We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay at this busy place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Loetje Overveen
Ranked #1 of 1 Overveen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights for a work trip. It was actually supposed to be 5 nights, but the hotel had mixed up some bookings and they had to find our group somewhere else to stay for our last night. I know this would already receive a poor rating based on this for some guests, but I'm one who goes with the flow, so although slightly inconvenient, the positive was that we got to stay in the centre of Haarlem for a night. (The location was extremely convenient for my work purposes however).

I was confused when I first arrived since this seemed more like a restaurant than a hotel. But it's true: it seems like the restaurant is the bigger business here and then they have several rooms upstairs for guests. I had to pay on arrival but I had an incredible deal for the room. I'm not sure if we had some sort of group deal, but this is was the lowest price I've ever paid for a hotel so it's the best value for anywhere I've ever stayed. My room was a cute and clean. For those less mobile and/or with heavy luggage, be warned that there is no elevator and you will have to climb up the steep Dutch stairway.

Internet is free but very spotty (it would cut off spontaneously quite a lot so it was unreliable to work with). Breakfast was good. Easy to access by public transport as there is Overveen train station just down the street and a bus stop just outside the hotel. We ate at the hotel a number of times and always enjoyed the food. The restaurant is always busy, but if you are a hotel guest, they will prioritize you and let you cut the line.

Even though there are some things here I criticize, I just really liked the atmosphere of the place and of the restaurant. The staff is friendly, so even if there are a few errors here and there, I still really liked the feel of the place so really enjoyed my stay overall.

Room Tip: I think people in my group said that rooms 101 and 201 are smaller than the rest so maybe try to get...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GloJul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Loetje Overveen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 75 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

We arrived at 7 pm and it took about 25 minutes to check in. The 'reception', which is actually very very small, is in the corridor that goes to the toilet of the restaurant. We were asked to pay in advance, without even having a chance to see the room. All in all the receptionist wasn't very polite. There is no parking reserved for hotel guests and at 7 pm it is not easy to find a place to park the car. There isn't the lift and the stairs are very narrow and steep. The corridor that leads to the rooms smells of food from the restaurant and, at least at the second floor, the floor is not clean. The room is small but it is nice and newly renovated. The breakfast is good. All in all we had the feeling that the main business were the restaurant and that the owner/managers payed little attention to the hotel services.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I lived in Bloemendaal for a year and Loetje was one of my favorite restaurants.
Atmosphere is relaxed and service is good. Perfect for after work drinks or dinner.
The Bali Steak and the grilled sole is a must, accompanied with the famous frites& mayonnaise.
Good wine and very tasty desserts.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nixonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Loetje is a chain, and was originally just steak & frites restaurants, but the Loetje Overveen is also now a very pleasant hotel too. Rooms & bathrooms and clean and modern, and the food is great. Would recommend to any traveller - and if you like steak & frites, tuck in! Excellent helpful staff and a relaxed & friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I've stayed here on business a couple of years ago and it was OK, It has now been renovated and taken over, the change is for the better.

The downstairs in now one massive restaurant and its very busy, the food though is fantastic, the steak was amazing.

The rooms have had a makeover and are now modern and well equipped, overall its excellent, whilst busy the staff are friendly.

Room Tip: Its common in Holland, but the stairs are very steep !, but its best to get on the 3rd floor as the...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeyAndHisTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had booked our stay at Loetje through booking.com (albeit only 12 hours before we were supposed to arrive) but unfortunately found ourselves in front of a closed door when we came to check in. A telephone number on the door brought us to call the employee on call, who showed up within 15 minutes to help. Our booking could not be found in their system and they did not have any rooms available, but after some calling around it turned out that one of the rooms was actually being held for one of the employees - who was professional enough to give it to us and find another place to sleep.

Although the mix-up was unfortunate and almost ruined our stay, the staff was very helpful. The room we stayed in was simple but elegant and well-kept. We could not find anything wrong with it. Breakfast was very good, with a varied buffet and a pot of coffee, jug of orange juice and basket with fresh croissants and buns on the table. Although it is a bit pricy, it is definitely worth the money if you are comfortable spending it on a hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Overveen
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
685 reviews
Hotel Lion D'Or
#4 of 12 in Haarlem
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
NH Zandvoort
#1 of 26 in Zandvoort
1,232 reviews
B&B Malts Hotel
#1 of 18 in Haarlem
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Loetje Overveen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Loetje Overveen

Address: Bloemendaalseweg 260, 2051 GN Overveen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Overveen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Overveen
Price Range: $127 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Loetje Overveen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing