We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of my most cherished holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hembadhu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2014

recently i was in process of selecting my accomodation for my holidays at maldives. vivanta came into my radar by there sales team. this was teh only resort which had welcomed me to their resort by a very personalized and non salsey email. this way i was inclined to plan for vivanta. hence planning began and there team really helped me a lot to plan, pay by wire, travel and also prompty clarified all by questions and doubts. before going there i had a clear visibility on how my vacations would be. this was the stuff which many resorts or hoetls are unable to deliver. i really had a feel how teh people and place would be and how i would be welcomed. my first encounter with vivanat was there speed boat and it was good. teh speed boat transit was non-privacy invading and comfortable. i and my wife really enjoyed teh cool comfortable humid sea breeze during the transit. there at jetty was warmly welcomed and was escorted to my water villa. now few good things about the water villa. had a good sound systm, all time entry to teh open sea, efficient aircon and a mixed feel of tradition with technology.
we enjoyed all aspects of hospitality and Mr bartender was an instant click to us.
one special note. one must visit all food joints and plan ahead there they would want to have there lunch and dinner. luckily there were some good options for vegetarians and were we very delighted by that.
house keeping was also impressive and they were on toes all times to deliver the best for us.
sting ray feeding was also much required experience and i would say it really takes a lot to up keep that tradition for past 17 yrs. impressive.
one must really spend some time at jetty in the dark hours of day to cherish some delightful marine life.

in closing, if u want to have a good time and focus only to spend time with your loved one rather than focusing on hospitality and what u get and how u get, vivanta is my recommendation, because i feel they would deliver the best fto suffice more than ur expectation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dhruv j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear dhruvrajain 15,

My team and I are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us recently. Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments of the resort.



It will be our pleasure to extend the wonderful Taj hospitality to you again, whenever you plan another holiday with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,040)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

530 - 536 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

As my title suggests, was here for 4 Nights - worth the money spent!
Snorkeling is complimentary and really a beautiful experience with all the fishes and coral around you. We went in feb, was still very hot in afternoons. Our Superior beach villa was beautiful with unobstructed view of the sea. The service was fantastic with smiling faces everywhere. From the guy sweeping the approach area to the manager will not fail to wish you as you pass. The dining experience at the open grill was fabulous. One of the best quesadillas i have ever had! Carmin, the manager at Latitude was very helpful in selecting the drinks for us and also gave few tips along the way :)
Helpful tips:
1. If going for a beach villa, chose the one at the end of the resort simply for the view
2. Skip the paneer dishes at latitude, tasteless. The biryanis, paranthas and pav bhajis are perfect! (Indian food tip)
3. Jiva spa was wonderful, do it!

Room Tip: Superior Beach Villa tip - Choose the one at the end of the line
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NSKP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear NKSP4,

My team and I are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us recently. Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments of the resort.

It is very rewarding for the team to realize that their warm, professional and anticipatory service very much contributed towards your stay experience. Indeed, it is the Taj way to ensure that all our guests receive the genuine warmth and hospitality that they deserve.

It will be our pleasure to extend the wonderful Taj hospitality to you again, whenever you plan another holiday with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just got back from an 11 day experience. This was the best, most relaxing holiday we have ever had and we are old enough to remember a few. The service and the care that the staff show you is exceptional, nothing is too much trouble. The food is fine dining at an excellent level, a MasterChef experience. One of our party had a food allergy which meant our food had to be prepared separately, this was not a problem for Carmin the Restaurant manager or Dinesh the Head chef. Our waiters Tariq, Hussain and Nijah looked after our every need and were all an example of what excellent service means. The Roomboy Abu looked after our room very professionally and we had lovely Maldivian sculptures for our bed most nights (those of you who have been to the Maldives before will know what I mean) You also get a few surprises and if I told you they would not be surprises!
The services of the Diving team and the Spa were also at a very high level.
If you want a break that will be memorable and where you are really looked after, this is the place for you. Whilst more expensive than some Islands it is value for money based on the experience

Room Tip: Water bungalows are the best go for one between 109 and 120. 101 is a bit close to the Open Grill an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Trevor P,

My team and I are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us recently. Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments of the resort.

It is very rewarding for the team to realize that their warm, professional and anticipatory service very much contributed towards your stay experience. Indeed, it is the Taj way to ensure that all our guests receive the genuine warmth and hospitality that they deserve.

It will be our pleasure to extend the wonderful Taj hospitality to you again, whenever you plan another holiday with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Hembadhu Taj Vivanta Coral Reef in February/March 2014. The transfer from the airport to the island took about one hour. We were given one of the lovely Nirvana suites to rest for a few hours as our room was not ready on arrival. Our beach villa was large, comfortable, and very clean. The entire island looked well maintained. We loved snorkeling from the beach in front of our room (hawksbill turtle, blacktip reefshark, whitetip reefshark , eagle rays, octopus, plus all the colourful reef fishes- you can see all this right there - without having to SCUBA-dive). Food was very nice, and a great breakfast buffet.
We have one suggestion for improvement: As other reviewers have already commented any "extras" on this island are quite pricey; this applies to food, drink and also to any additional activities you book with them. This should be made transparent; I could not find any sample menus or watersports pricelist online; if it is there, then it is well hidden !
Otherwise you will not regret going to Hembadhu; the friendliness of all the staff and the entire setting make this a gret place to relax for a week or two in the Indina Ocean.

Room Tip: The beach villas are lovely, plenty of space with in- and outdoor shower !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaribbeanFreunde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear CaribbeanFreunde,

Thank you very much for taking the time out to review our resort.
I was glad to read that you enjoyed the services & the facilities of the resort .
It is our desire that every guest who stays with us leaves as an ambassador of our hotel. We at Vivanta by Taj – Coral Reef, Maldives strive to excel and surpass guests expectations at every interaction, as members of The Taj Group of Hotels, We pride ourselves as being "World Class", It is feedback from discerning travelers such as yourself that help us in our "Quest for excellence."
Thank you once again and do keep us posted should you plan another trip to our part of the water world.
Regards,
Vishal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We took the whole family although vivanta is more honeymooning dest. Word of warning it is illegal to bring alcohol into Male, all bags are xrayed & alcohol tAken & no u can't have it back when u leave! U can buy alcohol on vivanta & mocktails @ $20 each for the kids all from their bar. Breakfast is included in what you've already paid everything else is additional. For 5 nights on vivanta it cost us an additional $5000 ontop of what we had already paid!!! It's a BLOODY RIPOFF there are better & way cheaper places to go with heaps more to do the island is about the size of an AFL oval. Been there & paid for it & won't go back :(

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rivet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Rivet1,

Thank you, for having time to review our resort.
Maldives is an Islamic country hence the prohibition on alcohol, my colleagues in the reservations would have sent you the same information with the room confirmation.
Our Food & Beverage offering is priced at the same levels as that of all the other competitive hotels in Maldives.
We also have different meal plans like half board & full board that any of our esteemed guests can avail of when they are on the resort.
It is our desire that every guest who stays with us leaves as an ambassador of our hotel. We at Vivanta by Taj – Coral Reef, Maldives strive to excel and surpass guests expectations at every interaction, as members of The Taj Group of Hotels, We pride ourselves as being "World Class", It is feedback from discerning travelers such as yourself that help us in our "Quest for excellence."

Thank you once again and do keep us posted should you plan another trip to our part of the water world.

Regards,
Vishal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We visited this place in November,2013 for a family holiday. It was our first visit to Maldives, but certainly not the last. We had a Lagoon bungalow...which is not very spacious but was good enough for our family of 3. Vivanta by Taj is located on a separate, private island, which is not very large but good enough with an absolutely picturesque beach, swimming pool....and the most memorable lagoon to which we had access directly from our bungalow. Since my 5 year old daughter dint have any other kids to play around during our visit, the staff went out of their way to make her feel comfortable. During meal times, they came up with very creative , complimentary mock tails for her which she thoroughly enjoyed. Even the housekeeping staff, kept her customized (with her name mentioned) one page stories on the bed which she would really look forward to. We took a short 2hours snorkeling course at the pool which was an excellent life time investment. We really made full use of the course to snorkel around in the lagoon which offered breathtaking views of the coral reefs and the flora and fauna around. Overall, an awesome, memorable holiday. Even now my daughter mentions she wants to go back to Maldives....and does not mind having a house there and living :-)

Room Tip: The Lagoon Bungalow provides access directly to the Lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SOD2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear SOD2008,

It was with the greatest pleasure that I read your review about your experience. I am so honored that you chose Coral Reef while you were in Maldives.

And we are extremely grateful that you took time out from your schedule to share this wonderful feedback. it will be with great pleasure that I will share it with the team.

I look forward to 'welcoming ' you back to Maldives.

Warm Regards,
Vishal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Visited this hotel for a week in February 2014 to celebrate my birthday, it was our first visit to the Maldives and it was fabulous, we had a water bungalow (119) Its a very small island but very friendly helpful staff, the food was waiter served not a buffet and was very good there was plenty of choice for all nationalities and the menu changed every day they even provided us with a packed breakfast to take away on the day we left hasten to add that didn't happen at our hotel in Dubai!!!

Room Tip: Water bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honeykin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear honeykin,

It was with the greatest pleasure that I read your review about your experience. I am so honored that you chose Coral Reef while you were in Maldives.

And we are extremely grateful that you took time out from your schedule to share this wonderful feedback. it will be with great pleasure that I will share it with the team.

I look forward to 'welcoming ' you back to Maldives.

Warm Regards,
Vishal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hembadhu
19.1 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,794 reviews
3.7 mi away
Coco Bodu Hithi
Coco Bodu Hithi
#1 of 1 in Bodu Hithi Island
1,122 reviews
19.7 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,706 reviews
16.2 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,100 reviews
22.3 mi away
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meerufenfushi
6,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives

Address: Hembudhu Island, North Male Atoll
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Hembadhu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hembadhu
Price Range: $554 - $1,554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIVANTA BY TAJ. A FRESH NEW WAY TO HOLIDAY.Vivanta By Taj - Coral Reef, Maldives has all the exotic ocean views and dramatic sunsets that are de rigueur for any tropical holiday. The twist comes when you step into your villa and instead of the usual beach dcor, find a streamlined, sophisticated take on resort accommodations. Vivanta by Taj has revamped the resort experience from stem to stern and offers the ideal escape at a stunning value proposition. Divers, beach bunnies, and honeymooners - we welcome you. After you descend into Male airport, a luxury speedboat spirits you and your luggage away to Hembadhu Island, where you arrive at Vivanta by Taj - Coral Reef. The resort is a diver's dream destination with numerous diving sites and it's very own 1000 year old coral-reef and shipwreck to explore. For those that prefer to stay on land, the view of the lagoon dotted with water villas is hypnotic. No matter where you travelled from, your world is about to become filled with white sand and magnificent coconut palms. Let Vivanta by Taj introduce you to bliss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, DerbySoftTaj, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj Coral Reef Maldives Hotel Hembadhu
Taj Coral Reef Hotel
Hotel Taj Coral Reef
Taj Coral Reef Maldives
Taj Coral Reef Resort Maldives
Vivanta By Taj Coral Reef Maldives Hembadhu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing