We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful & Beautiful country!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hembadhu
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Blissful & Beautiful country!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were at Taj Coral reef for our honeymoon.We stayed for 5 nights. Maldives is very different. this small island was owned by Taj...so, the only people on the island are the guests and the staff.
There are beach villas and water villas. and its a different experience all together as compared to the other places I have visited. Its all surrounded by coral and the sea. The boardwalk early morning till a particular point in the property is just amazing. The scenery is breath-taking.

We had a full board package. The breakfast, lunch and dinner were all delicious and there was a huge variety of Indian cuisine. Other than that it served Japanese, English and Italian too!
The rooms are spacious and serviced twice a day atleast. The staff was very sweet to have surprised us with a cake, flowers, and fruits one day. We had pvt dinner next to the beach and the wine and food was amazing.

Its just blissful to lie on the hammock and read a book or just look at the crystal clean water. :)
the property has an infinity pool too.
They have different activities on different days like karaoke, crab race, live band, dance night. They feed sting rays everyday around 5ish. Its good fun :)

One can do scuba diving, snorkeling, kayaking, pedal boating etc

A good and very different kind of experience for sure as Maldives is just blissful and time with your own self :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kushika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing and staying at Vivanta by Taj – Coral Reef, we are glad that you enjoyed your holiday with us.

We very much appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you felt fun filled, relaxed and well-taken care of during your stay. We hope to have you with us again; it will be our pleasure to extend the unique and warm Taj hospitality to you should you return in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    179
    46
    13
    9
See reviews for
210
651
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were at Vivanta - Coral Reef for our honeymoon. It was simply an awesome experience. The service and hospitality is truely Royal. The rooms are superb and the water villas which we booked for 4 nights were amazing with direct connection to the Clear waters of the Ocean. Also, since we are pure vegetarians we were a little worried about our food on this island but the staff and the restaurant associates never made us feel that we have to compromise on our food. They made specially for us excellent vegetarian food in all cuisines during our stay. Also, the fish feeding session every evening is quite exhilarating..

TRUELY VALUE FOR MONEY.. !!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikhil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Vivanta by Taj – Coral Reef. Thank you for your feedback, it is really nice to know that your stay experience was truly memorable due to our warm and professional service, accommodations, activities and food and beverage experiences.

We look forward to your return in the future, and to extending the warm Taj hospitality and great stay experience that we always strive to deliver.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi/London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had gone to Maldives for our honeymoon and our stay at Taj was just amazing. We had booked one of the water villas. It was huge with a direct access to the ocean. We could do snorkeling right outside our room. The bathroom was also of a good size. One of the things going for this hotel are the coral reefs. We did scuba diving here. The people were very professional and we had great couple of dives.

The hotel offers this teppanyaki grill. It was just brilliant and the chef was quite entertaining. The only let down was the SPA. We guys had booked a couple's massage but were not quite happy with the massage or the treatments offered in the package. Was expecting more from JIVA SPA

Room Tip: Definitely only go for the water villas. Everything else looked just average
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krgava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed a honeymoon stay with us. Thank you for your feedback, it is really nice to know that your stay experience was truly memorable due to our warm and professional service, accommodations, activities and food and beverage experiences.

We thank you for bringing up your point regarding the spa experience, I have shared your comments with my team and let me assure you that we will continue to work hard to uphold the high standards expected of JIVA Spa.

We look forward to your return in the future, and to extending the warm Taj hospitality and great stay experience that we always strive to deliver.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I had booked my package here earlier only through Maldivestourister.com hence didn’t have any trouble regarding stay or rates. This resort is very well connected to the airport and is also not very far away from there. The reception area of this resort is absolutely fantastic and the staff is even more good. I was ushered to my rooms within 10 minutes only. I believe what they charged me for my stay would have been justified if they had charged more!!!! This resort has two parts of the island being covered and it has about 30 villas on one side and about 30 water villas on the other. The staff quarters are also located nearby and due to such vast variety of villas the place might seem crowded to some. I stayed in their beach villa and was pretty satisfied by everything I got at this value!! The villas were very well maintained and cleaned twice or sometimes thrice daily. The views from my villa were stunning with the beach and sunset right in front of room’s window. The restaurant at this resort is also very good. There are several options available to dine and the menu serves famous dishes from almost all parts of the world. The only thing that I think to change with their restaurant is the pricing!! This place is certainly a couple’s paradise. One can easily have ample amounts of private time in the lap of nature….

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonikaPurohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing and staying at Vivanta by Taj – Coral Reef, we are glad that you enjoyed your once-in-a-lifetime holiday with us.

We very much appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you felt well-taken care of during your stay. We hope to have you with us again; it will be our pleasure to extend the unique and warm Taj hospitality to you should you return in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

From the meeting at Male airport and walking straight onto a 40ft (?) speedboat to our return to the airport in the same manner we had a fantastic stay. The island is an easy hour by speedboat from the airport. On arrival we were met by attentive staff and were quicky shown to out beach bumgalow. We had chosen not go over water partly due expense but were not disappointed with the bungalow option. The rooms are spacious and well appointed with indoor and outdoor shower. The island has 65 rooms and is small but it still feels secluded. Foods was excellent - most brought in fresh from Australia - and reasonably priced given the location. The beaches, swimming and snorkelling are just as you would imagine in the Maldives - fantastic. A particular highlight is the feeding of the sting rays at 5:00pm every night on the main beach - a lot of fun and a truly unique experience. The pool is lovely if you want to get off the beach and the staff were excellent. The island has all the amenities you'd expect including dive shop and spa. We'd love to go back!!

Room Tip: Try to get a beach bungalow around number 220 where the beach is at its widest. 220 plus is also on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dellick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Vivanta by Taj – Coral Reef, Maldives

Thank you for your feedback and it is really nice to know that your stay experience was truly memorable due to our warm and friendly service, the food options, as well as activities and relaxation. We certainly look forward to your return in the future and to extending the warm Taj hospitality that we always strive to deliver.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandigarh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The vivanta by taj is one of the most charming resorts I have ever been to. This resort in Maldives is a complete package of the taj group and boasts of that level of services and facilities.

I stayed here with my family during Dec 2012. I had booked my package here earlier only through Maldivestourister.com hence didn’t have any trouble regarding stay or rates. This resort is very well connected to the airport and is also not very far away from there. The reception area of this resort is absolutely fantastic and the staff is even more good. I was ushered to my rooms within 10 minutes only. I believe what they charged me for my stay would have been justified if they had charged more!!!!

This resort has two parts of the island being covered and it has about 30 villas on one side and about 30 water villas on the other. The staff quarters are also located nearby and due to such vast variety of villas the place might seem crowded to some.

I stayed in their beach villa and was pretty satisfied by everything I got at this value!! The villas were very well maintained and cleaned twice or sometimes thrice daily. The views from my villa were stunning with the beach and sunset right in front of room’s window.

The restaurant at this resort is also very good. There are several options available to dine and the menu serves famous dishes from almost all parts of the world. The only thing that I think to change with their restaurant is the pricing!!

This place is certainly a couple’s paradise. One can easily have ample amounts of private time in the lap of nature….

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sanchit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Vivanta by Taj – Coral Reef for your stay in Maldives and we are glad that you enjoyed your holiday with us.

We very much appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you felt well-taken care of during your stay. We hope to have you with us again; it will be our pleasure to extend the unique and warm Taj hospitality to you should you return in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

This has taken us a while to write.....we went in October.....and have never written a Tripadvisor review before but felt compelled.

The island is just so small and beautiful. We absolutely loved it. We stayed 4 nights in a beach villa and 5 nights in a water villa and the combination was perfect. The beach villa was literally on the waters edge, your own hammock for late afternoon snoozing, and your own little private beach. It was just beautiful. And if it couldn't get any better, we transferred to the water villa and it was just amazing. Steps straight down into the lagoon. Snorkelling gear on and for someone who doesn't like snorkelling, I was converted. Big time.

We loved the whole place, we really did. BUT........ Whatever you do, go all inclusive. We do like a glass of wine and a cocktail but even if you didn't, you would be astounded at the prices. Corn on the cob starter for $20. I ordered it being all inclusive as I could, and it was gorgeous, but not worth the money.

The staff are lovely and very very attentive. Keenan in the bar was brilliant. He had a brilliant memory for remembering our favourite and most poignant songs and played them just when you wanted him to. Very intuitive. Not the liveliest of Maldivian islands but if you're looking for rest and relaxation and pure luxury, this is the place for you.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback from your stay, it is really nice to know that your stay experience was truly memorable due to our warm and friendly service, accommodations, activities and relaxation. Kannan has received your compliments with much appreciation. Indeed, he and the rest of my team are pleased that you felt well-taken care of during your stay at Vivanta by Taj – Coral Reef, Maldives.

We look forward to your return in the future, and to extending the warm Taj hospitality and great stay experience that we always strive to deliver.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hembadhu
19.2 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,736 reviews
3.7 mi away
Coco Bodu Hithi
Coco Bodu Hithi
#1 of 1 in Bodu Hithi Island
1,090 reviews
15.7 mi away
OBLU by Atmosphere at Helengeli
OBLU by Atmosphere at Helengeli
#1 of 1 in Helengeli Island
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,518 reviews
19.7 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,569 reviews
16.2 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives

Property: Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives
Address: Hembudhu Island, North Male Atoll
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Hembadhu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hembadhu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIVANTA BY TAJ. A FRESH NEW WAY TO HOLIDAY.Vivanta By Taj - Coral Reef, Maldives has all the exotic ocean views and dramatic sunsets that are de rigueur for any tropical holiday. The twist comes when you step into your villa and instead of the usual beach dcor, find a streamlined, sophisticated take on resort accommodations. Vivanta by Taj has revamped the resort experience from stem to stern and offers the ideal escape at a stunning value proposition. Divers, beach bunnies, and honeymooners - we welcome you. After you descend into Male airport, a luxury speedboat spirits you and your luggage away to Hembadhu Island, where you arrive at Vivanta by Taj - Coral Reef. The resort is a diver's dream destination with numerous diving sites and it's very own 1000 year old coral-reef and shipwreck to explore. For those that prefer to stay on land, the view of the lagoon dotted with water villas is hypnotic. No matter where you travelled from, your world is about to become filled with white sand and magnificent coconut palms. Let Vivanta by Taj introduce you to bliss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj Coral Reef Maldives Hotel Hembadhu
Taj Coral Reef Hotel
Hotel Taj Coral Reef
Taj Coral Reef Maldives
Taj Coral Reef Resort Maldives
Vivanta By Taj Coral Reef Maldives Hembadhu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing