Taj Coral Reef Resort & Spa, Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Taj Coral Reef Resort & Spa- Maldives.

We are in receipt of your feedback form and are glad that we succeeded in exceeding your expectations and create some beautiful memories of your stay with us. My colleagues are delighted to know that they were able to make a difference and make your stay memorable.

We have made a note of your feedback regarding the exterior and assure you the same will be looked upon. The Destination has challenges as far as resources go. We keep exploring possibilities of Customer needs and their desires. Maldives as a Country is very dependent on imports which push costs for conducting any business in the destination.

We would also like to thank you for your kind words; these words of encouragements help us strive to become better.

Please do let us know if we can be of any help to you in future.

Sincerely,
Samir Khanna
General Manager
Taj Coral Reef Resort & Spa- Maldives
samir.khanna@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews